Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; How about this? If that dude's girlfriend had a handgun, maybe she's still alive today....

Like Tree60Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 01:42 PM   #11
Mmm That Smell!
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Bucktown Brah!
Posts: 2,374
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

How about this?

If that dude's girlfriend had a handgun, maybe she's still alive today.
RockyMountainSaint is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 01:44 PM   #12
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,468
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Originally Posted by RockyMountainSaint View Post
How about this?

If that dude's girlfriend had a handgun, maybe she's still alive today.
And if they banned NFL Football, that girl is probably alive today.
RockyMountainSaint likes this.
Danno is online now  
Old 12-04-2012, 02:38 PM   #13
A Cajun Transforming TX
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 2,265
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Originally Posted by foreverfan View Post
Face it... Obama reminds me of Aaron Brooks.
No Way, I actually cheered for Aaron Brooks once!
Budsdrinker is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 02:51 PM   #14
Site Donor 2014
Kansas Who Dat
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 371
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Originally Posted by RockyMountainSaint View Post
How about this?

If that dude's girlfriend had a handgun, maybe she's still alive today.
There were several legal guns in the house.
Makes me wonder how it would have turned out if she had one of them in her hand at the same time.
RockyMountainSaint likes this.
kcsaints is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 04:00 PM   #15
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,754
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Bob Costas, whether he is a Liberal or Conservative, whatever these terms mean, doesn't matter.
No one is taking guns away from anyone.
No one is taking guns away from anyone who wants one and needs one and can handle one and no one is taking guns away from those who don't need one and can't handle one.
I think we all can say , even Bob Costas, that we all believe in gun control.
Gun control to me is being of age, licensed, waiting period to own a gun.
Nothing more, nothing less and nothing more nor less needs to in gun control.
Bob Costas, I bet you owns a gun. Ok, you try to break in his multimillion dollar NYC apartment I promise you his armed building's security will blast you away.
I bet you try to approach Bob Costas at a game and see how long before his armed persoanl bodguards have on the ground with gun pointed. Your funeral.
The gun control issue is just a bandaid and we in this country like to bandaid the truth.
Costas did not say the truth which in this case was due to:
immaturity, lifestyle choices and behaviors, an enormous amount of temporary money someone has who cannot handle it, financial issues, and more.
Costas did not say the truth here and that the NFL Player's Union, agents, teams, inhouse, etc. have to handle these situations before they start.

Tragic that many people are left for a while thinking what if...did they know...could have done something different... Tragic for the team, KC fans, ( and we thought we Saints ' fans here had problems) the infant, the coaching staff who saw this, people who work at Arrowhead Stadium.
This was not case of DV, Domestic Violence.

If Costas had said, he is a member of NRA and believes in gun ownership and that he wants to make it perfectly clear, this case should not and cannot be used as a tool for the anti-gun supporters.
Would ya'll have A-Ok with that?
Be honest?

When it comes to politics these days, people are too far Left and crazy and too far Right and crazy.
Rights and beliefs seem only right if it is what one believes but one doesn't want the next fellow to have his/her rights or beliefs.
In my opinion....
If you want a gun, get a gun.
If you want an abortion, get an abortion.
If you want to eat meat, wear fur, and leather, then eat meat, wear fur, and leather.

Costas being political on the half time show , nah. Save it for the news.
I can get with that.
Bob Costas went political or out of order I thought during the Olympics. It was the girls' gymnastics . It took a bit away from their great win.
Costas gun control comments did not bother me as much.
I did not hear his show.
OldMaid is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 04:27 PM   #16
11-5
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,568
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Hey Costas, keep your politics out of my football
RockyMountainSaint likes this.
RaginCajun83 is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 05:34 PM   #17
Mmm That Smell!
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Bucktown Brah!
Posts: 2,374
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Costas was on The Dan Patrick Show this morning, "clarifying" his remarks.

My favorite portion is when he says that he made a mistake by giving the audience too much credit in assuming we would be smart enough to interpret his statements correctly.
Gee Bob, guess you should dumb it down for we Rednecks who don't speak fluent Liberal.......
Bob Costas clarifies remarks from Sunday Night Football | The Dan Patrick Show | Official Home
RockyMountainSaint is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 06:17 PM   #18
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,038
Blog Entries: 2
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Originally Posted by RockyMountainSaint View Post
Costas was on The Dan Patrick Show this morning, "clarifying" his remarks.

My favorite portion is when he says that he made a mistake by giving the audience to much credit in assuming we would be smart enough to interpret his statements.
Gee Bob, guess you should dumb it down for we Rednecks who don't speak fluent Liberal.......
Bob Costas clarifies remarks from Sunday Night Football | The Dan Patrick Show | Official Home
Man, what an unbelievably self absorbed punk he is. I think we all understood him perfectly clear. He must be a total moron if he thinks we're dumb enough to fall for his "clarification".
burningmetal is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 06:23 PM   #19
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,468
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

Originally Posted by burningmetal View Post
Man, what an unbelievably self absorbed punk he is. I think we all understood him perfectly clear. He must be a total moron if he thinks we're dumb enough to fall for his "clarification".
Typical liberal elitist using their celebrity to push their extremist left wing agenda.

What a clown. I have no doubt who that moron voted for.
Danno is online now  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:54 PM   #20
Mmm That Smell!
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Bucktown Brah!
Posts: 2,374
Re: Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate

I love Dan Patrick and dvr his show every day.
He is beholden to no one and his show is amazing for that. Since he left "The Mothership" (espn), he's forged his own path.

He has made no secret of his admiration of Costas prior to Sun night.
Patrick called out Costas and then invited him on the show to rebut if he wanted to. btw, he does this with everyone he talks about.
Dan asked some very poignant, hard questions of Costas.

Kudos to Dan Patrick. If you don't catch his show? I highly recommend it.
SloMotion likes this.
RockyMountainSaint is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/53444-keeping-football-political-agenda-opinion-separate.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Keeping Football and Political agenda-opinion separate This thread Refback 12-03-2012 08:07 PM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts