Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Film study: Reviewing Saints defense By Mike Triplett

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; It seemed like a decent enough game plan, stop the kill shots and hold them in the RZ on a high level understanding. It would have worked if their kicker didn't have a bronzed leg. Seriously, how many kickers can ...

Like Tree9Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2014, 03:07 PM   #21
Threaded by Beastmode
1000 Posts +
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,106

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

It seemed like a decent enough game plan, stop the kill shots and hold them in the RZ on a high level understanding. It would have worked if their kicker didn't have a bronzed leg. Seriously, how many kickers can make 2 clutch bombs like that, it's just not very likely. Cleaning up the tacking alone would have been enough.
Views: 2572
Old 09-10-2014, 04:20 PM   #22
SaintSince67
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PortCity
Posts: 2,010
Re: Film study: Reviewing Saints defense By Mike Triplett

1st half we gave up 10. Hit my number right on the head.
10 per half is good defense; 1 touchdown and 1 field goal.
2 touchdowns and 2 field goals for an entire game (to me), is good defense.
Down hill after that.
Last year things got tighter as the game went on, Sunday looks like the screws fell out late.
Maybe that's the kick in the butt they needed.
darstep is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 04:22 PM   #23
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193
Re: Film study: Reviewing Saints defense By Mike Triplett

Originally Posted by Utah_Saint View Post
I don't think what we saw on Sunday is going to be a regular part of the Saints defensive scheme. I think it was more of specific plan for the falcons and their deep roster of wide receivers. The plan didn't work.



I think the fact the Saints drafted a press corner and brought in Champ, another press corner indicates they plan on much more man coverage than what we saw on Sunday.

We did it against the Ravens in preseason. We swept the Falcons last year with out a special plan and they had Gonzo then, why do we all of a sudden have a special plan for the Falcons? Difference between week 1 last year vs this year with the falcons is that Gonzales played and we won.

We have never needed anything special to beat them.
Danno likes this.
TheOak is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 05:51 PM   #24
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,563
Re: Film study: Reviewing Saints defense By Mike Triplett

all of this advice from people who could never qualify for one single play in the sport of professional football

your words mean nothing other than they prove some of you are disloyal fans.

when you've earned your own super bowl ring, i'll give a **** what most of you think about professional athletes. just sayin.
Choupique is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 06:14 PM   #25
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 2,547
Re: Film study: Reviewing Saints defense By Mike Triplett

Originally Posted by TheOak View Post
We did it against the Ravens in preseason. We swept the Falcons last year with out a special plan and they had Gonzo then, why do we all of a sudden have a special plan for the Falcons? Difference between week 1 last year vs this year with the falcons is that Gonzales played and we won.

We have never needed anything special to beat them.
Yeah, that's what I said. We didn't run that much zone in any game last year that I can remember. Don't know why we did this time but my guess is Ryan thought it was the best way to cover all 4 of their receivers. Obviously it didn't work so I doubt we see it as much again.

I hope next time we play we try playing up and stuffing receivers on the line and putting more pressure on poopy pants. If we can't get to him with four guys, try five.
Utah_Saint is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/68022-film-study-reviewing-saints-defense-mike-triplett.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Film study: Reviewing Saints defense By Mike Triplett This thread Refback 09-10-2014 07:51 AM 4
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-10-2014 04:39 AM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts