Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Jimmy Graham catch somebody Please explain!!!!

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; The first foot was in. The heel of the 2nd foot was in, then the toe flicked one abnormaly long piece of grass painted white. If had originally been called a good catch, NO WAY they overturn it...

Like Tree20Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 04:38 PM   #11
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,845
The first foot was in. The heel of the 2nd foot was in, then the toe flicked one abnormaly long piece of grass painted white.
If had originally been called a good catch, NO WAY they overturn it
ScottF is online now  
Latest Blogs
2015 Saints Bye Week Draft Last Blog: 10-16-2014 By: hagan714


"IRONY" Last Blog: 10-01-2014 By: teddybarexxx


Sainity Zone 9-30-14 Hail Last Blog: 09-30-2014 By: xan


Old 12-11-2011, 04:39 PM   #12
Senior Citizen
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 3,180
Blog Entries: 1
Wasnt his left butt cheek on the ground, before the toe went out? I always heard one cheek equals 2 feet.....
SaintPauly is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 04:40 PM   #13
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wherever I lay my hat
Posts: 3,017
Originally Posted by Danno View Post
If your 2nd foot lands OB, its an incomplete pass. This was a no-brainer. It was the right call no question.
My contention is that the heel of the 2nd foot touched inbounds pre any tippy toe of that foot out of bounds. But there is now an implication there has to a complete foot inbounds (when I thought that tips of both feet inbounds always counted as TDs)
UK_WhoDat is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 04:49 PM   #14
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 16,447
Originally Posted by UK_WhoDat View Post
My contention is that the heel of the 2nd foot touched inbounds pre any tippy toe of that foot out of bounds. But there is now an implication there has to a complete foot inbounds (when I thought that tips of both feet inbounds always counted as TDs)
Its similar to a jump ball at the back of the endzone. Even if both toes come in bounds, but the heels hit OB, its an incomplete pass.

I am positive that that was the right call IMO.
Danno is online now  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:14 PM   #15
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 11,672
Blog Entries: 44
I never saw the second foot ever touch the white, even the "grass blade." I saw it wave over the white and not touch out.

I may have missed the "other angle" you guys are talking about. I thought I saw every angle possible. We'll have to search for this on youtube. Fun conversation though.
Halo is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:18 PM   #16
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 16,447
Originally Posted by Halo View Post
I never saw the second foot ever touch the white, even the "grass blade." I saw it wave over the white and not touch out.

I may have missed the "other angle" you guys are talking about. I thought I saw every angle possible. We'll have to search for this on youtube. Fun conversation though.
The replay after commercial cleary showed white grass moving, similar to a fair ball in baseball.

His toe definitely touched OB before his knee hit. If I knew how to do youtube I could show you guys.

I rarely take zebra's sides since they so often screw up, but there is no doubt in my mind they made the right call.
Danno is online now  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:53 PM   #17
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,441
Blog Entries: 5
Oh I beg to differ...

Here is where it gets grey.

If you get your toes down and you go out of bounds... its a catch. So the whole foot doesn't have to be in bounds!!!

What makes the heel of the foot any different.

I also like the Madden rule... one knee equals 2 feet.
Euphoria is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 06:17 PM   #18
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,846
That was a TD. Yes, I can understand how a ref would have called it not a TD.
Instant replay. Saints calling a challenge, you can see that was a TD. All of Graham was in. He even, it looked like he purposely, arched his back as to make sure his body was in.
His foot, the tip end of it, could have been seen as on the line.
Maybe. Hardly. Not really. He was in.

then we had a TD from the Titans in which the player was not in the EZ at all ruled as a TD.
Ok, whatever.
Explain it to me.
Yes, I understand football is fast and there are rules.
The officials can sometimes call really questionable plays , those either neither ones, in your favor or not. I know the Saints have had some of those favors. I know other teams have had some of those too.
This time was not an either-niether situation.

I am fair because Harper was wrong after that play when he grabbed a facemask.
Halo likes this.
OldMaid is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 06:18 PM   #19
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan by way of a little Mississippi River town in Louisiana
Posts: 2,723
That was the longest piece of freakin' grass on the field I ever saw. TD
Halo and Rugby Saint II like this.
halloween 65 is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 06:20 PM   #20
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193
Catching a ball..while... touching toes.... Gymnastics?
Halo likes this.
TheOak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/38913-jimmy-graham-catch-somebody-please-explain.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Jimmy Graham catch somebody Please explain!!!! This thread Refback 12-11-2011 04:07 PM 5


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts