Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by 21Hilliard I agree. Look at the division - ATL, CAR and TPA (to a lesser extent), and all have running backs who pretty much shredded us on the ground last season. This year, we also play late-season ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 01:14 AM   #11
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA - Behind enemy lines. Someone throw me a grenade!!
Posts: 941
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Originally Posted by 21Hilliard View Post
I agree. Look at the division - ATL, CAR and TPA (to a lesser extent), and all have running backs who pretty much shredded us on the ground last season.

This year, we also play late-season away games in cold weather -- Cincinnati and Baltimore in December. Cinci won the AFC north last year. How? By playing old school Chuck Knox Steeler football -- RUNNING the ball. I Don't follow Balt much, but I remember seeing some of a playoff game, they had a horse in the backfield.

That's 8 games - half the season right there - against strong running teams.

SF drafted to improve their O line, and until they sort out a quarterback, all they HAVE is a running game, and still ended up 8-8.

Vikings had us figured out in the Championship game and are going to stuff the ball down our throats, as long as they can keep from fumbling it away.

Dallas has two backs that can run the ball too, Barber and the other guy.

I can swallow my tounge and see the point in drafting Robinson, but not Brown and Graham (not in the 2nd & 3rd rounds anyway). There are GAPING holes in the Defensive line (pun intended) that need to be addressed first, before we go picking up project players.

But that's just my $0.02.

Yup. EXACTLY my concern when I was looking at our schedule before the draft.
Sir Psycho Sexy is offline  
Latest Blogs
REFUND Last Blog: 12-07-2014 By: xan




Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


Old 04-24-2010, 01:57 AM   #12
Mrs. Drew Brees
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Who Dat Nation (by way of South Dakota)
Posts: 2,283
Blog Entries: 1
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

I'm just worried that we're not going to have enough weapons for our Defense this season and our opponets are going to eat that up.
breesfan27 is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:04 AM   #13
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Raised on the Bayou - living in DFW
Posts: 136
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Originally Posted by papz View Post
What are these gaping holes along the defensive line? Right now we have Brown and Smith at DE and our promising young Ellis at DT. If there is a gaping hole, it's next to him... and that still can be addressed with our other picks and/or free agency.
Exactly. Every time we got run over, it mostly came from the middle. Ellis only played in 10 games last season, and I seem to recall some of those 6 missed games were due to injury. What did we have to back him up? Not much. 4 of the games Ellis missed? ATL (Turner 151 yards) CAR ( Williams 149) TPA (119) and STL (Jackson 131). Our LBs were having to make way too many tackles in those games.

I understand that Brown was a good value at #64, and he'll probably be playing the last 4-5 years of Drew's career, and after that with our next QB. But unless they let Greg Williams teach him to line up and tackle the guy running at the defense with the ball, he's not helping to solve a problem.

I just hope there's another Colston-type sleeper masquerading as a DT in the 4-7 rounds who nobody talks about but turns out to be a phenomenal player on the D line.

I'm a pilgrim in an unholy land: I'm a SAINTS fan living in DFW and I HATE the Cryboys.
21Hilliard is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:31 AM   #14
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 339
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Be patient y'all. They are taking BPA and their 3 picks so far have been the #34 (Brown), #37 (Robinson) and #64 (Graham) overall rated players in this draft class per NFLDraftScout. They could not believe these players were still on the board when they went to pick tonight and had to take them.

It's only a matter of time before they address the most apparent "need" left on defense at the DT (NT) position. There are still 3 picks left for the Saints tomorrow, as well as the potential for trades involving Jammal Brown and perhaps even Lance Moore to add even more picks to the equation and then undrafted free agency after the draft ends. Not to mention the next round of free agency after teams release all their extras to make room for draft picks.

There is no real "need" at OLB with the youth of Casillas (undrafted), Dunbar (undrafted) and Arnoux (last year's draft pick at LB) waiting in the wings to replace the hole left by Fujita.

They just signed Alex Brown and Jimmy Wilkerson to replace Grant, so there is absolutely no "need" right now at end.

Some of y'all really need to get a grip and relax a little bit! There is still plenty of time to address shoring up the defense in the proper way without calling for heads to roll in the front office or anything like that...

Geez!
realheavyd is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:48 AM   #15
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 339
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

JIMMY GRAHAM TE, 6-6, 260
College: Miami (Fla.)

04/15/2010 - TOP RATED NFL DRAFT SCOUT TIGHT ENDS: Jimmy Graham, Miami (Fla.), 6-6, 260, 2: Many think Graham could be the next Tony Gonzalez or Antonio Gates??? a basketball player-turned-NFL star. Before last year, Graham had not played football since the ninth grade, just before he became better known as a basketball player in high school and at Miami. But last summer Graham decided to return to what he called his first love, and former Hurricanes quarterback Bernie Kosar helped by throwing him passes three days a week. Graham joined the football team in August and scored a touchdown on his first catch, though he had plenty of awkward moments and dropped passes before he began to look like an outstanding pro prospect. He still has a lot to learn as a blocker and route runner, but his size and eye-popping athletic ability are undeniable. He finished his only college football season with 17 catches for 213 yards, but he scored on five of those receptions. - Frank Cooney, The Sports Xchange, NFLDraftScout.com/CBS Sports/USA TODAY

Player Analysis: Great kid with good attitude. He was very good at the Combine, very focused during the drills. In my mind, a good pick in the mid-late third round. He has the body, the speed, the hand to play in the NFL. One or two years as a TE2 could be enough to develop him into a great one...
realheavyd is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:48 AM   #16
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: "Little Ole Town in Tejas"
Posts: 7,770
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Originally Posted by realheavyd View Post
Be patient y'all. They are taking BPA and their 3 picks so far have been the #34 (Brown), #37 (Robinson) and #64 (Graham) overall rated players in this draft class per NFLDraftScout. They could not believe these players were still on the board when they went to pick tonight and had to take them.

It's only a matter of time before they address the most apparent "need" left on defense at the DT (NT) position. There are still 3 picks left for the Saints tomorrow, as well as the potential for trades involving Jammal Brown and perhaps even Lance Moore to add even more picks to the equation and then undrafted free agency after the draft ends. Not to mention the next round of free agency after teams release all their extras to make room for draft picks.

There is no real "need" at OLB with the youth of Casillas (undrafted), Dunbar (undrafted) and Arnoux (last year's draft pick at LB) waiting in the wings to replace the hole left by Fujita.

They just signed Alex Brown and Jimmy Wilkerson to replace Grant, so there is absolutely no "need" right now at end.

Some of y'all really need to get a grip and relax a little bit! There is still plenty of time to address shoring up the defense in the proper way without calling for heads to roll in the front office or anything like that...

Geez!
Dude you been here three yrs and 13 post....man whats up with that?...and you want to tell us to chill?...I will vent till i frikin pass out..lol...come back in three yrs and scold me..
strato is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:56 AM   #17
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 339
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

2010 NFL Draft Prospect Scouting Report:
Jimmy Graham, TE, Miami

For three years Jimmy Graham spent his collegiate career playing basketball at Miami. For his senior season he opted to return to football and try out playing some tight end. The Hurricanes could have used another big body on the hardwood, but Graham's future is in football and he proved that during his one year of playing collegiate football. In ten games, Graham caught 17 passes for 213 yards and five touchdowns.

At 6-6 and 260 pounds, Graham has the size to be a great threat in the red zone. The fact that five of his 17 catches went for a touchdown proves that the Hurricanes were using him in that way. His lack of experience is obviously a concern, but the history of power forwards playing tight end is a long one and most NFL teams will not hesitate to take him just because he only played one year in college. This is a smart player who has all the physical tools to succeed.

Graham had a successful NFL Combine and was one of the faster and more athletic tight ends in Indianapolis. While there are certainly two types of tight ends these days (and Graham has a lot of work to do before he can become a solid blocker), he will be a great vertical threat for any team who is still searching for a tight end that can stretch the field. If Graham falls past round three, it will be a surprise.

Last Updated Mar-01-2010 by Joel Welser
realheavyd is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 02:59 AM   #18
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 339
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Go ahead and judge me by how little I post in here. I don't care. I probably know more about football than you will ever pretend to know anyway. Just because I don't have 13,889 posts, doesn't mean I don't know what I'm talking about. Think about it...
realheavyd is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 03:04 AM   #19
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: "Little Ole Town in Tejas"
Posts: 7,770
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Mickey is that you?
strato is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 03:05 AM   #20
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 339
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

The Saints FO picked a #37 ranked player at #32, a #34 ranked player at #64 and a #67 ranked player at #95. Do you really think that any of you could have done any better than that? I doubt it!

They are trying to build a dynasty and picking in the draft based on the level of talent on your board when you pick (rather than reaching to fill needs with every pick), which is exactly how the great teams like the Steelers and Patriots built their dynasties.

Sit back, watch and learn how it is done from Sean Payton and Mickey Loomis, the next great dynasty builders in the NFL!
realheavyd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts