Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Sean Payton's Monday Review

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; New Orleans Saints Head Coach Sean Payton Conference Call with Local Media Monday, December 9, 2013 There was a play in the game where you had a penalty in your favor from Carolina and you chose to accept the play ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Threaded by papz
Retired
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,627

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

New Orleans Saints Head Coach Sean Payton
Conference Call with Local Media
Monday, December 9, 2013

There was a play in the game where you had a penalty in your favor from Carolina and you chose to accept the play instead of taking the first down, was it just a matter of liking the play you just had?

“Yeah, I am trying to think. I remember the call and I saw it from a spot standpoint with the yardage we ended up taking rather than the first and five. You can go back and forth. I think typically we would accept the flag and back up a little bit as opposed to the three yard difference. We ended up having to punt on that series. I know the sequence you are talking about.”

Is it nice to be back on a normal schedule this week?

“Yes, I think our players look forward to it. I know we do from a preparation standpoint. Today we will spend a good majority of the day on St. Louis as well as all day tomorrow and start back Wednesday with a good practice. So, yes to answer your question getting on that schedule is helpful for them especially this late in the season.”

Can you walk us through the progression of the young defensive line?

“I think number one, we have a good rotation going. It is hard to play 60 snaps in there. Cam (Jordan) and our starters are in good shape but we really believe in getting a rotation and I said this last evening, those are earned sacks when you get a guy like Cam Newton, he is a gifted player, but he is a strong sack. If you can get a hand on him you can kind of arm tackle his waist or his leg, along with (him) being elusive. I thought we contained him really well. I thought he held on to the ball at times, struggled with his progressions, and forced some throws. I think that is a credit to how the guys up front played.”

How satisfying was it to see your team get back to playing the way you feel like they should be playing?

“Any time you have a tough loss the next game can’t come quick enough. You want to get back on track. I thought we did the things necessary to win and I thought it was a good team win.”

Can you talk about the play of your secondary last night and how instrumental their play contributed to the number of sacks last night?

“I thought it goes hand in hand. I thought we did a good job of keeping the players in front of us number one. I mentioned the big plays that Carolina has the potential of hitting you with where they get behind you on defense in the passing game. They do a good job of running the football and you can all of a sudden get consumed with forcing the run and there is a Ted Ginn or a (Brandon) LaFell, Steve Smith, splitting your secondary. But I thought we kept the ball in front of us. I thought we contested a lot of throws, broke up a lot of passes and that was pleasing. I thought overall it all goes hand in hand and I think there are coverage sacks just like there are hurries that help the back end.”

Read more: Sean Payton's Monday Review

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	panthers4.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	68.2 KB
ID:	8601  

Views: 724
Latest Blogs
REFUND Last Blog: 12-07-2014 By: xan




Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


Old 12-09-2013, 04:30 PM   #2
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,268
Blog Entries: 4
Re: Sean Payton's Monday Review

I'm ready to see Tom Johnson, Tyrunn Walker and Glenn Foster back in the rotation!

Did they play much last night??
saintsfan1976 is online now  
Old 12-09-2013, 05:03 PM   #3
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 8,126
Re: Sean Payton's Monday Review

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 View Post
I'm ready to see Tom Johnson, Tyrunn Walker and Glenn Foster back in the rotation!

Did they play much last night??
Walker played some, Foster was inactive and Johnson I dunno
|Mitch| is offline  
Old 12-09-2013, 05:07 PM   #4
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,545
Re: Sean Payton's Monday Review

if cam fig newton is super man, then who is Cam Jordan?

the man who TACKLES super man a few times with his buddies.

heeeere... kitty.

we're going to sweep the panthers. you watch...
Choupique is offline  
Old 12-09-2013, 05:09 PM   #5
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 8,126
Re: Sean Payton's Monday Review

Originally Posted by Choupique View Post
we're going to sweep the panthers. you watch...
I have that same feeling, barring a freak blizzard or something in two weeks
|Mitch| is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/62661-sean-paytons-monday-review.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Sean Payton's Monday Review This thread Refback 12-09-2013 04:26 PM 5


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts