Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; The Saints have had TEN entirely scoreless quarters in their last six games. By comparison, the PEDhawks have 5 scoreless quarters since week eleven, that is half as many. The Saints have averaged 13 points in their last four road ...

Like Tree10Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2013, 03:45 PM   #11
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: in line with my ridiculous CLEAR PLASTIC BAG
Posts: 3,264
Blog Entries: 3
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

The Saints have had TEN entirely scoreless quarters in their last six games. By comparison, the PEDhawks have 5 scoreless quarters since week eleven, that is half as many.

The Saints have averaged 13 points in their last four road games. All of the historical "road teams" that have won the Super Bowl recently by that route (Packers, Giants to name two) have averaged scoring SIGNIFICANTLY more points on the road than that.
SaintsBro is offline  
Old 12-23-2013, 04:46 PM   #12
500th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 538
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

It's not that I don't think we can beat most of the teams in the playoffs. I don't think that this team has played its best game yet. In the playoffs anything can happen. I just think that there is something missing ,not quite sure what. Toughness?
triman is offline  
Old 12-23-2013, 04:48 PM   #13
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,144
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

Originally Posted by triman View Post
It's not that I don't think we can beat most of the teams in the playoffs. I don't think that this team has played its best game yet. In the playoffs anything can happen. I just think that there is something missing ,not quite sure what. Toughness?
I'd say focus. Effort and attitude are there, but we just make dumb mental mistakes, often early in the game.

Maybe mental toughness?
Danno is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 04:33 PM   #14
500th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 538
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

When I started this thread I was still in the depths of depression after a heart breaking loss.I in noway am throwing in the towel. The only team that really scares me is Seattle's PED squad. Remember we were on a losing streak in 2009. The task at hand is to beat a Buc team that gave a good game earlier. Falcons could beat the Scam Squad. Who knows Seattle could lose . Hope that we play well enough to extend the season and make up for the three stinker losses.CAR,NYJ,STL. STILL HAVEN'T SEEN THE BEST OF THE SAINTS YET.
triman is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 04:37 PM   #15
500th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 538
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

I don't believe that you can be tough without mental toughness.
triman is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 04:52 PM   #16
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Bay
Posts: 1,698
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

Hey anything could happen. Right now, it isn't looking good for the home team. But, hey, this is why we watch the game.
WHODATINCA is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 05:42 PM   #17
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,309
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

The Saints CAN beat anybody in the NFL. I honestly their issues has been more about playcalling and execution than personel. If for once the Saints get some luck, they could only have to win two games to get to the Super Bowl. One at home which is a lock.
Cruize is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 05:47 PM   #18
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,490
Blog Entries: 1
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

Originally Posted by Cruize View Post
The Saints CAN beat anybody in the NFL. I honestly their issues has been more about playcalling and execution than personel. If for once the Saints get some luck, they could only have to win two games to get to the Super Bowl. One at home which is a lock.
I like what you're drinking. Can I have some too?
NOLA54 is offline  
Old 12-24-2013, 05:54 PM   #19
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,490
Blog Entries: 1
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

So far we have not played well offensively and the breaks have not gone our way. I don't know why or how that changes when we are in the playoffs.

Momentum is important & the eagles have that going into Dallas. Should they win, then we play them there and I don't see them giving up their momentum and us gaining any since we were the #2 see for almost all year & collapsed in critical games.
NOLA54 is offline  
Old 12-25-2013, 12:29 AM   #20
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Bay
Posts: 1,698
Re: My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime

Every time someone gives a reason why we can't win -- and says assine sh*t like we aren't ready for primetime -- well, first I laugh. After I'm done laughing -- I always think about teams like Seattle this year or the 2007 Patriots. No one thought Arizona was gonna go to C-Link this year and beat the Seahawks. Any team can go down at any time -- that also means any team can win at anytime.

We could win out in the playoffs, too. Do I think there is a huge possibility of that - nope, I don't. I'm optimistic -- not stupid or crazy. As I said, this a very good team this year -- it is not a great team. But, look the Failclowns would have beat the 49ers had it not been for a very lucky bounce of the ball. So, LOL --- anything is possible.
jlouhill likes this.

Commit to improving in 2015 = not embarrassing yourself.
WHODATINCA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/63123-my-hunble-opinion-not-ready-primetime.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
My hunble opinion NOT Ready for Primetime This thread Refback 12-23-2013 12:39 PM 20
The Latest NFL News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 12-23-2013 12:32 PM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 12-23-2013 12:31 PM 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts