New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion (http://blackandgold.com/saints/48477-espn-goes-too-far-latest-otl-story-new-orleans-saints-fans-opinion.html)

WhoDat!656 08-19-2012 01:35 PM

ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
In the 1988 World Series, MLB announcer Jack Buck famously said, "I don't believe what I just saw!" after an injured Kirk Gibson hit a walk-off home run. After watching another biased New Orleans Saints story on ESPN's OTL show, I find myself saying the same thing. But this time, John Barr, OTL, and ESPN have gone too far.

Outside the Lines

I remember when ESPN first started airing "Outside the Lines" decades ago. Originally, the concept was brilliant. ESPN aired a handful of primetime OTL shows per year investigating controversial sports stories. Unfortunately, OTL became a victim of its own success and now airs six original shows per week.

ESPN now has to go out and dig up stories to fill up these OTL shows with content. One example of this is when OTL reporter John Barr reported that Saints GM Mickey Loomis was wiretapping in the Superdome. New Orleans attorney Donald Foret said that Barr came to him looking for a negative story on the Saints.

ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion - Yahoo! Sports

|Mitch| 08-19-2012 01:39 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
This has to be borderline defamation... :rolleyes:

MistaBigXXL 08-19-2012 01:52 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
That's why I don't watch ESPN. BECAUSE IT'S GARBAGE. And the editor that let it come out IS GARBAGE. COME AFTER ME! I'M A MAN! I'M FORTY!

The Dude 08-19-2012 01:58 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
So what? Do they think there is a rule that says you cannot argue with the media? Is the media some all powerful supreme being? I remember when ESPN was just a sports network. They used to air sporting events and sporting events only. I can't believe they are so narcissistic that they think people don't have the right to challenge them and hold them accountable for the false reporting they do. ESPN reporting is nothing more than entertainment. It is not the real news and is not held to the same standards that real news channels are held. A reporter for CNN would get fired if they reported in the manner that some of these ESPN guys do. The sports media is owned by the NFL anyway and will report whatever is in the best interest for the NFL to make the most money. Not what is the truth.

saintsfan1976 08-19-2012 02:20 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
Dude, what "real news channel" are you referring to?

They all have agendas, sponsors and advertisers to appease..

alexonfyre 08-19-2012 03:03 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 (Post 429295)
Dude, what "real news channel" are you referring to?

They all have agendas, sponsors and advertisers to appease..

Yeah, but if they cause an FBI investigation on a fabrication, they would face repercussions, which ESPN and Barr seem to be immune from for some reason.

The Dude 08-19-2012 03:19 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 (Post 429295)
Dude, what "real news channel" are you referring to?

They all have agendas, sponsors and advertisers to appease..

I understand that, but they do it to a lesser extent than ESPN, If CNN came out and said so and so did this and it turned out that so and so didn't, they would at least air a retraction. They are definitely held to a higher standard and are the lesser of the two evils.

blackangold 08-19-2012 03:22 PM

Re: ESPN Goes Too Far on Latest OTL Story on New Orleans Saints: Fan's Opinion
 
This is defamation and should be dealt with by Tom Benson as so in civil court. However, Mr. Barr should be held accountable for falsifying a report that lead to federal and state investigations which cost the tax payers money.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com