Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; First off, hello Saints fans.........I'm a Redskins fan and I just wanted to ask your opinion of Aaron Brooks as I have got into a few arguments with a Saints fan or two recently over him. I'm not here to ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2004, 10:59 AM   #1
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

First off, hello Saints fans.........I'm a Redskins fan and I just wanted to ask your opinion of Aaron Brooks as I have got into a few arguments with a Saints fan or two recently over him.

I'm not here to flame (My teams play recently hardly gives me the right to. lol)

Anyway, I think Brooks is a good QB, he has a gun of an arm and great mobility BUT, I do not think he is one of the top QB's in the game, ie, a pro bowl type player, I think he lacks leadership skills at times and although he can put up nice stats, he makes mistakes at key times.

I know the Saints have more problems than just Brooks, and he has proved in the past he can do it on his day (ie, your play-off win a few years ago) but I think he is a solid starter rather than a soon to be Pro Bowler.

Any of you guys think he goes the Pro Bowl this year..........am I way of base?
Chrisbob is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:39 AM   #2
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 1,367
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

I think he lacks leadership skills at times and although he can put up nice stats, he makes mistakes at key times.
Had you left off the \"at times\" you would have had a complete and truthful summmation. F the Pro Bowl........ Would these key times for mistakes you refer to, have anything to do with a recent momentum breaking fumble at or near the goal line? :bandhead:

[Edited on 5/10/2004 by subguy]
subguy is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:47 AM   #3
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,469
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

I think AB has proven that he can single handedly win any game.
He can also lose it to anyone.

When he\'s on, there are very few better QB\'s in this league.
When he\'s off, he can be REAL ugly.
Danno is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 01:07 PM   #4
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NORTH LOUISIANA
Posts: 20
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

I THINK BROOKS IS A GOOD QB.HE DOES MAKE MISTAKES NOW AND THEN,BUT ALL QB\'S DO.IT\'S ALSO SAID HE LACKS CONSISTENCY.HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSED TO STAY CONSISTENT WHEN YOU RECEIVERS ARE DROPPING 8-10 PASSES A GAME AND YOUR O LINE IS COMMITING PENALTYS THAT DROP YOU BACK TO YOUR GOAL LINE EVERY DRIVE?
2SAINTS04 is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 01:44 PM   #5
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,762
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

I think he is a solid starter rather than a soon to be Pro Bowler.
A pretty fair evaluation. I\'d sum him up like this; he\'s a sandlot player.
BrooksMustGo is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 02:24 PM   #6
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,020
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

just wanted to ask your opinion of Aaron Brooks
Could be a Pro Bowler for the Raiders in their system .

He is a nightmare in the Power West Coast System .

The deep threat opens the field for his strong arm underneath routes , which usually explains why his come from behind victories are high . Defenses drop back looking not to give up the deep ball and Brooks threads the underneath stuff .

saintz08 is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:09 PM   #7
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

Hello to all of you! I have my own assessments of \"AB\" I feel that he is a good qb. I also think that he can make some serious mistakes at key times in the game,ie, the fumble on the one yard line. However, I do respect that he stepped up and took full responsibliity of that. I do not think that he is the sole reason for the loss against the cards. It seems unfortunate that he has to take the blame for the whole team. I do agree that the receivers seem to be dropping a heck of a lot of balls lately. But all in all, I think when the entire offense is on the same page they can be deadly. Aaron Brooks included.
ozarkfan is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:22 PM   #8
100th Post
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 125
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

I am suprised at the negativity in this forum. I have been following the Brooks/Haslett Saints as well, admittedly Aaron has lacked passion and purpose at crucial times. However all 4 games this year have shown a renewed concentration on winning. The real fault methinks is that he lacks charisma, but the mechanics are exemplary,and his decision making is Pro-bowl caliber(this year anyway). I wish he had mature, focused, professionals to work with around him. Boo cost the momentum to swing opening weekend, and Stecker/Stallworth were the real culprits on sunday. Horn is a distraction, sure he looks good, but the price on offensive unity goes much deeper than the media portrays. If Deuce can get back before the imminent mutiny, then we might still have playoffs to look forward to. That is if the Linebackers can show a modicum of discipline and/or intelligence. They say Haslett
was a linebacker? look at the current crop of clowns that embarass thamselves routinely, Hodge coming back this week might help.

Flying in from Canada to see the Dolphins game

Will it be a Carnival or a Circus?
johnnythesaint is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:32 PM   #9
Kinder, gentler
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: dirty south
Posts: 3,889
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

I am suprised at the negativity in this forum.
Seriously???
BlackandBlue is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:42 PM   #10
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 1,367
Your opinions of Aaron Brooks

\"Mistakes\" are excusable.......poor judgement and lack of leadership however are not. You are correct he has no control if a ball hits a receiver in the hands and they drop it. Ridiculous drop pass stats. His lack of leadership came out in his post game interview. I think the \"squirmishes\" also show that his fellow teammates show little respect for his ability to LEAD this team. Skills have never been an issue with me........decision making,leadership are his biggest issues.

[Edited on 5/10/2004 by subguy]
subguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts