Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

question for the football junkies

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Ok, I agree that Reggie was touched just before going to the ground on that punt return, but he didn't go down as a result of that touch. Can anyone tell me the number of the rule in the rulebook ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2006, 05:14 PM   #1
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 855
question for the football junkies

Ok, I agree that Reggie was touched just before going to the ground on that punt return, but he didn't go down as a result of that touch. Can anyone tell me the number of the rule in the rulebook covers that? I'd like to read the actual wording. Thanks!
poydras is online now  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:26 PM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CRYSTAL BEACH TEXAS
Posts: 4,100
He was actually on the way to the ground with no way to stop,so when he was touched he was called down by contact. I think it's kinda weak but.....
JOESAM2002 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:29 PM   #3
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 855
One of the guys I was watching the game with said that if the ball carrier goes down "subsequent" to being touched, he's down. I would just like to see how the rule is actually worded.
poydras is online now  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:31 PM   #4
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 855
sorry about the double post
poydras is online now  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:41 PM   #5
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,334
Blog Entries: 5
It was a good reversal. He was on the way down and being touched going down does mean you are down.
Euphoria is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:44 PM   #6
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 855
Originally Posted by Euphoria
It was a good reversal. He was on the way down and being touched going down does mean you are down.
I know. I was watching the game. I just wondered if any of the experts here knew the actual rule number. I like to see exactly how it's worded.
poydras is online now  
Old 12-24-2006, 06:02 PM   #7
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CRYSTAL BEACH TEXAS
Posts: 4,100
Sorry, but the grinch stole my NFL rules handbook last night while i'd had to much to drink.
JOESAM2002 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 06:11 PM   #8
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 855
Originally Posted by JOESAM2002
Sorry, but the grinch stole my NFL rules handbook last night while i'd had to much to drink.
My neighbor has one but I can't find the rule. The way that book is organized make it impossible to figure out anything!
poydras is online now  
Old 12-24-2006, 06:58 PM   #9
500th Post
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 594
Originally Posted by poydras
Originally Posted by JOESAM2002
Sorry, but the grinch stole my NFL rules handbook last night while i'd had to much to drink.
My neighbor has one but I can't find the rule. The way that book is organized make it impossible to figure out anything!
I don't know what rule number it is, but I know that Mike McKenzie benefited from this same rule in the San Fran game when he ran back the INT and seemingly fumbled within the 5 yard line. It was determined that someone brushed the back of his foot.
GoldRush26 is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 07:11 PM   #10
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wherever I lay my hat
Posts: 2,967
An official shall declare a dead ball and the down ended when a runner is contacted by a defensive player and he touches the ground with any part of his body, except his hands or feet. Contacting a player under this rule could be touching, grabbing, bumping, or any other type of contact.
UK_WhoDat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts