New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   Article: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview (http://blackandgold.com/saints/48831-new-orleans-saints-2012-season-preview.html)

WhoDat!656 08-24-2012 06:13 PM

New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview
 
- You've got to wonder just what Sean Payton is thinking.

Deep in his Illinois-born and Bill Parcells-reared heart, does the New Orleans Saints head coach hope that his team will flourish -- or flounder -- in his absence during the 2012 NFL season?

The Saints' boss was shelved for an entire year by Commissioner Roger Goodell in the aftermath of the bounty scandal uncovered during the offseason that claimed New Orleans coaches were complicit with a system of monetary rewards for players making big hits and causing injuries.

A great season under interim coaches Joe Vitt and Aaron Kromer might take some of the luster off Payton's reputation as a dynamic wonder boy, while a mediocre slog through the schedule without him could enhance his aura.

The "problem" for the 48-year-old Payton, who played three "replacement" games with the Chicago Bears during the 1987 players strike, is that the Saints aren't likely to tumble far no matter who's barking out the orders.



Read more: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview | Fox News

alexonfyre 08-24-2012 07:07 PM

Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview
 
Everyone knows that we are where we are because Sean put us here, and while we can survive one season using his absence as motivation, the Saints would not be the same team if he were gone for good. I don't think there's any question SP is still our coach even if we win the Super Bowl again this year.

Utah_Saint 08-24-2012 09:24 PM

Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by WhoDat!656 (Post 431046)
- You've got to wonder just what Sean Payton is thinking.

Deep in his Illinois-born and Bill Parcells-reared heart, does the New Orleans Saints head coach hope that his team will flourish -- or flounder -- in his absence during the 2012 NFL season?

The Saints' boss was shelved for an entire year by Commissioner Roger Goodell in the aftermath of the bounty scandal uncovered during the offseason that claimed New Orleans coaches were complicit with a system of monetary rewards for players making big hits and causing injuries.

A great season under interim coaches Joe Vitt and Aaron Kromer might take some of the luster off Payton's reputation as a dynamic wonder boy, while a mediocre slog through the schedule without him could enhance his aura.

The "problem" for the 48-year-old Payton, who played three "replacement" games with the Chicago Bears during the 1987 players strike, is that the Saints aren't likely to tumble far no matter who's barking out the orders.



Read more: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview | Fox News

Hmmm.... I wonder if Payton is rooting for guys that he knows, as close as family, who are running the scheme that he designed, for the team he built?

Hmmm... I wonder.

Danno 08-25-2012 07:18 AM

Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Utah_Saint (Post 431102)
Hmmm.... I wonder if Payton is rooting for guys that he knows, as close as family, who are running the scheme that he designed, for the team he built?

Hmmm... I wonder.

So true. Payton created his "system" here. I'm pretty sure he's pulling for his guys he brought in to succeed.

I, as well as some others, feel this team is designed and built well enough to coast on auto-pilot for at least one year.

Yea, we may be in trouble if it was more than just 1 year, but for one season I think we'll survive. 10 wins minimum, 12 wins max.

I am a little more concerned with his absence from the playoffs however.

Supertek 08-25-2012 11:45 AM

Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview
 
You are right Danno. Uncharted territory for any team. I was really hoping they had something under their sleeves. I was on the bus for the Big Tuna or someone else particularly for the playoffs. I am optimistic but still think getting a man in here would have been the right move.

rcorvers 08-25-2012 04:18 PM

Saints Song/Video...Crank it up
 

homerj07 08-25-2012 10:19 PM

Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview
 
Will the hate we are getting push us through

Wilde18 08-25-2012 10:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rcorvers (Post 431273)

I love that video :)


Somewhere over the rainbow!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com