Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Jimmy Graham catch somebody Please explain!!!!

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by x626xBlack Catching a ball..while... touching toes.... Gymnastics? or a ghey olympic event...

Like Tree20Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 07:30 PM   #21
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,910
Originally Posted by x626xBlack View Post
Catching a ball..while... touching toes.... Gymnastics?
or a ghey olympic event
ScottF is offline  
Latest Blogs
Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


What i tell you ! !! ! Last Blog: 11-02-2014 By: SAINTstunna


MID TERM ELECTION Last Blog: 10-29-2014 By: teddybarexxx


Old 12-11-2011, 07:37 PM   #22
In Doh We Trust
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,969
Blog Entries: 16
i wont say "no question" but...
homerj07 is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 07:43 PM   #23
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 11,894
Blog Entries: 44
As soon as we can find some video from youtube etc, would love to see it again. Anyone TiVo the game?
Halo is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:43 PM   #24
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 5,992
Blog Entries: 4
Danno is correct. Toe in but heel out equals "out of bounds" and the same goes for heel in, toe out.

BUT,

In this case, Jimmy Graham's knee was down before the toe hit. Should have been called a touchdown. Period.


saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:51 PM   #25
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,455
Blog Entries: 5
Yes but you can make a great catch with just your toes in bounds and your next complete foot or knee lands out of bounds its a catch. They make several of these highlights on ESPN weekly.

Another case this was a TD is that you DO NOT have to have both feet in bounds you can have a foot and a knee in which case its a TD they got it wrong by over looking his knee.
Euphoria is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:53 PM   #26
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 16,752
Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 View Post
Danno is correct. Toe in but heel out equals "out of bounds" and the same goes for heel in, toe out.

BUT,

In this case, Jimmy Graham's knee was down before the toe hit. Should have been called a touchdown. Period.


That pic is after his toe touched. The replay clearly showed his toe hit the line before his knee hit.
Danno is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:55 PM   #27
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,455
Blog Entries: 5
They explained the toe hitting one blade on white grass during the game and replay after replay... but his left foot and left knee let alone his ass where all in bounds before his toe when out of bounds...

A knee counts as a catch.
Euphoria is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:57 PM   #28
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in line with my ridiculous CLEAR PLASTIC BAG
Posts: 2,810
Blog Entries: 3
I dunno about this particular call, which I thought was a touchdown, but I said this elsewhere --I don't know who they were, but I think that this particular officiating crew today seemed really unprepared for the fast pace and envelope-pushing style of the modern pro football game...it was kinda like they were a bit "behind" the whole game, or couldn't handle it, including bad spots of the ball, phantom flags (picked up, "there is no foul on the play"), that weird false start on Drew, and on the field they seemed very confused about the TD play where the Titans QB held the ball over the pylon, etc. They just didn't seem like they could handle the pace and speed of the game. And kicking it to review is not going to overturn the call on the field unless it's totally conclusive, so there was a lot of stuff going on that was just kinda doubtful or seemed like they couldn't keep up with what was happening on the field. Calls on both sides, in fact.
SaintsBro is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:58 PM   #29
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 16,752
Originally Posted by Euphoria View Post
They explained the toe hitting one blade on white grass during the game and replay after replay... but his left foot and left knee let alone his ass where all in bounds before his toe when out of bounds...

A knee counts as a catch.
Yes it does, but the replay showed his toe touched BEFORE his knee touched.
Danno is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 09:15 PM   #30
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,863
As I saw it, his whole body was in first.
Tip of right foot? Barely if at all.
Knee down first. Whole body in. Keeping possession of ball the whole time.
OldMaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/38913-jimmy-graham-catch-somebody-please-explain.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Jimmy Graham catch somebody Please explain!!!! This thread Refback 12-11-2011 05:07 PM 5


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts