Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Nice little quick start preview of the Saints at Cowboys matchup for Sunday night. Time to stop talking about Corporal Munnerlyn and move on to Romo and Co. in the Jerry Dome. The Opponent : This is by no means ...

Like Tree9Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2014, 01:04 PM   #1
Threaded by Halo
Site Donor 2016
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 15,270

Blog Entries: 45
Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Nice little quick start preview of the Saints at Cowboys matchup for Sunday night. Time to stop talking about Corporal Munnerlyn and move on to Romo and Co. in the Jerry Dome.

The Opponent: This is by no means the "Aints" of the pre-2000s era, but it's not the Drew Brees machine of years past, either. At least not yet. They picked up their first win of the season on Sunday against an Adrian Peterson-less Vikings team that also saw their starting quarterback knocked out of the game early, and it was by no means a convincing win.

Past Meetings: The Cowboys are 15-11 all-time against the Saints, but New Orleans has actually won eight of the previous nine meetings, including last season's 49-17 demolition in the Superdome. Prior to that game, the Cowboys had two close losses to far superior Saints teams, but last year's loss is still being felt around these parts as it was a low point for an awful Cowboys defense last season.

Key Matchup: Saints QB Drew Brees vs. Cowboys secondary Orlando Scandrick should be back in the starting lineup for the Cowboys and supplant Mo Claiborne, who should be relegated to special packages. But against the Saints' offense, the entire secondary will probably be on the field for much of the night. Brees hasn't been spectacular this season, but a lot of things point to the fact Sunday night could be Brees' coming out party for the 2014 season.
READ THE REST AT NBCDFW.COM

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	saints-at-cowboys-2014.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	9874  

Views: 4656
Old 09-23-2014, 01:23 PM   #2
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NOLA
Posts: 1,764
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

Sunday night baby...Let's keep the prime time dominance going!!
73Saint is offline  
Old 09-23-2014, 02:13 PM   #3
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Bay
Posts: 1,698
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

I want to see three things in this game from the Saints: 1) finishing the game by playing tough and smart for 60 minutes, 2) takeaways -- whichever flavor will work for me -- sack-strip-recovery, or strip-recovery, or a pick 6 -- any of those would work perfectly for me, 3) limiting their run game to under 80 yards.
jnormand and teddybarexxx like this.
WHODATINCA is offline  
Old 09-23-2014, 05:04 PM   #4
Bounty Money $$$
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 5800 Airline Dr. Metairie, LA.
Posts: 14,378
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

This is the game where we put it all together and drop a 50 burger on Jerrys kids.
Halo and teddybarexxx like this.
Rugby Saint II is offline  
Old 09-23-2014, 05:08 PM   #5
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 10,107
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

Article talks about how unspectacular Drew has been this year, what it fails to account for is how dominant Drew has been in prime-time games throughout his career though
Halo likes this.
|Mitch| is offline  
Old 09-23-2014, 07:23 PM   #6
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 2,549
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

Drew's numbers don't look spectacular because we're running the ball well. Those running backs are taking his touchdowns!

He's still 5th in yards and throwing at a 71% completion rate. May not be flashy but it's still damn good.
pumpkindriver and SaintnDE like this.
Utah_Saint is online now  
Old 09-24-2014, 05:35 PM   #7
Site Donor 2016
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 15,270
Blog Entries: 45
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

Originally Posted by teddybarexxx View Post
the run game? what run game? atl 137 yards rushing (4 different backs), cleveland 171 yards rushing (4 different backs) and last week which is the most disturbing (because we were at home) 110 yards rushing (basically 3 backs). those numbers isnt dominating by any means. i feel if we win this sunday we need at least one of our backs to be at 100 yards rushing.
We're 6th overall in rushing and 5th overall in passing. Rushing has always been a way to open the pass for the Saints in the Sean Payton era. 6th overall is a lot different than, for example, Carolina who is 29th overall. Does it really matter if we get the job done by committee or one back gets over 100 per game??
Halo is offline  
Old 09-24-2014, 06:26 PM   #8
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort, Alabama
Posts: 21,161
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

Two things I've noticed about prime time games.

Saints show up
Cowboys don't
teddybarexxx likes this.
Danno is offline  
Old 09-25-2014, 01:56 AM   #9
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 2,549
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

[quote=teddybarexxx;613726]
Originally Posted by Utah_Saint View Post
Drew's numbers don't look spectacular because we're running the ball well. Those running backs are taking his touchdowns!



the run game? what run game? atl 137 yards rushing (4 different backs), cleveland 171 yards rushing (4 different backs) and last week which is the most disturbing (because we were at home) 110 yards rushing (basically 3 backs). those numbers isnt dominating by any means. i feel if we win this sunday we need at least one of our backs to be at 100 yards rushing.
It's a very good run game. Those are very good numbers. The Saints are tied for 1st in the league in rushing touchdowns. 6th in the league in yards and 8th in yards per attempt.
Utah_Saint is online now  
Old 09-25-2014, 10:34 AM   #10
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 3,237
Blog Entries: 33
Re: Behind Enemy Lines -- The Deck: Saints Cowboys Quick Preview

We make a lot of yards on 3 drives, no yards on the rest, usually 5-8 drives. Our 3-outs are the biggest problem. That and turnovers. And bad tackling. And the Smegma Defense.
xan is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
cowboys, on deck, saints

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/68367-behind-enemy-lines-deck-saints-cowboys-quick-preview.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-23-2014 02:25 PM 2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts