Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Falcons HC Mike Smith, QB Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith Conference Call with New Orleans Media Wednesday, September 3, 2014 How much can a first game set the tone to a season? “I think you always want to make a good first impression. I ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 03:55 PM   #1
Threaded by papz
Retired
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,627

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Atlanta Falcons Head Coach Mike Smith
Conference Call with New Orleans Media
Wednesday, September 3, 2014

How much can a first game set the tone to a season?

“I think you always want to make a good first impression. I think first impressions are lasting impressions, but I don’t think it sets a tone for a season. The NFL season is 16 weeks long and there are so many changing dynamics across the board for every team. I think your approach is you play them as they come and we are excited about the opportunity of playing the Saints. It doesn’t matter if it is week one, week seven, or week 12. It is a division game against a very good football team.”

So you don’t believe in momentum week to week?

“Do I believe in momentum week to week? I think you can get momentum going, but again, each game has its own element and its own dynamic. That is how you have to approach each game, as a single entity. I don’t think you can look at it as anything else because there are different matchups, different players healthy, there are so many different factors. I think every week in the NFL is a completely different week.”

Why did you decide to be tougher as a football team?

“I don’t know that we decided we had to be tougher. I think that is what somebody in your job said. I said we had to be physical, a more physical football team. I’ve never said anything about being tougher. If you play in the NFL, you are tough. It doesn’t matter if you are the kicker, the punter; if you play in the NFL you are tough. We’ve got to be more physical and we have to win the line of scrimmage because that is how you win in the National Football League.”

What is it about the Saints offense that makes it challenging for you to prepare?

“They are very difficult to prepare for. They’ve got an offensive minded head coach that does a great job game planning. I think that Sean (Payton) and his staff do a very good job of trying to find your deficiencies and when they find them, they attack them. I think that is what his strong suit is. He has a quarterback that understands the system and I think the areas that I feel each and every year they are good at, is they are very good at throwing the football. Drew (Brees) threw for over 5,000 yards but they also run the ball and I believe they had at least over 24, right at 24 rushing attempts a game. Everybody thinks they just want to throw the football; they are going to run the football as well. Their screen game is a big part of their offense as well. They have been together for going on eight years now and I think they see the game from the same prism.”


Read more: Atlanta Falcons head coach Mike Smith, quarterback Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	g.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	9761  

Views: 835
Latest Blogs
REFUND Last Blog: 12-07-2014 By: xan




Saints: A glimpse of the future Last Blog: 11-19-2014 By: lee909


Old 09-03-2014, 04:08 PM   #2
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 12,091
Blog Entries: 44
Re: Falcons HC Mike Smith, QB Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener

Mike Smith would make a great defensive coordinator for us if someone plucks Rob Ryan away from the clutches of paradise. Someday he'll enjoy working under and learning from Sean Payton.
Halo is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 06:53 PM   #3
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bayou Bayfield CO
Posts: 2,899
Re: Falcons HC Mike Smith, QB Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener

Originally Posted by Halo View Post
Mike Smith would make a great defensive coordinator for us if someone plucks Rob Ryan away from the clutches of paradise. Someday he'll enjoy working under and learning from Sean Payton.
Ewwwww!!!
Seer1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:09 PM   #4
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,942
Re: Falcons HC Mike Smith, QB Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener

Much of who Mike Smith is is built on the foundation of pure nepotism being the brother-in-law of Brian Billick. The Ravens success at LB had less to do with him and more to do with the talent that was given to him.

He hasn't had any real success in the NFL under his own creation and vision. I've never seen a coach have as many 4th down failures as him and there is little to no development of talent. Every season he has swung for the fence. It has got him nowhere except for one measly playoff win. I'd put him in the top 5 of positive things that has ever happened to the Saints and the record speaks for itself.
Beastmode is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 08:35 PM   #5
In Doh We Trust
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 5,969
Blog Entries: 16
Re: Falcons HC Mike Smith, QB Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener

Falcons fans don't trust him.
homerj07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/67849-falcons-hc-mike-smith-qb-matt-ryan-preview-sundays-season-opener.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Falcons HC Mike Smith, QB Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener This thread Refback 09-03-2014 08:08 PM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-03-2014 04:24 PM 3
Falcons head coachh, quarterback Matt Ryan preview Sunday's season opener This thread Refback 09-03-2014 04:05 PM 7


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts