Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; - You've got to wonder just what Sean Payton is thinking. Deep in his Illinois-born and Bill Parcells-reared heart, does the New Orleans Saints head coach hope that his team will flourish -- or flounder -- in his absence during ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Danno

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2012, 06:13 PM   #1
Threaded by WhoDat!656
SaintsWillWin
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 9,474

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

- You've got to wonder just what Sean Payton is thinking.

Deep in his Illinois-born and Bill Parcells-reared heart, does the New Orleans Saints head coach hope that his team will flourish -- or flounder -- in his absence during the 2012 NFL season?

The Saints' boss was shelved for an entire year by Commissioner Roger Goodell in the aftermath of the bounty scandal uncovered during the offseason that claimed New Orleans coaches were complicit with a system of monetary rewards for players making big hits and causing injuries.

A great season under interim coaches Joe Vitt and Aaron Kromer might take some of the luster off Payton's reputation as a dynamic wonder boy, while a mediocre slog through the schedule without him could enhance his aura.

The "problem" for the 48-year-old Payton, who played three "replacement" games with the Chicago Bears during the 1987 players strike, is that the Saints aren't likely to tumble far no matter who's barking out the orders.



Read more: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview | Fox News

Last edited by papz; 08-24-2012 at 06:19 PM..
Views: 1119
Old 08-24-2012, 07:07 PM   #2
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Black Pearl University
Posts: 798
Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview

Everyone knows that we are where we are because Sean put us here, and while we can survive one season using his absence as motivation, the Saints would not be the same team if he were gone for good. I don't think there's any question SP is still our coach even if we win the Super Bowl again this year.
alexonfyre is offline  
Old 08-24-2012, 09:24 PM   #3
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 1,777
Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview

Originally Posted by WhoDat!656 View Post
- You've got to wonder just what Sean Payton is thinking.

Deep in his Illinois-born and Bill Parcells-reared heart, does the New Orleans Saints head coach hope that his team will flourish -- or flounder -- in his absence during the 2012 NFL season?

The Saints' boss was shelved for an entire year by Commissioner Roger Goodell in the aftermath of the bounty scandal uncovered during the offseason that claimed New Orleans coaches were complicit with a system of monetary rewards for players making big hits and causing injuries.

A great season under interim coaches Joe Vitt and Aaron Kromer might take some of the luster off Payton's reputation as a dynamic wonder boy, while a mediocre slog through the schedule without him could enhance his aura.

The "problem" for the 48-year-old Payton, who played three "replacement" games with the Chicago Bears during the 1987 players strike, is that the Saints aren't likely to tumble far no matter who's barking out the orders.



Read more: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview | Fox News
Hmmm.... I wonder if Payton is rooting for guys that he knows, as close as family, who are running the scheme that he designed, for the team he built?

Hmmm... I wonder.
Utah_Saint is online now  
Old 08-25-2012, 07:18 AM   #4
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,273
Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview

Originally Posted by Utah_Saint View Post
Hmmm.... I wonder if Payton is rooting for guys that he knows, as close as family, who are running the scheme that he designed, for the team he built?

Hmmm... I wonder.
So true. Payton created his "system" here. I'm pretty sure he's pulling for his guys he brought in to succeed.

I, as well as some others, feel this team is designed and built well enough to coast on auto-pilot for at least one year.

Yea, we may be in trouble if it was more than just 1 year, but for one season I think we'll survive. 10 wins minimum, 12 wins max.

I am a little more concerned with his absence from the playoffs however.
Utah_Saint likes this.
Danno is offline  
Old 08-25-2012, 11:45 AM   #5
100th Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harvey La.
Posts: 443
Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview

You are right Danno. Uncharted territory for any team. I was really hoping they had something under their sleeves. I was on the bus for the Big Tuna or someone else particularly for the playoffs. I am optimistic but still think getting a man in here would have been the right move.
Supertek is offline  
Old 08-25-2012, 04:18 PM   #6
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Blog Entries: 1
Saints Song/Video...Crank it up

rcorvers is offline  
Old 08-25-2012, 10:19 PM   #7
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,724
Blog Entries: 16
Re: New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview

Will the hate we are getting push us through
homerj07 is offline  
Old 08-25-2012, 10:25 PM   #8
GERMAN WHO DAT!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
Posts: 301
Originally Posted by rcorvers View Post
I love that video


Somewhere over the rainbow!
Wilde18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/48831-new-orleans-saints-2012-season-preview.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
New Orleans Saints 2012 Season Preview This thread Refback 08-24-2012 07:26 PM 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts