OT rule change
In case anyone forgot, the new OT rule change only applies to the playoffs.
I not sure if I understand what Peter King is trying to say in his article, but this is what I think he means.
Saints win the coin toss in OT and Seattle recovers the on-side kick.
The Seahawks kick a FG and win because the new rule says each team will have "an opportunity" to possess the ball.
Since the Saints did not recover the onside kick, they did have an "opportunity" to possess the ball.
Same thing for the Seahawks; if the Saints recover the ball, and kick a FG, the game is over because the Seahawks had an "opportunity" to recover the ball.
Am I off base? I understand that the game ends if a team scores a TD.
NFL playoff overtime rules force Jets, others to rethink strategy - Peter King - SI.com
I think he's mistaken. Unless I'm reading it wrong he is saying that even if the team who has the ball first scores a TD then the other team still gets the ball to try and re-tie the game. I understood the rule to say that if you have the ball first and you score a TD, game over. If you have the ball first and you kick a field goal then the other team gets the ball and if they kick a field goal then it goes back to who ever scores next wins. I never thought about the onside kick scenario. I would think that wouldn't apply since the receiving team technically wouldn't have possession of the ball. I don't know.
Get the ball to colston in the redzone, game over
That is correct!
The head of the officials confirmed this during the week in an interview. And even explained it this way:
If say team A takes the OT kick off and scores field goal. Then kicks an onside kick and recovers the ball the game is over. Because team B did have an oppitunity to posses the ball.
They both agreed that they would not know why ANYONE would even attempt an onside kick in that situation.
But I guess they already for got last year's SB.
|All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.|
Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com