New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   NOS.com: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers (http://blackandgold.com/saints/51715-steve-spagnuolo-reviews-defensive-performance-against-chargers.html)

papz 10-08-2012 07:18 PM

Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
1 Attachment(s)
Opening Statement: 的値l just open up real quick and then I値l let you fire away. I知 certainly happy for the team. I知 very happy for Aaron Kromer and the job he痴 been doing. There痴 nothing better than getting your first win as a head coach. I知 proud of the way the defense played, certainly the way they rose up in the second (half). I was proud of what they did there. They stuck with it. I didn稚 think it was always pretty in the way we did it. There were too many big plays, but we were able to overcome those explosive plays against us by creating some negative plays of our own. We had I think two tackles for losses, the five sacks helped and then certainly the turnover. When you can negate some of the issues you have early that certainly helps. I want to enjoy the win, but I think we all realize, certainly as coaches we do and we値l be talking with the players here in a little bit, that we still have a long way to go defensively, so we値l focus on what it is that we need to correct. Having said that, I値l open it up.

You mentioned being able to create those turnovers. This game, you seemed to be able to create those big plays more consistently. Can you talk about that?

的 think it was a combination of a couple of scheme things, the effort on the part of the players, certainly the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that and we were trying to cover on the back end, the combination of all of that. There was what we would probably term one or two coverage sacks in there, certainly one of the earlier ones. That痴 a credit to the secondary and the secondary coaches. That makes a huge difference. We want to eliminate the explosive plays that we gave them, but if that happens, you have to negate them.

Continue reading

CharityMike 10-08-2012 07:43 PM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
"Does it help Corey White knowing that a lot of the guys playing alongside of him have been in shoes recently as younger players still developing?"

“Yes, and I’m sure they’re helping him. There’s nothing better in this league than veteran help, not that Johnny (Patrick) and Patrick (Robinson) are ready to be declared veterans, but you have Roman (Harper) out there and you have Malcolm (Jenkins). Both those guys are always in their ears with confidence.

Explains a lot :roll:

|Mitch| 10-08-2012 07:53 PM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Being a 5th round rookie, he was never meant to see extensive playing time his first year.

Injuries have forced him into that role and he is only doing the best he can...

Boutte 10-08-2012 08:17 PM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CharityMike (Post 447666)
"Does it help Corey White knowing that a lot of the guys playing alongside of him have been in shoes recently as younger players still developing?"

添es, and I知 sure they池e helping him. There痴 nothing better in this league than veteran help, not that Johnny (Patrick) and Patrick (Robinson) are ready to be declared veterans, but you have Roman (Harper) out there and you have Malcolm (Jenkins). Both those guys are always in their ears with confidence.

Explains a lot :roll:

This poor guy must have nightmares. By the end of his rookie year he'll either be tough as leather or scarred for life.

QBREES9 10-08-2012 11:51 PM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by |Mitch| (Post 447672)
Being a 5th round rookie, he was never meant to see extensive playing time his first year.

Injuries have forced him into that role and he is only doing the best he can...

And thats the truth.

TheOak 10-09-2012 08:23 AM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Boutte (Post 447676)
This poor guy must have nightmares. By the end of his rookie year he'll either be tough as leather or scarred for life.

Real leather bears scars.

Mardigras9 10-09-2012 10:14 AM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Boutte (Post 447676)
This poor guy must have nightmares. By the end of his rookie year he'll either be tough as leather or scarred for life.

No doubt.

TheOak 10-09-2012 10:36 AM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?

CharityMike 10-09-2012 10:41 AM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by x626xBlack (Post 447850)
"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?

LOL.. it's like..ummmm don't we need them to do it all game? Would be nice!

Budsdrinker 10-09-2012 10:58 AM

Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by x626xBlack (Post 447850)
"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?

Did you notice who was playing? We had 4 DE's in the game. Smith and Jordan inside with Gallete and Wilson on the outside. That is a great lineup for passing downs, not sure on running downs though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com