Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; .. I see TB and I see something like when you reach for your drink, and instead of grabbing it, you hit it with the back of your hand, and you see the glass start tipping over, and you know ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2007, 08:47 PM   #11
Merces Letifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,729
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

.. I see TB and I see something like when you reach for your drink, and instead of grabbing it, you hit it with the back of your hand, and you see the glass start tipping over, and you know is going to spill off the table and all over the floor, yet you can't do anything about it.
Tobias-Reiper is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 08:49 PM   #12
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CRYSTAL BEACH TEXAS
Posts: 4,100
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by Tobias-Reiper View Post
.. I see TB and I see something like when you reach for your drink, and instead of grabbing it, you hit it with the back of your hand, and you see the glass start tipping over, and you know is going to spill off the table and all over the floor, yet you can't do anything about it.
Exactly. Couldn't have put it better myself.
JOESAM2002 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 11:01 PM   #13
100th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 189
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

What scares me the most is that several of the teams we are playing are teams that should be very improved. San Fran, St. Louis, and Tenn are all teams that should be on the rise. We are going to face some tough runningbacks this year as well. Gore, Jackson, Addai, Benson, Westbrook, and I think Norwood in Atlanta could have a very good year as well. I still think we should get the better of all these teams listed but they are must wins. I do like the fact that we are starting with the Colts and ending with the Bears. Last years predicted super bowl and a rematch of the NFC championship game. But, whoever it was talking about the timing is right. That will be tough to deal with. Not to mention we play 5 preseason games and then start the season on a Thursday night. Of course if any team is ready for a wacky schedule, it should be us. I am so ready to get it started I can't stand it. I can't remember ever going into a season with expectations this high. We may not reel off 11 wins but we should be very confident to be a playoff team again this year. GEAUX SAINTS!!!

O1higuy
o1higuy is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 01:31 AM   #14
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 27
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

[QUOTE=neugey;135099]Actually I think their running game will be good w/ Foster and DeAngelo Williams. Their OL isn't great, but they have a good system in place.

I would agree with that except, they are still trying to run Foster and Williams like they ran Stephen Davis a couple of years ago and they are not those kind of backs. I am presentl living in Charlotte and they are saying Nick Goings is having the best camp. Delhomme is not liking the Carr aquisition and is taking it personally. He is not having a good camp and is very unhappy. Not to mention the dissention on this club over contracts. You cannot believer the quotes I hear on local radio. This is not a team in harmony.
AjunCajun is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 06:36 AM   #15
The Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lithonia, GA
Posts: 1,721
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by poydras View Post
The thing that worries me most is the timing of games. We open AT Indianapolis and then travel TO Tampa Bay before entertaining the Titans on Monday Night Football. It's going to be tough to get on a roll like we did last year and gain the confidence that carried us through the season.
If this were last year I would have agreed with you. But not this year. In 2007 the Saints are the frontrunner. The contender. They are the team that already has the players, the coach, and the system in place.

There are no questions that Brees is healthy and is a top 3 QB in the league.

Remember last year when many thought that the Saints would have the wost OL in the league. No questions about that this year.

Last year Reggie was a talented but unknown quantity. Colston was simply an unknown. No doubts about either this year.

Last year there were new players and a new scheme on defense at every level. All three LBs were new guys and Harper was a rookie. Now there's only a hole or two that will be plugged with really talented guys (Clancy at DT, David at CB, possibly KK at safety) with the LB being pushed by talented playmakers like Simmons.

Oh yeah, I forget about Deuce.

In short the Saints are the team on the roll. There's no doubt in my mind that we'll roll up 30 spots on each of the three teams that you named above. They are going to have a tough time keeping up. You should plan to see a lot of games like the 42-17 steamroll over Dallas last season.

The test will be to see how we recover from early season adversity.
I doubt there will be early season adversity. We'll come out of that stretch 3-0 or 2-1 at the very worst (and that would probably be a loss on some fluke).

We saw all the adversity we needed to see last season when the Saints turned the ball over 3 times in the first half of the GB game and was down 14-0. Actually we saw the same in the NFC championship game. The team recovered both times. In January the only mistake Payton made was abandoning the run. I doubt he'll make that mistake again.

SFIAH

Super Bowl Championships New Orleans Saints:1, Atlanta:0, Carolina:0

Life is good.

Last edited by SaintFanInATLHELL; 08-03-2007 at 06:39 AM..
SaintFanInATLHELL is online now  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:22 AM   #16
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 856
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by SaintFanInATLHELL View Post
I doubt there will be early season adversity. We'll come out of that stretch 3-0 or 2-1 at the very worst (and that would probably be a loss on some fluke).


SFIAH
I'm afraid 3-0 is a little optimistic. I sure hope that's the case but I don't think Indy is just going to roll over in their season opener.
I agree that we're going into this season with more confidence but that kind of thing is so fragile. There are a lot of people who remember that Haz had a good first year also and how that turned out.
Don't worry about me though. I've been a Saints fan for a long, long time and I always temper my optimism.
poydras is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:45 AM   #17
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,964
Blog Entries: 52
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

What bothers me is Carolina is the only team, besides us, that will not be doing some major changes in there game plane.
Carolina will be a bit pissed off at us after we pulled all our starts in game 2. That was a slap in the face.
Atlanta now will be a basic offense with a QB that stays in the pocket, if Vick gets bit in court. If so look for them to run alot more. Norwood is going to get more carries and he looks good.
Tampa now has a gun slinger and a Caddie, also.
The defensive approach we have employed for years against the two can be thrown out of the window.
That is why the two scare me.
The fact that our road schedual is hard than our home schedual is another reason for concern. This by no means will be an easy season in the division. If you want a superbowl, we need to win home field for the playoffs. That will be tuff in the south. The division is too hard to call.

"We may have lost the game, but you'll be hurting tomorrow." Doug Atkins
hagan714 is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 07:25 PM   #18
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,129
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by WhoDatQB View Post
===

Hmmm. Well I agree with the Saints.
Jey Harrington is a better QB than Michael Vick. Vck gave some teams problems, but as D's have gotten faster he is no longer. Look at their stats. Joey Harrington is one year shot of Vick in Playing time, but has more TD's, better completion percentage and more yards. Who has Harrington had to throw too? I believe I heard he has had one pro bowler on offense with him in the skill positions his entire career. Vick.... has had Crumpler, Dunn, Finneran(not a PB but great Possesion RCVR), Price. Probably some others I cannot think of.

Harrington will have more talent on offense with him this year than he has had in all of his previous years combined. I believe now that Harrington will get all the snaps he will do just fine. Look for a Delhomme type year, ie above average but not great. I believe the Saints win the division and Carolina barely edges both Atlanta and TB( I think Garcia is a good fit there). Worse record in the division will be 7-9, maybe as high as 8-8.
I think that Atlanta is on the verge of imploding. The Vikings tried to get past it when their lineman passed away at practice and had a horrible year. The Falcons are starting off on very bad footing and I think the wheels will come off. They may go 2-14.
Papa Voodoo is offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:06 PM   #19
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,555
Blog Entries: 3
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by hagan714 View Post
if Vick gets bit in court.


good one hagan....

Teams don't worry me. The early bye week worries me. I think our boys will play hard, intelligent football and as a result, win the games we need to win.
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 01:17 PM   #20
500th Post
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Golden State
Posts: 830
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by AjunCajun View Post
As I see it, other than the Saints all the other teams in the NFC South have huge question marks. I see this as the finish:

New Orleans 11 - 5 I would say 13 - 3, but their linebacking corp still worries me a bit.
Carolina 8 - 8 NO running game and an old d.
Tampa Bay 7 - 9 Gruden is done.
Atlanta 6 - 8 and this is only if Joey Harrington works out better than I think he will.
I agree with all except ATL.....
I think the birds are gonna surprise some folks this year..
may even make the playoffs....
Harrington has never had this much talent on "O" in his NFL career...
IMO.
CHACHING is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts