Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; I think hes going to be really good. He seems to know where the ball is going. I think hes been made to look bad at times because he isn't as fast as some other corners, but you can tell ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 02:00 PM   #1
100th Post
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 358
Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

I think hes going to be really good. He seems to know where the ball is going. I think hes been made to look bad at times because he isn't as fast as some other corners, but you can tell he has an extremely high football IQ. I think he could end up being an elite player in the league... if not at corner then definitely safety. I think he has potential though in both areas.

Having another year in camp will help too.
hitta is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:03 PM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 2,683
Blog Entries: 2
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

he breaks on the ball really well

i agree with the football IQ part......it seems like he is great at reading routes and QBs drops

he gets burned deep without safety help but its dangerous for a QB to throw the curl routes on him.......even in the super bowl he cut off an out route and would've had a pick had he been a half step faster

any other QB than manning would've thrown a pick 6 in that situation

i like him covering better than gay who was victimized a lot this season in the slot

"deal with it or you can go play the saints and get trounced by 30 and you won't have to worry about it."-colin cowherd
CantonLegend is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:29 PM   #3
100th Post
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 424
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

I like Jenkins too. No corner is going to do it perfect every time. The way football is played now, where QBs NOT named Jake Delhomme look to air out on every possession, there is little distinction between the number 1 and number 2 receiver. So he's drawn some pretty big assignments this year. A couple times in the Super Bowl, he was covering Reggie Wayne. But definitely an excellent rookie year.
G504 is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:37 PM   #4
Deuce
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,878
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Originally Posted by hitta View Post
I think hes going to be really good. He seems to know where the ball is going.
The tricky part is getting there. He will be a safety, IMO.
Saint_LB is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:38 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Haven Ct
Posts: 18,224
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Give him another year and I bet he lights it up !!! He as great skills, and Football IQ
QBREES9 is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 03:46 PM   #6
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 11,223
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

I was happy with his rookie season. I can't help but wonder just how well he would have played if he hadn't held out so long before joining the team at training camp. He got off to a bad start this year, but I think that after a full season under his belt and a full training camp he'll really come on next year.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 04:37 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 17,329
Blog Entries: 27
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Not sold on his cover skills as a CB ..... much more comfortable as a safety!
SmashMouth is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 04:49 PM   #8
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,889
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

I think he can play cornerback, the dude played well as a rookie in the playoffs and in the Super Bowl. I mean if you really expected him to step in and be a shutdown corner against seasoned NFL vets, that's just not really reasonable. I thought he had a very good rookie season, and showed that he is going to be a really good player for the Saints for several years. He's not going to be a Champ Bailey or a Derrell Revis, but I don't think anybody expected him to be that. We all knew he didn't have great speed, but he showed what I had seen from him in college: great instincts and ball skills.

He never really gave up big plays (with exception of the Washington game) and he forced a few turnovers. Not to mention he had a huge tackle in the Super Bowl and don't forget that he almost picked off Manning a few plays before Porter did.

I don't buy all this safety stuff... the dude is a cornerback. He was one of the best CBs in the nation in college and played damn good as a rookie in the NFL without much camp experience. He might never be a Pro Bowl lockdown corner, but he's going to be a good player. All of this safety talk seems unsubstantiated to me because I doubt that any of you have seen him play safety. Just my opinion though.
TheDeuce is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 05:59 PM   #9
Deuce
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,878
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Originally Posted by TheDeuce View Post
I doubt that any of you have seen him play safety.
but we have seen him play CB...
Saint_LB is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 06:09 PM   #10
Site Donor 2014
Lucky Cat
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 8,376
Blog Entries: 5
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Face it... the guy is going to end up playing safety.

I'll bet my reputation on it... wait... what reputation?

Last edited by foreverfan; 02-21-2010 at 06:11 PM..
foreverfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/25281-reviewing-malcolm-jenkins.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 02-21-2010 07:25 PM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts