Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

COLSTON's HAILMARY CATCH

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Ya know the more I see this the more I am compelled to bring it up. The Hailmary was a TD!!! He had it in his hands near his waist as he hits the ground and DOWN by contact the ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2007, 11:24 AM   #1
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,441
Blog Entries: 5
COLSTON's HAILMARY CATCH

Ya know the more I see this the more I am compelled to bring it up. The Hailmary was a TD!!! He had it in his hands near his waist as he hits the ground and DOWN by contact the ball is then knocked from his hands. He had control of the ball on the way down!!!
Euphoria is offline  
Latest Blogs
2015 Saints Bye Week Draft Last Blog: 10-16-2014 By: hagan714


"IRONY" Last Blog: 10-01-2014 By: teddybarexxx


Sainity Zone 9-30-14 Hail Last Blog: 09-30-2014 By: xan


Old 01-15-2007, 11:25 AM   #2
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 212
RE: COLSTON

Its ok. You can let it go now. We are headed to the NFC Championship baby!!!!!!!!!
sarge06 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 11:40 AM   #3
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 856
RE: COLSTON

That's not the way it works. The rule states that when in contact with a defender, the receiver must control the ball throughout the catch. That means he had to hold the ball after hitting the ground.
poydras is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 11:41 AM   #4
ChocolateMilk Connoisseur
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Berwick, ME
Posts: 357
ya, poydras is right, gotta keep it through the whole process, after seeing the replay a few times, i wasn't too upset about it, besides, we won it's all good.
maximkat is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:34 PM   #5
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 3,030
Blog Entries: 27
that same issue happened in the Pats-Bolts game. incomplete. and legitimately so.
xan is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 02:23 PM   #6
The Dark Overlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: dirty south
Posts: 3,450
Re: RE: COLSTON

Originally Posted by poydras
That's not the way it works. The rule states that when in contact with a defender, the receiver must control the ball throughout the catch. That means he had to hold the ball after hitting the ground.
i dont actually agree with that because the catch was made in the endzone... as soon as he has control and touches the ground in the endzone.. its a TD.. the fact that the ball came out after he was "down" should be irrelevent on the sole fact that he was in the endzone...
pakowitz is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:05 PM   #7
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,441
Blog Entries: 5
RE: Re: RE: COLSTON

Yes there are different rules when its in the endzone, you do not have to maintain posession as long as you show you have control. Secondly the ground can not cause a fumble and third he hit the ground and is down by contact. It would be the same if once you are down someone knocks the ball out its not a fumble. There has been may in the endzone where a WR stretches out and holds the ball in his hand and gets his feet in and falls out and the ball comes loose once he hits the ground... its a TD.

E U P H O R I A
Euphoria is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:38 PM   #8
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 856
Re: RE: Re: RE: COLSTON

Originally Posted by Euphoria
Yes there are different rules when its in the endzone, you do not have to maintain posession as long as you show you have control. Secondly the ground can not cause a fumble and third he hit the ground and is down by contact. It would be the same if once you are down someone knocks the ball out its not a fumble. There has been may in the endzone where a WR stretches out and holds the ball in his hand and gets his feet in and falls out and the ball comes loose once he hits the ground... its a TD.
So what you're saying is that the rules don't apply to us?
Anyway, there's an easy was to find out for sure. Go to nfl.com and check the box score.
poydras is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:54 PM   #9
The Dark Overlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: dirty south
Posts: 3,450
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: COLSTON

no they do apply to us.. the refs made the wrong call... payton said they talked to the refs at halftime about it and showed them the whole thing
pakowitz is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:58 PM   #10
500th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 882
Blog Entries: 1
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: COLSTON

It was a catch whether he was in the endzone or not. Colston caught the ball hit the ground and the Eagles defender THEN ripped the ball out of his hands. He was down by contact before the ball came out. Andy Reid was smart to get his team in the locker room.
mighty12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts