Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Minnesota’s issues run much deeper than football. Star running back Adrian Peterson has been indicted on a felony child-abuse charge in Texas; on Wednesday, the Vikings put Peterson on their exempt list, barring him from games and practices. The Vikings ...

Like Tree7Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2014, 09:51 AM   #1
Threaded by Halo
Site Donor 2016
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 15,269

Blog Entries: 45
Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Minnesota’s issues run much deeper than football. Star running back Adrian Peterson has been indicted on a felony child-abuse charge in Texas; on Wednesday, the Vikings put Peterson on their exempt list, barring him from games and practices.

The Vikings deactivated Peterson for their Week 2 game, a 30-7 loss at home to the New England Patriots.

The Saints, meanwhile, are hoping to use their home opener to rally back from two stunning, last-second losses at Atlanta and Cleveland.

ESPN Saints reporter Mike Triplett and ESPN Vikings reporter Ben Goessling discuss this week's matchup:

Triplett: How much did the Vikings miss Peterson on the field last Sunday? And how do they try to fill that void this week?

Goessling: Against a Patriots team that appeared vulnerable against the run, they missed Peterson considerably. He didn't have a great first game of the season in St. Louis, but a large part of what Peterson brings to the offense, even when he's not being terribly productive, is the number of looks he opens up for others simply by the attention he commands from defenses.

Matt Asiata caught a touchdown pass last week and is a decent between-the-tackles runner. They also like rookie Jerick McKinnon, though they haven't gotten him involved in the offense yet. But no matter what the Vikings do, they're not going to be able to replace Peterson. They have some good weapons in their passing game, and they'll have to make them work. Without Peterson, though, the Vikings' offense looks a lot less intimidating.

CONTINUE READING THE FULL ANALYSIS ON ESPN.COM

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7687496.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	9863  

Views: 3661
Old 09-19-2014, 10:03 AM   #2
SaintsWillWin
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Shreveport,Louisiana
Posts: 12,332
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

Another game the Saints should win easily, especially in the Superdome.

I believe the defense gets its act together enough to at least flash the way they played last year.

If the defense continues to struggle, especially against lesser teams, would Ryan's job be in jeopardy?
WhoDat!656 is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 10:20 AM   #3
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,486
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

Originally Posted by WhoDat!656 View Post
Another game the Saints should win easily, especially in the Superdome.

I believe the defense gets its act together enough to at least flash the way they played last year.

If the defense continues to struggle, especially against lesser teams, would Ryan's job be in jeopardy?
I think after the last two performances Rob is already tight roping on job security, if this issue stretches for more of the season I think Payton will get rid

4 defensive coordinators and we still can't find a consistent defense.
dizzle88 is online now  
Old 09-19-2014, 12:14 PM   #4
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,486
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

Originally Posted by teddybarexxx View Post
what about our stagnant offense? i know we love beating up on the defense and trust me i'm a lil concerned as well however, we should have won both games vs. atl and cleveland if our offense would have closed both teams out period.
Very true, but our stagnant offense is ranked #2 in the league, they should do better at the end of the games, but they do enough during to get a win, its been the defense both times that has failed to seal it for us.

2 weeks in a row we've had the opposing team pinned inside their own 10 yard line and both times they've drove the full length of the field for a score
dizzle88 is online now  
Old 09-19-2014, 12:22 PM   #5
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cypress Tx.
Posts: 16,193
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

LOL!

Our offense has stagnated at near 30 points per game on the road... Anyone care to guess how many fans would love that level of stagnation?

2014 points/game away 29
2013 points/game home 29.6
dizzle88 and blackangold like this.
TheOak is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 01:43 PM   #6
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 14,374
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

This is going to be a media frenzy.
Rugby Saint II is online now  
Old 09-19-2014, 01:59 PM   #7
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 3,237
Blog Entries: 33
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

So, we're basically one touchdown better than the average football team on offense. Ok, nice, but there are a lot of teams that score points but can't win. Which are we?

We played two teams that were 4-12 in 2013. They averaged 28 and 25 points per game allowed. Both teams shut down our offense when it counted.
Ashley likes this.
xan is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 03:04 PM   #8
The Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lithonia, GA
Posts: 1,727
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

Originally Posted by teddybarexxx View Post
what about our stagnant offense? i know we love beating up on the defense and trust me i'm a lil concerned as well however, we should have won both games vs. atl and cleveland if our offense would have closed both teams out period.
Originally Posted by dizzle88 View Post
Very true, but our stagnant offense is ranked #2 in the league, they should do better at the end of the games, but they do enough during to get a win, its been the defense both times that has failed to seal it for us.
How exactly is scoring 29.5 average points on the road stagnant?
2 weeks in a row we've had the opposing team pinned inside their own 10 yard line and both times they've drove the full length of the field for a score
Exactly. Late in the 4th quarter of each game the offense needed to score a TD and they did both times. Late in the 4th quarter of each game the defense needed to make a stop to seal the win. And both times, they didn't.

The offense isn't perfect by any stretch. The clock management sucked both times. However, in both games the offense did enough to win the game while the defense simply did not.

SFIAH
SaintFanInATLHELL is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 05:47 PM   #9
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Watford England
Posts: 6,115
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

Hawthorne out of the game along with Ingram,Ball and Lorig
lee909 is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 06:12 PM   #10
100th Post
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 312
Re: Preview of Saints vs. Vikings

After having time to really take things in, our defense isn't as bad as it looks right now. Our defense looked terrible in game one (missed tackles, blown coverage, bad scheme,etc). Our defense looked a little out of sync in week 2 but not terrible. Now I know we didn't make the plays we needed to win but if you look at what we actually gave up the defense wasn't terrible. The defense only gave up 2 TD's and some field goals (one field goal being missed and re-kicked due to a penalty).

A little over 200 yards passing (most of that came on the last drive) and 123 yards rushing. Not great but far from horrific. I believe our defense will get better. I think a lot of our troubles are scheme related and one or 2 personnel issues which can be sorted out. I know we didn't get the result we wanted but I think there was improvement. Now the question is can we continue to improve to get to where we want to be.

ATL GAME Yards: 568
ATL GAME Pts: 37

CLE GAME Yards: 324
CLE GAME Pts:26
teddybarexxx likes this.
ikecomp is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
adrian peterson, saints, vikings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/68289-preview-saints-vs-vikings.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
Preview of Saints vs. Vikings This thread Refback 09-19-2014 10:49 AM 3


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts