Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Sean Payton's take on the Cruz fumble

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; NFL.com news: Saints' Payton: Rule makes sense but call on Cruz doesn't...

Like Tree1Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 02:51 PM   #1
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 10,285
Sean Payton's take on the Cruz fumble

NFL.com news: Saints' Payton: Rule makes sense but call on Cruz doesn't
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Latest Blogs


Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


What i tell you ! !! ! Last Blog: 11-02-2014 By: SAINTstunna


Old 10-04-2011, 03:37 PM   #2
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,223
Blog Entries: 2
No whistle? NO dead play.

Same should go for a quarterback slide. They seem to hop right up like their butts have a whistle in it or something.

Alaska
JoanieNTX likes this.
AlaskaSaints is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
In Doh We Trust
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,969
Blog Entries: 16
Weird play - thats all I will say. Weird play
homerj07 is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 10:30 PM   #4
Hu Dat!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,885
Blog Entries: 5
It was a tough call for the Cardinals, but this is what you get with all the vagueness in the rulebook with a player "giving himself up" versus "down by contact".

I wish the NFL would adopt the college rule - it's a whole lot simpler and more pure in my mind. If a player goes down, the play is over. It's a man law. If a player can't keep off the ground, he doesn't deserve to advance the ball any further. Why the NFL doesn't follow the college ruling is beyond me ... anyone know why this rule is so jacked up?


"Things were so much easier when Peyton was still a Colt and Tebow was still a Bronco"

"You lose focus in this game for one second - and somebody gets hurt" ... Danny, Oceans Eleven
neugey is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 11:34 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Haven Ct
Posts: 18,775
I've never seen anything like that
QBREES9 is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 12:22 AM   #6
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,247
No whistle. The official has to declare him down, not the player. A player can down himself, but its not over until the official declares it down.
The Dude is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 03:52 PM   #7
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 373
Cardinals got robbed
winmill1 is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 07:40 AM   #8
Deuce
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,881
Originally Posted by winmill1 View Post
Cardinals got robbed
You can say that the Cardinals had a "lucky break" taken away from them...maybe...but they didn't get robbed. Maybe it would've been different if they had hit him and he fumbled and they were denied the ball because of some rule. As it was, the guy saw himself being surrounded and time was an issue...holding on to the ball was an issue...so he went down.


What was amazing to me was that they actually covered that in the rule book...and according to the book, a player CAN give himself up. That's what he did, there is no doubt in my mind, so they called it properly.

Whether you think you can or think you can't...you're right!
Saint_LB is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 10:54 AM   #9
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 4,123
If nobody toched him down, the defensive players started walking back to the huddle, and Cruz picked the ballup and ran it in for a touchdown, I bet the Zebras would have given him the score.
Srgt. Hulka is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 11:05 AM   #10
Deuce
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,881
Originally Posted by Srgt. Hulka View Post
If nobody toched him down, the defensive players started walking back to the huddle, and Cruz picked the ballup and ran it in for a touchdown, I bet the Zebras would have given him the score.
I think it would have depended on the timing. According to the rule, a player can give himself up as long as he goes to the ground and makes no further attempt at advancing the ball. If he stayed on the ground for a few seconds, then got up and tried to advance...then the ref would be doing his job by not allowing it. He gave himself up.

However, if he went to the ground and then immediately popped up, as if he stumbled or something...then he could keep going.

It was pretty obvious to me that he intentionally went down...and then the fact that he popped up and left the ball where it was reinforces that. He may have thought that he was touched after that...but if he was in fact giving himself up, which it certainly appeared...then he really doesn't have to wait for someone to touch him.

The one thing that I will totally agree with that in the future he should err on the side of caution and make sure he is downed...or pop up with the ball and hand it to the ref.

Whether you think you can or think you can't...you're right!
Saint_LB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts