Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by TheOak The "catch" is that he catches it ... And has the lowest drop rate of the entire team. Out of 111 Receivers in the league he is #3. He is also 13th of all those receivers ...

Like Tree20Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2014, 06:33 PM   #21
Threaded by Rugby Saint II
Bounty Money $$$
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 10,993

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Originally Posted by TheOak View Post
The "catch" is that he catches it...

And has the lowest drop rate of the entire team. Out of 111 Receivers in the league he is #3.

He is also 13th of all those receivers for percentage of passes thrown at him caught 69.6%.

11th in the league for yards after the catch per reception at 6.1.

You may be the only football fan not impressed with his play for a rookie.
Give me another year to come around..........I might just have to rethink that.
My concern is that he catches most passes with his body. Maybe another good year of coaching will fix that.
Views: 2966
Old 02-20-2014, 06:50 AM   #22
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 15,615
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Originally Posted by Rugby Saint II View Post
Give me another year to come around..........I might just have to rethink that.
My concern is that he catches most passes with his body. Maybe another good year of coaching will fix that.
If it is not broken, do not fix it. So you seriously would rather his drop rate go up so he can catch passes with his hands away from his body and allow the ball to get stripped or just knocked out (see Seattle games).

No thanks.

Ever thought that just maybe he is fast enough to get his whole body there?
TheOak is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 05:52 PM   #23
100th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Denham Springs
Posts: 132
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Originally Posted by Rugby Saint II View Post
I must be the only member not impressed with Stills. He doesn't fight for the ball he catches it with his chest not his outstretched arms.
You are not alone. I do not like what I've seen from Kenny so far. He can run and we desperately need speed at WR. Colston and Moore are surely two of the slowest WR in the NFL. Stills looks scared to me. I recently posted similar comments on a thread about Joe Morgan who looks to play with reckless abandon to me and I was trashed by the forum and someone posted his 2013 highlights which included mostly him catching the ball wide open on fade routes and exactly zero catches across the middle. I'm sure he'll improve but can you learn to be brave? I don't remember that ever happening. I think that's who he is.
hagan714 likes this.
billyt81 is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 05:58 PM   #24
100th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Denham Springs
Posts: 132
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Colston was a 7th round pick. Stills- 2nd round. And they are nothing alike? So I guess you're saying he'll be good because that would be the only way they're alike. And I am pessimistic about his chances of holding a candle to Colston who will soon hold nearly all of the Saints receiving records as well as being the Saints all time TD leader.
billyt81 is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:11 PM   #25
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,218
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Originally Posted by billyt81 View Post
Colston was a 7th round pick. Stills- 2nd round. And they are nothing alike? So I guess you're saying he'll be good because that would be the only way they're alike. And I am pessimistic about his chances of holding a candle to Colston who will soon hold nearly all of the Saints receiving records as well as being the Saints all time TD leader.
Wow, you truly don't have a clue.
Boutte and dizzle88 like this.
Danno is online now  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:20 PM   #26
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 3,880
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Stills was a 5th rounder and what most consider to be an absolute steal, I agree with general consensus, stills played awesome
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:20 PM   #27
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 6,745
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

|Mitch| is online now  
Old 03-29-2014, 11:56 PM   #28
100th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Denham Springs
Posts: 132
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Damn I didn't realize we got him in the 5th round. That is great value in a late round like Colston. Is thinking a guy was a 2nd instead of 5th round pick not having a clue? We'll see how Stills does next year but I predict he does not start every game next year and comes in on 3 receiver sets. I've been dogged a lot for doubting Stills but NO ONE will go out on a limb and predict anything for him next year. Will another 30 catch season still have the Forum salivating? I see a WR who can run a nice fade route but not much more.
billyt81 is offline  
Old 03-30-2014, 12:50 AM   #29
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: D'iberville, MS
Posts: 1,516
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Stills was a steal. The numbers say it all. And the whole catch with your hands thing is overrated. Just catch it.
hagan714 likes this.
rezburna is online now  
Old 03-30-2014, 04:41 AM   #30
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 3,880
Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills

Originally Posted by billyt81 View Post
Damn I didn't realize we got him in the 5th round. That is great value in a late round like Colston. Is thinking a guy was a 2nd instead of 5th round pick not having a clue? We'll see how Stills does next year but I predict he does not start every game next year and comes in on 3 receiver sets. I've been dogged a lot for doubting Stills but NO ONE will go out on a limb and predict anything for him next year. Will another 30 catch season still have the Forum salivating? I see a WR who can run a nice fade route but not much more.
Thats all you see?

I see a guy that burned darelle revis
A guy that caught what should have been the winning TD pass between 2 defenders in new england
caught a pass one handed behind someones back and then faked a pro bowl CB out of his shoes for a TD

I only saw him run one fade route all season and brees overthrew it, yeah stills ran a lot of deep routes but he also was used on a lot of crossing routes

plus - a rookie leading the league in yards per reception and having one of the best catch rates in the NFL, whats not to be excited about?
Boutte and AliJee like this.

"Ryan......INTERCEPTED....going back the other way with Jabari Greer......TOUCHDOWN....KILLER TOUCHDOWN for the saints!!!"
dizzle88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/64236-2013-new-orleans-saints-rookie-review-wide-receiver-kenny-stills.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Kenny Stills News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 02-08-2014 12:13 AM 2
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 02-07-2014 08:21 PM 1
2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills This thread Refback 02-07-2014 12:09 PM 56


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts