New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   question for the football junkies (http://blackandgold.com/saints/15050-question-football-junkies.html)

poydras 12-24-2006 06:14 PM

question for the football junkies
 
Ok, I agree that Reggie was touched just before going to the ground on that punt return, but he didn't go down as a result of that touch. Can anyone tell me the number of the rule in the rulebook covers that? I'd like to read the actual wording. Thanks!

JOESAM2002 12-24-2006 06:26 PM

He was actually on the way to the ground with no way to stop,so when he was touched he was called down by contact. I think it's kinda weak but.....

poydras 12-24-2006 06:29 PM

One of the guys I was watching the game with said that if the ball carrier goes down "subsequent" to being touched, he's down. I would just like to see how the rule is actually worded.

poydras 12-24-2006 06:31 PM

sorry about the double post

Euphoria 12-24-2006 06:41 PM

It was a good reversal. He was on the way down and being touched going down does mean you are down.

poydras 12-24-2006 06:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Euphoria
It was a good reversal. He was on the way down and being touched going down does mean you are down.

I know. I was watching the game. I just wondered if any of the experts here knew the actual rule number. I like to see exactly how it's worded.

JOESAM2002 12-24-2006 07:02 PM

Sorry, but the grinch stole my NFL rules handbook last night while i'd had to much to drink. :cry: :D

poydras 12-24-2006 07:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JOESAM2002
Sorry, but the grinch stole my NFL rules handbook last night while i'd had to much to drink. :cry: :D

My neighbor has one but I can't find the rule. The way that book is organized make it impossible to figure out anything!

GoldRush26 12-24-2006 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by poydras
Quote:

Originally Posted by JOESAM2002
Sorry, but the grinch stole my NFL rules handbook last night while i'd had to much to drink. :cry: :D

My neighbor has one but I can't find the rule. The way that book is organized make it impossible to figure out anything!

I don't know what rule number it is, but I know that Mike McKenzie benefited from this same rule in the San Fran game when he ran back the INT and seemingly fumbled within the 5 yard line. It was determined that someone brushed the back of his foot.

UK_WhoDat 12-24-2006 08:11 PM

An official shall declare a dead ball and the down ended when a runner is contacted by a defensive player and he touches the ground with any part of his body, except his hands or feet. Contacting a player under this rule could be touching, grabbing, bumping, or any other type of contact.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com