Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Get ready Cook will shift defenses and Jimmy will draw more than his share of coverage not only man on man but ocer the top. what does that leave Drew with? his favorite safety blanket. COLSTON RETURNS TO FORM AND ...

Like Tree16Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2014, 04:03 PM   #11
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,982
Blog Entries: 52
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Get ready Cook will shift defenses and Jimmy will draw more than his share of coverage not only man on man but ocer the top. what does that leave Drew with? his favorite safety blanket.

COLSTON RETURNS TO FORM AND MIGHT HAVE THE BEST SEASON OF HIS LIFE.
Seer1 and brees84 like this.

Last edited by hagan714; 09-04-2014 at 04:19 PM..
hagan714 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 04:31 PM   #12
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 10,107
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

The Saints' scoring attack will be extremely difficult to stop this season. Not only was Cooks added, but Marques Colston is finally healthy. Colston thrived down the stretch last year, so he should be able to pick up where he left off. The Falcons, who lost Sean Weatherspoon for the year, were ranked 32nd last year against the pass in terms of defensive YPA. In other words, good luck.
|Mitch| is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 05:26 PM   #13
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 21,590
Blog Entries: 29
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Originally Posted by FootballCEO View Post
I think they can.. I'm willing to bet they'll put Alford on Cooks to match speed & quickness. The book is out on how to neutralize Graham and I think Moore can be that guy. It'll be vital for Kenny Stills to step up big time in this game
Giving Moore too much credit. Your best comments are your closing comments.
SmashMouth is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 05:57 PM   #14
In Doh We Trust
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 6,183
Blog Entries: 16
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

I hope they use Cooks A LOT. I want to see this kid cut and leave the defenders grasping at air.
homerj07 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 07:12 PM   #15
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bayou Bayfield CO
Posts: 3,452
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Gonzales' absence is going to amp up Smith's ulcer big time.
Seer1 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 05:10 AM   #16
Budding Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 254
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Originally Posted by saintsfan1976 View Post
I've been anticipating this Em. Nice preview. The Saints are not without their problems and although we have the slight edge, nothing tells me this will be an easy day...

Quick questions for you:

How do you see the Falcon's front 7 dealing with our zone blocking scheme?

Who from the Falcon's D line is a true impact player?

Is Patrick Robinson ready for his next debut or a liability?

Soliai will have to be HUGE factor in this game. The key to stopping the ZBS, in its simplest form, is to get interior pressure (Soliai) while being able to set the edge (OLBs & DEs) allowing ILBs & Alley defenders to make a play at or near the LOS

Good question about the Falcons 'impact' player on D. My guess it is Soliai & Robert Alford

And yep..Robinson is a big time liability. I just hope Rob Ryan finds creative ways to help him. Maybe Zone his side while playing man on the other side
hagan714 and saintsfan1976 like this.
FootballCEO is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 08:11 AM   #17
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,560
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Read this earlier:

Soliai started 15 games last season and registered 34 tackles and one sack. More importantly, according to Pro Football Focus Soliai scored a plus-11.1 overall rating with a plus-7.9 score at stopping the run.

With Soliai in the middle of a 3-4 hybrid scheme for the Falcons, he’ll be able to swallow up blockers, draw double-teams and control both A-gaps, allowing other Falcon front-seven defenders to focus on getting after the opposing quarterback. Getting more pressure is a big reason why some team switch to a 3-4.

Soliai can line up in the middle, sandwiched between Babineaux at defensive end position and opposite Osi Umenyiora, when Atlanta goes to a 3-4 look. When the Falcons play 4-3, the trio of Soliai, Babineaux and Peters can rotate, or Babineaux can stay at end.

Soliai gives the Falcons a lot of versatility in their hybrid looks. That versatility has been absent since Nolan’s arrival. And even though he’s 30 years old, Soliai still can be a stopgap 0-technique tackle in a hybrid 3-4 alignment, at least until the Falcons draft the players needed to complete the switch to 3-4.
hagan714 likes this.

saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 10:08 AM   #18
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,560
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Big challenge for Goodwin.

Prob as well.
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 03:03 AM   #19
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,977
Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Yep. This is what has concerned me knowing Atlanta will give us new looks, it offsets whatever new playcalls Payton has in store. Also, I would not want to be targeting a rookie so much in this game. This needs to be a game where Morgan needs to be targeted deep. I trust only Graham and Morgan in this game. It is going to be tough and I will not be surprised if they win comfortably. It IS week 1. I wasn't expecting to win this game most of the offseason but we have to win.
WillSaints81 is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 11:28 AM   #20
Bayou Bum
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 28
Exclamation Re: Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview

Originally Posted by TheOak View Post
Falcons missing Gonzalez creates a scoring vacuum.
Never under estimate Julio Jones or Roddy White.
fanattic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/67869-football-gameplans-2014-saints-vs-falcons-preview.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Football Gameplan's 2014 Saints vs Falcons Preview This thread Refback 09-04-2014 03:13 PM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-04-2014 11:28 AM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts