Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Opening Statement: 的値l just open up real quick and then I値l let you fire away. I知 certainly happy for the team. I知 very happy for Aaron Kromer and the job he痴 been doing. There痴 nothing better than getting your first ...

Like Tree9Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
Threaded by papz
Retired
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,615

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Opening Statement: 的値l just open up real quick and then I値l let you fire away. I知 certainly happy for the team. I知 very happy for Aaron Kromer and the job he痴 been doing. There痴 nothing better than getting your first win as a head coach. I知 proud of the way the defense played, certainly the way they rose up in the second (half). I was proud of what they did there. They stuck with it. I didn稚 think it was always pretty in the way we did it. There were too many big plays, but we were able to overcome those explosive plays against us by creating some negative plays of our own. We had I think two tackles for losses, the five sacks helped and then certainly the turnover. When you can negate some of the issues you have early that certainly helps. I want to enjoy the win, but I think we all realize, certainly as coaches we do and we値l be talking with the players here in a little bit, that we still have a long way to go defensively, so we値l focus on what it is that we need to correct. Having said that, I値l open it up.

You mentioned being able to create those turnovers. This game, you seemed to be able to create those big plays more consistently. Can you talk about that?

的 think it was a combination of a couple of scheme things, the effort on the part of the players, certainly the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that and we were trying to cover on the back end, the combination of all of that. There was what we would probably term one or two coverage sacks in there, certainly one of the earlier ones. That痴 a credit to the secondary and the secondary coaches. That makes a huge difference. We want to eliminate the explosive plays that we gave them, but if that happens, you have to negate them.

Continue reading

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sir saint2.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	30.8 KB
ID:	5476  

Views: 2322
Latest Blogs
REFUND Last Blog: 12-07-2014 By: xan




Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


Old 10-08-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
"Do Your Job!!"
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mid City, New Orleans
Posts: 1,796
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

"Does it help Corey White knowing that a lot of the guys playing alongside of him have been in shoes recently as younger players still developing?"

“Yes, and I’m sure they’re helping him. There’s nothing better in this league than veteran help, not that Johnny (Patrick) and Patrick (Robinson) are ready to be declared veterans, but you have Roman (Harper) out there and you have Malcolm (Jenkins). Both those guys are always in their ears with confidence.

Explains a lot
CharityMike is offline  
Old 10-08-2012, 07:53 PM   #3
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 8,088
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Being a 5th round rookie, he was never meant to see extensive playing time his first year.

Injuries have forced him into that role and he is only doing the best he can...
|Mitch| is offline  
Old 10-08-2012, 08:17 PM   #4
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belle Chasse
Posts: 1,581
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by CharityMike View Post
"Does it help Corey White knowing that a lot of the guys playing alongside of him have been in shoes recently as younger players still developing?"

添es, and I知 sure they池e helping him. There痴 nothing better in this league than veteran help, not that Johnny (Patrick) and Patrick (Robinson) are ready to be declared veterans, but you have Roman (Harper) out there and you have Malcolm (Jenkins). Both those guys are always in their ears with confidence.

Explains a lot
This poor guy must have nightmares. By the end of his rookie year he'll either be tough as leather or scarred for life.
Boutte is offline  
Old 10-08-2012, 11:51 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Haven Ct
Posts: 18,900
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by |Mitch| View Post
Being a 5th round rookie, he was never meant to see extensive playing time his first year.

Injuries have forced him into that role and he is only doing the best he can...
And thats the truth.
QBREES9 is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 08:23 AM   #6
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by Boutte View Post
This poor guy must have nightmares. By the end of his rookie year he'll either be tough as leather or scarred for life.
Real leather bears scars.
Rell&Gold likes this.
TheOak is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 10:14 AM   #7
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Land Mass between LA and AL
Posts: 3,782
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by Boutte View Post
This poor guy must have nightmares. By the end of his rookie year he'll either be tough as leather or scarred for life.
No doubt.
Mardigras9 is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 10:36 AM   #8
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?
Rell&Gold likes this.
TheOak is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 10:41 AM   #9
"Do Your Job!!"
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mid City, New Orleans
Posts: 1,796
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by x626xBlack View Post
"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?
LOL.. it's like..ummmm don't we need them to do it all game? Would be nice!
TheOak likes this.
CharityMike is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 10:58 AM   #10
A Cajun Transforming TX
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 2,307
Re: Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers

Originally Posted by x626xBlack View Post
"the front four at the end there getting to the quarterback when we really needed them to do that"

Could we possibly REALLY NEED them to do that more often?
Did you notice who was playing? We had 4 DE's in the game. Smith and Jordan inside with Gallete and Wilson on the outside. That is a great lineup for passing downs, not sure on running downs though.
Budsdrinker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/51715-steve-spagnuolo-reviews-defensive-performance-against-chargers.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 10-08-2012 09:05 PM 1
Steve Spagnuolo Reviews Defensive Performance Against Chargers This thread Refback 10-08-2012 07:37 PM 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts