New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   Article: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills (http://blackandgold.com/saints/64236-2013-new-orleans-saints-rookie-review-wide-receiver-kenny-stills.html)

TheOak 02-07-2014 10:33 AM

2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
1 Attachment(s)
April 2013. Time for the NFL Draft. The New Orleans Saints were short on picks, and in desperate need of help on both defense and the O-line. That didn't stop PayLoo from picking up another offensive toy for the Sean and Brees aerial show, however. With four of their five draft picks, Benson's brain trust grabbed three defenders and an offensive lineman. But five rounds into the 2013 NFL Draft, the New Orleans Saints used their second-to-last pick to make Kenny Stills the 144th selection of the draft class.

Going into training camp, few people expected the rookie wide receiver to do much during the 2013 season. There was already plenty of competition among the diverse New Orleans receiving corps, most of which has had the luxury of working with Drew Brees for years. And there were others, like Nick Toon, who had already spent a year learning the system and were expected to get their shot before Stills. Even getting playing time would be an accomplishment for the University of Oklahoma rookie from Encinitas, California.

So how did Kenny Stills stack up? He was already selected three rounds earlier than his father had been 28 years earlier. But would he be able to make more of a name for himself than little-known Packers safety Ken Stills, Sr? With 1,696 players in the NFL (1,856 including practice squads), it can be difficult for even veterans to shine. So how much can really be expected of a rookie?

Read The Rest
2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills - Canal Street Chronicles

exile 02-07-2014 11:36 AM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
Stills is great #2. We need a solid #1 to complement him and Drew will be able to complete passes with his eyes closed.

halloween 65 02-07-2014 11:38 AM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
Good read. I think he will be better this year.

Utah_Saint 02-07-2014 01:54 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
I'd like to see him lined up in the slot more, just to mix things up. I would guess his speed on slants would be tough for teams to contend with. Opposing slot defenders would have to be ready for Graham, Colston, Moore and Stills.

K Major 02-07-2014 02:24 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
Kenny S was surprisingly good last year. I actually expected Toon to have similar success.

Rugby Saint II 02-07-2014 02:45 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
I must be the only member not impressed with Stills. He doesn't fight for the ball he catches it with his chest not his outstretched arms.

Boutte 02-07-2014 04:31 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
John Jenkins is the forgotten man. I guess that's what happens when you play NT. Kinda sucks because I think a standout NT is one of the hardest positions to fill. WRs are a dime a dozen. That isn't meant to diminish Stills in any way.

Crusader 02-07-2014 04:37 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
Quote:

Over the course of the 2013 season, Stills had 32 receptions for 641 yards, with four of them surpassing 50 yards each.
That is some fine stats for a rookie WR.

Danno 02-07-2014 04:52 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Boutte (Post 577414)
John Jenkins is the forgotten man. I guess that's what happens when you play NT. Kinda sucks because I think a standout NT is one of the hardest positions to fill. WRs are a dime a dozen. That isn't meant to diminish Stills in any way.

They certainly don't get all the love they deserve from us fans, but I'd imagine they get quite a bit from the coaches and players during film review.

Schmohams 02-07-2014 09:19 PM

Re: 2013 New Orleans Saints Rookie Review: Wide Receiver Kenny Stills
 
John Jenkins shined bright when Bunkley got hurt. Then he kinda drifted away when he came back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com