Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; I don't need no Firetrucking tape to tell me what the problem is. The FO would rather spend $100 million on a qb and not protect him than get a $60 million qb and put a world class OLine in ...

Like Tree20Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2014, 04:56 PM   #31
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 3,237
Blog Entries: 33
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

I don't need no Firetrucking tape to tell me what the problem is.

The FO would rather spend $100 million on a qb and not protect him than get a $60 million qb and put a world class OLine in front of him.

Just sayin.
leilung, darstep and Audiotom like this.
xan is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 07:01 PM   #32
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,255
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by lee909 View Post
Morgan offers nothing imo

He has been on the team a few years and has as many injuries and suspensions as TDs. 11 career recptions tells its own story
20 yds per catch tells a lot... and some of the catches he made are crazy... I am excited to see him in a bigger role.

RailBoss likes this.
blackangold is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 08:51 PM   #33
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,490
Blog Entries: 1
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Every aspect of our game needs work.
darstep likes this.
NOLA54 is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 01:24 AM   #34
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,977
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by blackangold View Post
If we had sproles Brees would feel more comfort in the check down...

With Sproles we would be 6-4 right now... he was worth at least two games. Awful move considering Brees has never been with out a scat back (Bush and Sproles).

The screen game wasn't working last year among the stronger defenses.
WillSaints81 is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 01:52 AM   #35
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,255
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by WillSaints81 View Post
The screen game wasn't working last year among the stronger defenses.
That's because we called it every other play... More great SP play-calling for ya.

Not only that we called it against defenses with the most athletic LBs. Payton's play calling has been bad over the last two years.
blackangold is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 09:06 AM   #36
500th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Alexandria, La.
Posts: 552
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Originally Posted by blackangold View Post
That's because we called it every other play... More great SP play-calling for ya.

Not only that we called it against defenses with the most athletic LBs. Payton's play calling has been bad over the last two years.
I have to agree with you. I've never played organized football so I, like most, am limited as far as blocking assignments, positioning, etc. But I have been a football fan all of my life. Having said that even I know what's coming most of the time even before we line up. I have one word for SP's playing calling over the last few years.
PREDICTABLE!
Rsanders24 and darstep like this.
jlouhill is offline  
Old 11-23-2014, 12:39 PM   #37
500th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA.
Posts: 642
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Our offensive line play is not good but we do not have the worst offensive line by far this season. Our offense is stale...period...defenses are just sitting on our routes. When we do have the throws we are missing them or dropping them. It's simple....in this league you have to be able to stretch the defense and hit the big play to score points....and that is something we can't do anymore.

We can spread the blame around, and there is plenty to spread, but when it's all said and done you expect your 100 million dollar, future HOF QB to make the plays that you have been accustomed to seeing over the past years
Rsanders24 is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 09:04 PM   #38
Site Donor 2015
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Watford England
Posts: 6,115
Blog Entries: 1
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

What do i know
lee909 is offline  
Old 11-27-2014, 01:24 PM   #39
SaintSince67
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: PortCity
Posts: 2,010
Re: After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled

Offense stalled sounds kinda harsh.
It's more like an 8 cylinder running on 6.
We can go pretty good , we just can't pull a heavy load.
We've scored enough points to win most every game we've played.
If we could stop anybody we would be leading the South by 2 or 3 games.
We can't get off the field even in 3rd and long situations.
It's true that our weapons have been depleted and we are still upper shelf in yards and points.
Upgrades are required, but we are not losing because we can't score.

**SaintSince67**
darstep is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/69626-after-further-review-why-saints-high-octane-offense-suddenly-stalled.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 11-22-2014 04:14 AM 2
After Further Review: Why the Saints' high-octane offense is suddenly stalled This thread Refback 11-21-2014 06:12 PM 9


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts