Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

An exercise in opinions

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; OK, well, for sake of argument, let\'s say I\'m Pro-life. Now, on a topic like this, which is particularly sensitive, wouldn\'t you think I could also support my position well? I could cite all types of medical opinions, liberal doctorine ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2003, 03:15 PM   #11
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
An exercise in opinions

OK, well, for sake of argument, let\'s say I\'m Pro-life. Now, on a topic like this, which is particularly sensitive, wouldn\'t you think I could also support my position well? I could cite all types of medical opinions, liberal doctorine that promotes choice, etc. etc. etc.

OK, now I think that we would agree that there is one universal truth on this subject. I also think that we would agree that we don\'t know what that universal truth is. Am I right so far?
WhoDat is offline  
Latest Blogs
Is this Manning's last Hurrah? Last Blog: 04-16-2014 By: SmashMouth


Landry over Beckham Jr. Last Blog: 04-12-2014 By: joker-saint


Saints Free Agency 2014 Last Blog: 03-11-2014 By: SmashMouth


Old 10-22-2003, 03:19 PM   #12
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,209
An exercise in opinions

OK, now I think that we would agree that there is one universal truth on this subject.
NO. You are not right. There is not one universal truth. It goes very deep into one\'s personal beliefs. It also starts to get into religion and there is no one universal religion. This is something that is about every individual\'s belief. It his hardly comparable to being making a point that EVERY opinion is justified.
BillyCarpenter1 is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:19 PM   #13
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 10,824
Blog Entries: 5
An exercise in opinions

In 1492...
da dum dum
Cloumbus Sailed the Ocean Blue...
de dum dum
He went so fast...
He slid on his azz...
and pee\'d all over the crew.

LOL

Sorry Whodat, but the medication wore off and I just couldn\'t resist. I\'m laughing so hard now I can\'t type...that\'s all I have to say....again...sorry...I just took another pill>

:P
saintfan is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:20 PM   #14
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
An exercise in opinions

One other thing - you two need to take your BS argument out of my thread. Thanks.
WhoDat is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:22 PM   #15
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
An exercise in opinions

Whoa...

OK Billy, so what you\'re saying is that there is NO universal truth on when a life is created? Am I reading that right? That issue is simply a matter of perception? Is that how you really feel?
WhoDat is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:25 PM   #16
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,209
An exercise in opinions

I do not know exactly what point a human life beigins. NO.

[Edited on 22/10/2003 by BillyCarpenter1]

[Edited on 22/10/2003 by BillyCarpenter1]
BillyCarpenter1 is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:29 PM   #17
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,209
An exercise in opinions

Gator -- That makes ALMOST as much sense as what some folks have been telling me about Brooks. Now if you\'ve got to change the Earth from FLAT to ROUND in one year\'s time, then I\'m going to call you a EARTH BASHER and question your loyalty to the earth.
BillyCarpenter1 is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:31 PM   #18
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
An exercise in opinions

OK - but b/c YOU don\'t know the when a life begins does not mean that there isn\'t some universal truth about it... right? For example, is there life somewhere else in the universe? We don\'t know, but there is or there isn\'t. Just b/c we don\'t know that doesn\'t change the universal truth about life outside of earth, right?
WhoDat is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:36 PM   #19
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,209
An exercise in opinions

We can have our opinions but we can\'t prove what you are talking about. Is that what you\'re looking for?
BillyCarpenter1 is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 03:40 PM   #20
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
An exercise in opinions

I\'m not looking for anything but honesty from you, but yes I would agree with that statement you just made.

So, thus far, in our HYPOTHETICAL discussion, we\'ve established:
a) You\'re Pro-life.
b) I\'m Pro-choice
c) That we cannot currently prove unequivically when a life is created.

Agreed?
WhoDat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts