Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by poydras I'm afraid 3-0 is a little optimistic. I sure hope that's the case but I don't think Indy is just going to roll over in their season opener. It's going to be a shootout for sure. ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2007, 03:33 PM   #21
The Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lithonia, GA
Posts: 1,727
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by poydras View Post
I'm afraid 3-0 is a little optimistic. I sure hope that's the case but I don't think Indy is just going to roll over in their season opener.
It's going to be a shootout for sure. You have the two of the top NFL offenses duking it out. The Saints had the better defense during the season last year, while Indy's defense put it together for a fabulous playoff run.

But the difference is what happened in the off season. Indy's defense got stripped. We got David. Cato June is gone. Indy lost their other starting CB.

OTOH the Saints acquired David, Clancy (a starting DT in this league) and valuable depth at LB with Simmons and Jones. More importantly we resigned all of our free agents.

The Saints defense really wasn't bad last year. 11th in total defense and 3rd against the pass. However, the run defense was suspect, turnovers were like squeezing blood from a turnip, and Fred Thomas was the GameShow, giving up the long ball at every possible turn. But the key is that the organization took positive steps to address each of these issues.

Let's not forget that Indy's defense was 32nd against the run last year and we have arguably the best running back tandem in the league.

I agree that we're going into this season with more confidence but that kind of thing is so fragile. There are a lot of people who remember that Haz had a good first year also and how that turned out.
Don't worry about me though. I've been a Saints fan for a long, long time and I always temper my optimism.
The NFL is full of flukes and injuries. That's a given. But all things being equal the Saints are currently the class of the NFC and has sufficient firepower on offense and filled enough holes on defense to compete with elite AFC teams like the Colts.

SFIAH

Super Bowl Championships New Orleans Saints:1, Atlanta:0, Carolina:0

Life is good.
SaintFanInATLHELL is online now  
Old 08-04-2007, 05:39 PM   #22
Fan Since 1967
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 147
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by Papa Voodoo View Post
I think that Atlanta is on the verge of imploding. The Vikings tried to get past it when their lineman passed away at practice and had a horrible year. The Falcons are starting off on very bad footing and I think the wheels will come off. They may go 2-14.

I have to live in Atlanta with my work, and, I'd love to see that happen!

Haps Biggest Fan is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 06:00 PM   #23
500th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 980
Blog Entries: 1
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by hagan714 View Post
What bothers me is Carolina is the only team, besides us, that will not be doing some major changes in there game plane.
Carolina will be a bit pissed off at us after we pulled all our starts in game 2. That was a slap in the face.
Atlanta now will be a basic offense with a QB that stays in the pocket, if Vick gets bit in court. If so look for them to run alot more. Norwood is going to get more carries and he looks good.
Tampa now has a gun slinger and a Caddie, also.
The defensive approach we have employed for years against the two can be thrown out of the window.
That is why the two scare me.
The fact that our road schedual is hard than our home schedual is another reason for concern. This by no means will be an easy season in the division. If you want a superbowl, we need to win home field for the playoffs. That will be tuff in the south. The division is too hard to call.


I would hope we would be more pissed at Carolina. They gave us our ONLY 2 losses in the division, and we could have won both games. The first one if we were better prepared and the second one if it were a real game. I hate Carolina now more than any other division foe, because of last year. GO GET'EM SAINTS!!!!!!!
mighty12 is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 07:32 PM   #24
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,403
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by stockman311 View Post
12-4 mark it down. You heard it here first. We are going to roll the rest of the division. 6-0.

I'm also predicteing the Saints to go 12-4...

IMO the Bucs will be much improved compared to last year, I really don't see the Panthers having a good season this year...
Bottom line: All Saints in the NFC South this year, bet on it!!!
LongTimeFan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts