Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Booth Review

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; It killed our end of first half drive. It's still pissing me off. Shockey had the ball, was fairly clear. The replay on the screen was clear. No, let's give the Falclowns D time to rest and get their tongues ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 01:16 AM   #1
100th Post
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 275
Booth Review

It killed our end of first half drive. It's still pissing me off. Shockey had the ball, was fairly clear. The replay on the screen was clear. No, let's give the Falclowns D time to rest and get their tongues back in their mouth.

IMO, no booth review, we score. Game ends up 24-7.
Cory9289 is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 01:24 AM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,705
I didn't get that one either. He was clearly on the ground. I give the refs credit though, they tried to call a fair fight. They actually disregarded a flag for taunting on us and could have given the Falcons a few more calls.
Main thing though, they finally got White on pushing off. He's been doing it all season. They are watching him hard now.
Beastmode is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 02:32 AM   #3
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: on the road - now based in Oakland
Posts: 291
we dodge a few too... that is why they give 3 pts to home field advantage. perhap i would be singing a different hymn if we had lost.

but we did it - in da georgia dome.

two dat, baby
exiled is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 05:32 AM   #4
100th Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 318
Originally Posted by Beastmode View Post
I didn't get that one either. He was clearly on the ground. I give the refs credit though, they tried to call a fair fight. They actually disregarded a flag for taunting on us and could have given the Falcons a few more calls.
Main thing though, they finally got White on pushing off. He's been doing it all season. They are watching him hard now.
Didn't you post this earlier in the year?
SaintGup is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 06:37 AM   #5
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 1,367
The booth review was a momentum killer but sometimes you get the bear and sometimes the bear gets you
subguy is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:21 AM   #6
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 2,964
Blog Entries: 26
Love the push off calls. But you have to take responsibility for looking at unclear calls. Imagine the outcry if he didnt catch it and they didn't review??

They should make it booth only, not require the head ref to completely disrupt the game. Thy way it takes less time
xan is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:26 AM   #7
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 15,812
I saw the reply 3 times before the Booth called down for the review. It was clear that he had a catch.
TheOak is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:19 AM   #8
Hu Dat!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,845
Blog Entries: 4
I wouldn't mind a quick review since the catch was close to the ground. But all reviews take FOREVER in the NFL. Sometimes in college they come out quicker for a call like this where, after one replay view, was a no-brainer.
neugey is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:39 AM   #9
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 516
Blog Entries: 1
Definitely a drive killer and it sucks the momentum right out of you. Seemed to me that they were trying to give atlanta time to regroup. Stop trying to make them something they aren't, Super Bowl Champs!
niteadept is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 12:27 PM   #10
100th Post
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 275
Originally Posted by neugey View Post
I wouldn't mind a quick review since the catch was close to the ground. But all reviews take FOREVER in the NFL. Sometimes in college they come out quicker for a call like this where, after one replay view, was a no-brainer.
Exactly, one would suspect an experienced ref to be able to see come to a decision on CLEAR plays.

Like when they bring Mike in to "see" the review. He knows what it is as soon as he sees it. And is 99% right.
Cory9289 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts