New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   NOS.com: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup (http://blackandgold.com/saints/52659-atlanta-falcons-head-coach-mike-smith-quarterback-matt-ryan-preview-sundays-matchup.html)

papz 11-07-2012 05:53 PM

Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
1 Attachment(s)
What were your thoughts about losing Curtis Lofton to the Saints? How did that affect your team’s defense?

“Curtis was an integral part to our success in our first four years here. The way that the league is set up, with free agency and everything, you’d like to be able to sign all of your players back but it’s just not possible. Curtis had been a leader for us and had done a very good job. Unfortunately, the way that the league is set up, guys are going to change teams. I miss Curtis. Curtis is a great man. He was a big part of the success that we had in our first four years. Unfortunately now we are on the opposite sides of the sideline.”

Does it hurt more that he went to the Saints instead of another team?

“No it doesn’t. In terms of free agency, those are decisions that the player has to make. We have no control over that. The decisions that the player makes is what he feels is best for him and his career.”

With the Saints, is he doing what you expected him to do?

“He’s still a tackling machine. You see that every week. Probably 90% of the games that have been played this year, he is probably the leading tackler. That was a trait that he had here, he was a very active player on defense.”

How helpful has Todd McClure been for Matt Ryan and his development? How about for you?

“Everybody talks about the quarterback- wide receiver relationship and what’s often overlooked is the center- quarterback relationship because depending on how you’re identifying defensive fronts, sometimes it’s on the quarterback and sometimes it’s on the center in different schemes. Sometimes it’s on both guys and they have to be seeing it out of the same eyes. Todd has seen a lot of different fronts and a lot of different looks. Especially early on, I think he was a calming influence on Matt. Matt has played a lot of football games, he is in his fifth year, and his maturation process is probably as fast as any quarterback that has ever played.”

Read more: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup

iWho_Dat 11-07-2012 06:09 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
"How does it feel that the saints have had y'all's number?"

ATL head coach mike smith. "It sucks. 8-1 is not going to be a good feeling. But we have to accept it and see how we can improve as a team and pray to God we don't see them in the playoffs... But I doubt we get passed our first home game in the playoffs. But we had a good run until we ran into the saints"

CharityMike 11-07-2012 06:20 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
How does it feel to know you are known around New Orleans as "Skid britches"

Matt Ryan: What!! Damn...I ate some chili enchiladas and they didn't sit well. I didn't think anyone noticed the stain. I'm so embarrassed :moon:

iWho_Dat 11-07-2012 06:50 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
How does it feel to know that Brees is so much better than you'll ever be?

Matt Ryan "I know I know watching him makes me feel so belittled its a wonder we even have a fan base if I had a fraction of his skills we may would have scored 5 points in that playoff game."

ScottF 11-07-2012 06:55 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
I remember when Atlanta interviewed 5 guys before 6th-choice Smith finally said yes. Can't believe he lasted this long
Other than games against us, the guy actually has a great record.
Don't get me wrong- he's a crappy game coach and is also always seconds away from blowing up, but his record is good.

Jamessr 11-07-2012 07:47 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
I hope the defense shows up. If Atlanta steams rolls us in the Dome wait for it...
The next day they'll be crowned Super Bowl Champs. FFS they're already saying Matt Ryan is MVP material...

Halo 11-07-2012 08:11 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
I read this scandalous thread exposing the Falcons, Smith, PoopBritches and all - BIG Scandal in Falcon Nation

WhoDat!656 11-07-2012 08:13 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
The falcAints and their knuckle-dragging,dog-food eating fans are STILL mad at the Saints for breaking Marino's passing record against them last year on MNF!

They say that we put Brees back in the game when the Saints were going to win JUST to break the record! They forget to mention that they went for 4th & whatever around the 20-yd line, which was also the amount of yards that Brees needed; instead of punting the ball!

Falcons Still Remember Drew Brees Insult
On average, Atlanta's rivalry with New Orleans is a bitter one. But after two incidents in the last few years—Drew Brees re-entering a game to break the passing yards record, and dancing on the Falcon logo on MNF—the Saints have given the Falcons more reasons than usual to dislike them. This could add some fuel to the fire next Sunday and several weeks down the road, when New Orleans visits the Georgia Dome on Thursday Night Football.


Falcons Flyover: November 6, 2012 - The Falcoholic

Rugby Saint II 11-08-2012 01:50 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
Meg Ryan better drink a lot of Pepto Bismol......he's going to get a case of the squirts.

saintsfan1976 11-08-2012 08:47 PM

Re: Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith, Quarterback Matt Ryan Preview Sunday's Matchup
 
Funny they dwell on Brees record and not the last 10 of 12 games we crushed their dreams.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com