New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/58773-football-gameplans-2013-nfl-team-preview-saints.html)

FootballCEO 07-04-2013 02:16 PM

Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 

Happy 4th of July B&G! Here's my season preview for the Saints!

Em

AsylumGuido 07-04-2013 09:36 PM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Excellent job! The only comment that I can add is on the secondary. Do not forget they were forced to play zone last season and will be returning to man coverage this season. There were several occasions last year when they were confused in coverage and left receivers wide open. They were not beaten because of lack of talent, but lack of understanding of the complex scheme. Man coverage is more dependent upon skill.

FootballCEO 07-05-2013 05:53 AM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AsylumGuido (Post 510324)
Excellent job! The only comment that I can add is on the secondary. Do not forget they were forced to play zone last season and will be returning to man coverage this season. There were several occasions last year when they were confused in coverage and left receivers wide open. They were not beaten because of lack of talent, but lack of understanding of the complex scheme. Man coverage is more dependent upon skill.

Thanks Asylum! I don't think Patrick Robinson had any excuse last season...he was just straight hot steamy garbage juice.

|Mitch| 07-05-2013 10:46 AM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Finally got around to watching... Got to say I like your prediction Emory! :saintsfan:

FootballCEO 07-05-2013 09:14 PM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by |Mitch| (Post 510340)
Finally got around to watching... Got to say I like your prediction Emory! :saintsfan:

Thanks Mitch! Its gonna be a good one!

FinSaint 07-06-2013 08:01 AM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Excellent job Emory... like always! :-)


I really enjoyed your analysis even though I did disagree with some of your points, but that's always to be expected with such an in-depth and lengthy analysis.

I don't want to start nitpicking since it was a good piece, but I'd just like to point out that you forgot to mention Marcel Jones when you were talking about the RT position. I think Jones will be the Saints' starting RT at the end of this season or next season at the latest. He has all the intangibles to be a dominating RT and he showed some really nice talent in the preseason before being forced into the IR with a season ending injury. Mike Mayock said that Jones could become an upper tier RT in the league, but that he just was (is?) really raw when it came to his understanding of how to play the position successfully. Now, it could be that losing Kromer will have an negative impact on how Jones will develop from a coaching standpoint, but I'm not entirely convinced that Kromer was the only reason why the Saints have been able to develop upper tier O-linemen from seemingly middle- to low round talent.

westbankdaze 07-06-2013 08:23 AM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Love these analyses!

I agree almost entirely with the breakdown. Not sure about winning the south though - Sjax scares the crap out of me.

dizzle88 07-06-2013 08:55 AM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Great breakdown

The only part I would disagree with is where it says "big fan of garrett hartley"

He did amazing in 2009 and has been average ever since (much like tracy porter)

Misses important kicks and always has a deer in the headlights look, then relief when the ball actually goes between the posts

Rugby Saint II 07-07-2013 05:12 PM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
Your insight is spot on. Besides liking Hartley I agree with you.
It almost sounds like this article was written from a fans perspective. :smile:
Good job as always. Who Dat!

saintfan 07-09-2013 03:54 PM

Re: Football Gameplan's 2013 NFL Team Preview - Saints
 
You have us winning the division. What's to argue? :-)

Nicely done as always sir, and you've slowed the pace a bit which I always harped on you for. ESPN should just get your videos and loop them - there's a lot of good info in there.

:bng:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com