New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   NOS.com: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle (http://blackandgold.com/saints/58796-training-camp-preview-backup-qb-battle.html)

Halo 07-08-2013 09:04 AM

Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
1 Attachment(s)
For the past three seasons, quarterback Chase Daniel had served as Drew Brees’ backup. With Daniel signing with Kansas City in free agency, three signal callers acquired this offseason look to fill the role – veterans Seneca Wallace, Luke McCown and rookie Ryan Griffin.

Both McCown and Griffin are familiar with the Saints system. McCown spent two months on the Saints roster last offseason and Griffin played for Tulane Coach Curtis Johnson, who runs an offense he learned from Sean Payton during his tenure as New Orleans Saints wide receivers coach.

Entering his 10th NFL season, McCown comes to New Orleans from Atlanta where he backed up Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan in 2012 after spending training camp with the Saints. He was originally a fourth round selection (106th overall) in the 2004 NFL Draft by the Cleveland Browns. The former Louisiana Tech standout has played in 22 career games with nine starts with the Browns, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the Jacksonville Jaguars and the Falcons. He has completed 184 of 316 passes for 2,035 yards with nine touchdowns and a 68.5 passer rating.

Griffin was a four-year starter for the Green Wave and appeared in 42 games with 39 starts, completing 836 of 1,396 passes for 9,026 yards, 79 touchdowns and 35 interceptions. He set Tulane career marks in attempts, completions and completion percentage, finishing ranked second in passing yards, passing yards per game (214.9), attempts per game, completions per game, and 300-yard passing games (10).

Wallace is a nine-year veteran who joined the Saints at the start of the club’s 2013 offseason conditioning program. He has appeared in 62 games with 21 starts during his NFL career, completing 452 of 764 passes for 4,808 yards with 31 touchdowns, 18 interceptions and an 84.5 passer rating. Also a threat with his legs, Wallace has carried 68 times for 293 yards with one touchdown run during his tenure with both the Seattle Seahawks and Cleveland Browns.

Quotes on the backup QB position:
Sean Payton on the backup QB battle (June 4, 2013):

Quote:

“Obviously, Ryan Griffin is the young guy from Tulane and then the two other players have both seen snaps in our league and have experience, Seneca Wallace and Luke McCown. I am anxious to see them progress through the offense. They are both picking things up well. Luke has been here before and (this is) Seneca’s first time, but so far they have handled it well.”
25 Reasons to Get Excited about 2013 Saints Training Camp: No. 19 Backup QB Battle

rezburna 07-08-2013 09:32 AM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
I hope Seneca wins the battle. He's definitely the better of he and McCown.

Danno 07-08-2013 09:39 AM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
I don't think it matters. Both Wallace and McCown can hold down the fort for a few games if Drew gets dinged, but anything over 4 or 5 games and we're in trouble.

Both are capable back-ups and come at the right price. Its a coin toss to me.

I think Griffin is a perfect PS guy for 1 or 2 seasons then we'll have our back-up for another 2 or 3 years.

rezburna 07-08-2013 09:44 AM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Danno (Post 510480)
I don't think it matters. Both Wallace and McCown can hold down the fort for a few games if Drew gets dinged, but anything over 4 or 5 games and we're in trouble.

Both are capable back-ups and come at the right price. Its a coin toss to me.

I think Griffin is a perfect PS guy for 1 or 2 seasons then we'll have our back-up for another 2 or 3 years.

I've always been a fan of Seneca. I often wonder if he couldve been a productive starter for the right team.

halloween 65 07-08-2013 11:31 AM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
I think if Brees gets dinged I would like to see what the rookie could do. Baptism by fire. Could be a pleasant surprise.

Seer1 07-08-2013 01:49 PM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by halloween 65 (Post 510489)
I think if Brees gets dinged I would like to see what the rookie could do. Baptism by fire. Could be a pleasant surprise.

I was thinking the same thing. We've seen McClown. While a fan of Wallace, I don't think the Saints are built to his specs. Get the rookie up to speed and he could be our next standard bearer.


Just hoping not in the foreseeable future...

gulfgambler 07-08-2013 01:57 PM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
None of these guys will be able to offset what the defense allows. Hoping we may find someone on waivers by end of preseason.

hagan714 07-09-2013 04:28 AM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Danno (Post 510480)
I don't think it matters. Both Wallace and McCown can hold down the fort for a few games if Drew gets dinged, but anything over 4 or 5 games and we're in trouble.

Both are capable back-ups and come at the right price. Its a coin toss to me.

I think Griffin is a perfect PS guy for 1 or 2 seasons then we'll have our back-up for another 2 or 3 years.

Agreed. I give Wallace the edge on ball security history. I give luke the edge on toughness

SmashMouth 07-09-2013 09:30 PM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gulfgambler (Post 510508)
None of these guys will be able to offset what the defense allows. Hoping we may find someone on waivers by end of preseason.

You just might be right... If my recollection is accurate, that's how we got Chase.

Rugby Saint II 07-10-2013 04:07 PM

Re: Training Camp Preview: Backup QB Battle
 
I'm afraid that we would lose Griffin if he gets much playing time and does well enough to make the PS. Didn't we get dlp from someone else's PS?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com