Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by Tobias-Reiper ... I know I shouldn't be, I thought I wouldn't care,maybe I should be happy about it, but during my annual Disney trip, I saw more new Saints gear walking around the Magic Kingdom than you'll ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2009, 10:34 PM   #21
Guam Saints Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guam, USA
Posts: 411
Blog Entries: 2
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Originally Posted by Tobias-Reiper View Post
... I know I shouldn't be, I thought I wouldn't care,maybe I should be happy about it, but during my annual Disney trip, I saw more new Saints gear walking around the Magic Kingdom than you'll see in the B&G shop. There was a sea of 9s and 25s everywhere...even saw people swimming in the pool with Saints gear on; and honestly, it kind of felt wrong. I usually see Who Dats here and there, but this year, I saw hundreds of people with new Saints gear. I usually don't walk around with much gear, maybe a hat or worn out B&G sweatshirt...of course, the faded Fleur-De-Lis tattooed on my left hand between my wrist, index finger and thumb is there for everyone to see that I was branded B&G long time ago, before tattoos became the accessory fad they are now.

..anyway, just a little peeved

WHO DAT!
i live in l.a. county baldwin park and so far seen only one guy with a saints hat and sweatshirt riding my bus to my college. thats jsut about it..
jn671 is offline  
Latest Blogs
REFUND Last Blog: 12-07-2014 By: xan




Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


Old 11-30-2009, 06:20 AM   #22
Booty Bandit
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Wastelands that are NJ
Posts: 405
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Originally Posted by foreverfan View Post
Saints fans are so negative. You retards have nothing else to complain about.... LOL
I personally have plenty to complain about, but this has been one of my main issues for a while now: Bandwagon Jumpers

Simply put, it should gall anyone who's had to suffer through years of never making the playoffs, or being checked off as a win on the schedules by top tier teams pre-season. Those of us who've earned our stripes during the lean years now have to tolerate front running fans mouthing off about 'their' team?

Don't get me wrong, it's nice being liked instead of a perennial also-ran who gets no coverage by the press. I just think that the noobs need to know their role. Climb on board and enjoy the ride, but get in the backseat and STFU until you KNOW what you're yapping about. Let the old heads drive this puppy, 'cause we were doing it long before you came along.

End rant here... B)

A wise man once said, "Poo-poo smells just as bad as s#!%. One just SOUNDS cuter!"
leilung is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 07:04 AM   #23
100th Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 294
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

I'm all for bandwagon fans.

More revenue for the Saints organization is always a good thing. In turn it generates more revenue for New Orleans and the State of Louisiana.

Less chance the team will move to L.A. More chance the Saints will continue to be contenders.

Tutor them in the ways of being a Saints fan. Welcome them, don't get angry.

I'll take a bandwagon fan who will yell and scream any day over the "longtime Saints fans" who wear putrid purple and yellow in the dome and chant the only word they can spell whenever things are looking low for the black and gold.

I tell all new Saints fans they have a duty to punch anyone wearing purple at the Superdome in the face .
gumbeau is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 08:41 AM   #24
Merces Letifer
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,392
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Originally Posted by gumbeau View Post
I'm all for bandwagon fans.

More revenue for the Saints organization is always a good thing. In turn it generates more revenue for New Orleans and the State of Louisiana.

Less chance the team will move to L.A. More chance the Saints will continue to be contenders.

Tutor them in the ways of being a Saints fan. Welcome them, don't get angry.

I'll take a bandwagon fan who will yell and scream any day over the "longtime Saints fans" who wear putrid purple and yellow in the dome and chant the only word they can spell whenever things are looking low for the black and gold.

I tell all new Saints fans they have a duty to punch anyone wearing purple at the Superdome in the face .

Honestly, I do agree with all you said. Is just that it irked me a little to see the literary hundreds of people wearing Saints stuff this year walking around Disney, even one dude swimming in the pool with a Saints visor on - I have NEVER seen anyone swim with a visor on, much less a Saints visor.

Now, this was in Orlando, so I don't doubt a lot of these people are from LA, but where were they the past years when the team wasn't doing that great? I think you should show your colors win or lose,not just when you are winning and winning big.

... maybe I'm just feeling a sense of "over-entitlement" after all the years of pain

La neta es chida, pero inalcanzable
Tobias-Reiper is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 09:22 AM   #25
100th Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 294
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

I'm pretty sure only a serious Saints/Payton fan would swim with a visor on.

Are you sure it wasn't Sean himself?

Ready for the battle of the hoodie and the visor tonite!!!!
gumbeau is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 12:10 PM   #26
100th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 158
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

i'm in des moines so i hate when people think i'm a bandwagon fan. i usually break out my old school gear for a night like this so i don't have to explain to everyone that i'm the real deal, and just because they like the saints now doesn't mean we're buddies.
woody is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 03:51 PM   #27
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 2,683
Blog Entries: 2
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Originally Posted by gumbeau View Post
I'm pretty sure only a serious Saints/Payton fan would swim with a visor on.

Are you sure it wasn't Sean himself?

Ready for the battle of the hoodie and the visor tonite!!!!
true.....i notice a lot of bandwagoners are very cautious about how they treat saints apparel

i wear my saints stuff all the time so im not worried about my black #25 jersey getting scuffed cuz i know i can go home and change into the black #12 jersey or even the white #25

im also a fan of my #9 jersey that was a misprint and doesnt have anything on the front.....its kind of like a superstition thing
CantonLegend is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 04:16 PM   #28
SaintSince67
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PortCity
Posts: 1,781
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Originally Posted by arsaint View Post
I caught the other end of the bandwagon last week.


I went to work with my Saints windbreaker on (as I often do) and got on the elevator with some dude I didn't know.

He took one look at my coat and said "Great year to be an Aint's fan, huh?"

After the urge to pummel him passed, I responded that I had been a Saints fan for MANY years and we were having a great season.

Turns out said dude was from Shreveport - no doubt one of those displaced Cowgirls fans...
Lots of Cow-kitties here in Shreveport - but we've been tagging that a$$ good for years now and that has kept them off of me. I have been listening to that Cowboy ying-yang since 81' when I move here, I've kind of gotten used to it. Silver stars were hard to find early in the season...kind of let you know what their fans are all about. My neighbor even took his flag down in front of his house. How fickle is that? I look around and see more Black&Gold then I've ever seen; Fleur de lis' as far as the eye can see. They must have been in hibernation. It comes with the winning. I'm O.K. with it. We've waited a long time for this kind of season...there is plenty of room for hitch-hikers.

**SaintSince67**

Last edited by darstep; 11-30-2009 at 04:21 PM..
darstep is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 04:26 PM   #29
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,727
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Originally Posted by arsaint View Post
Me too.

I'm cool with more people filing in on the bandwagon, but know your role newbies!!!
Exactly.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:09 PM   #30
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 96
Re: After further review, little peeved over bandwagon...

Just remember this about being a fan: when someone jumps on board a bandwagon they may act like they really care, but they don't get the same satisfaction as a long-time fan. I lived in New Orleans when I was a kid and the Saints were my favorite NFL team, but I will admit, I have always been a bigger college football fan than NFL (so my name references Auburn, not Philly).

I (like a lot of people) found my level of support for the Saints really rise after Katrina. I had not lived in New Orleans for years, but I really wanted the city to have a symbol of hope. I was outraged that the Saints might move and I was so happy when the Saints beat the Falcons in that MNF game back in the Superdome. I have been following the team closely since then.

Be happy that the Saints are enjoying more support than they were in the past and remember that someone becoming a new fan doesn't take anything away from the fact that some of you have been fans for decades. New Orleans is a special place and the Saints are a special team, and I think the more people who recognize that, the better.
WarEagle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts