New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   COLSTON's HAILMARY CATCH (http://blackandgold.com/saints/15333-colstons-hailmary-catch.html)

Euphoria 01-15-2007 11:24 AM

COLSTON's HAILMARY CATCH
 
Ya know the more I see this the more I am compelled to bring it up. The Hailmary was a TD!!! He had it in his hands near his waist as he hits the ground and DOWN by contact the ball is then knocked from his hands. He had control of the ball on the way down!!!

sarge06 01-15-2007 11:25 AM

RE: COLSTON
 
Its ok. You can let it go now. We are headed to the NFC Championship baby!!!!!!!!!

poydras 01-15-2007 11:40 AM

RE: COLSTON
 
That's not the way it works. The rule states that when in contact with a defender, the receiver must control the ball throughout the catch. That means he had to hold the ball after hitting the ground.

maximkat 01-15-2007 11:41 AM

ya, poydras is right, gotta keep it through the whole process, after seeing the replay a few times, i wasn't too upset about it, besides, we won it's all good.

xan 01-15-2007 12:34 PM

that same issue happened in the Pats-Bolts game. incomplete. and legitimately so.

pakowitz 01-15-2007 02:23 PM

Re: RE: COLSTON
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by poydras
That's not the way it works. The rule states that when in contact with a defender, the receiver must control the ball throughout the catch. That means he had to hold the ball after hitting the ground.

i dont actually agree with that because the catch was made in the endzone... as soon as he has control and touches the ground in the endzone.. its a TD.. the fact that the ball came out after he was "down" should be irrelevent on the sole fact that he was in the endzone...

Euphoria 01-15-2007 05:05 PM

RE: Re: RE: COLSTON
 
Yes there are different rules when its in the endzone, you do not have to maintain posession as long as you show you have control. Secondly the ground can not cause a fumble and third he hit the ground and is down by contact. It would be the same if once you are down someone knocks the ball out its not a fumble. There has been may in the endzone where a WR stretches out and holds the ball in his hand and gets his feet in and falls out and the ball comes loose once he hits the ground... its a TD.

poydras 01-15-2007 05:38 PM

Re: RE: Re: RE: COLSTON
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Euphoria
Yes there are different rules when its in the endzone, you do not have to maintain posession as long as you show you have control. Secondly the ground can not cause a fumble and third he hit the ground and is down by contact. It would be the same if once you are down someone knocks the ball out its not a fumble. There has been may in the endzone where a WR stretches out and holds the ball in his hand and gets his feet in and falls out and the ball comes loose once he hits the ground... its a TD.

So what you're saying is that the rules don't apply to us?
Anyway, there's an easy was to find out for sure. Go to nfl.com and check the box score.

pakowitz 01-15-2007 05:54 PM

RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: COLSTON
 
no they do apply to us.. the refs made the wrong call... payton said they talked to the refs at halftime about it and showed them the whole thing

mighty12 01-15-2007 05:58 PM

RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: COLSTON
 
It was a catch whether he was in the endzone or not. Colston caught the ball hit the ground and the Eagles defender THEN ripped the ball out of his hands. He was down by contact before the ball came out. Andy Reid was smart to get his team in the locker room.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com