New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   Article: Atlanta Falcons Grabbing at Straws by Criticizing Drew Brees and Saints: Fan Opinion (http://blackandgold.com/saints/39456-atlanta-falcons-grabbing-straws-criticizing-drew-brees-saints-fan-opinion.html)

jlouhill 12-27-2011 02:47 PM

Atlanta Falcons Grabbing at Straws by Criticizing Drew Brees and Saints: Fan Opinion
 
1 Attachment(s)
The record-breaker was a nine-yard strike to Darren Sproles for a touchdown that gave the Saints the 45-16 lead by which they ended up winning. With Brees needing 30 yards for the record, and the Falcons failing to convert on 4th and 1 on their own 33-yard-line with 5:08 left to play, the Saints called five pass plays in the six total plays it took New Orleans to score. Thirty-two passing yards and a touchdown later, Brees had the record, and the Falcons started throwing their hissy fit.

"No need for that," a Falcons player told Pete Prisco of CBS Sports. "It came on our watch, but it didn't have to come that way. We won't forget it. That's just who they are. We'll see them down the road. We won't forget any of it."

The Falcons player's comments, the pouty faces of the Falcons coaches and players during the Saints' final drive, and Prisco's assessment that Brees' record is "tainted" all smacks of sour grapes to me.


The Saints' Motivation

I neither like or dislike the Saints or the Falcons. As is probably the case for many football fans, I tuned in to the "Monday Night Football" game simply because I wanted to see Brees break the record. I guarantee that those in attendance at the Superdome wanted to see Brees break the record, too....

As the game progressed and the record was within reach, why wouldn't the Saints try to break it in front of their home crowd on national television? Why not combine the celebration of the NFC South title with the one for breaking a long-standing record? Why leave all of those fans in attendance and tuned in to the television hanging, just 30 yards away from the record?

Bunch of cry babies.


Atlanta Falcons Grabbing at Straws by Criticizing Drew Brees and Saints: Fan Opinion - NFL - Yahoo! Sports

saintfan 12-27-2011 03:07 PM

Finally. A sports writer willing to leave his agenda at home.

arsaint 12-27-2011 03:29 PM

Excellent point in this article.

If the Falcons didn't want us "running up the score", punt the ball on 4th down and back us up to around our own 30 yard line ( assuming Sproles doesn't take it to the house :) ).

Then Brees can get 31 yards, break the record, and kneel the ball 3 times so the score stays the same and some unnamed Falcons defenders won't get their panties in a wad...

dizzle88 12-27-2011 03:30 PM

You can't tell me that If a record came up that hasn't been neared for 27 years and your 30 yards away every single NFL Team wouldn't have done the same as us

If you Are offended so much by us passing, why not make a better effort to stop him from completing passes instead of whining.
Just because shatty ice stalled

Halo 12-27-2011 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dizzle88 (Post 360480)
You can't tell me that If a record came up that hasn't been neared for 27 years and your 30 yards away every single NFL Team wouldn't have done the same as us

If you Are offended so much by us passing, why not make a better effort to stop him from completing passes instead of whining.
Just because shatty ice stalled

Journalists just try to create a drama about anything just to be different and get their name out there.

It's exactly like CNN/Fox News/MSNBC with national politics - the more controversial the better. None of it is necessarily true.

Believe me, Prisco's twitter account is on fire today. Honestly it's like he's trying steal the thunder from or ride the shirt tails of Drew and he's had his lunch eaten today for it.

SmashMouth 12-27-2011 04:02 PM

Refreshing article.... :)

saintfan 12-27-2011 04:05 PM

Don't want us to score? Punt the damn ball. I believe in my heart we would have shut it down after Brees got his yards.

B_Dub_Saint 12-27-2011 04:11 PM

I'm so glad he broke the record. I was in nola and it was epic! Ill never forget last night.

SaintPauly 12-27-2011 04:13 PM

I was at the game... It was an awesome night for sports.... We hate the falcons anyway, so who gives a rats arse how ticked off they are.... Wish we would have scored again....

Danno 12-27-2011 04:18 PM

I got a dose of reality for Falcons fans and players who feel we showed them "no respek" by going for the record late in the game...

Uhhh... we had no respect for you before this game ever started. Why should we have any at the end of the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com