New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com

New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com (http://blackandgold.com/community/)
-   Saints (http://blackandgold.com/saints/)
-   -   The Advocate: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison (http://blackandgold.com/saints/72358-saints-rookie-film-review-new-orleans-gets-another-rhino-tyeler-davison.html)

papz 05-10-2015 07:38 AM

Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
1 Attachment(s)
Tyeler Davison wasn’t known as Tyeler Davison during his time at Fresno State.

His teammates called him “Rhino.” And after watching some of his game tape from last season, the moniker is fitting. Davison was a consistent, disruptive force in the middle of the Bulldogs defensive line, which is exactly what you expect from a guy with a nickname like that.

There might be some dispute in New Orleans over the proper owner of the nickname since Akiem Hicks has been dubbed “Rhino” by defensive coordinator Rob Ryan, but even if Davison has to simply go by “Tyeler” moving forward, the Saints will be happy to take the qualities that led to their fifth-round pick earning the nickname in college.

Davison was almost too much for the Mountain West Conference to deal with last season. One of the knocks in many predraft scouting profiles was that he would be unable to play in a three-man front, which could be a problem for a New Orleans defense that operates out of a 3-4 base defense. The good news is that this doesn’t appear to be true.

In almost comical fashion, on one of the early plays reviewed for this article, Davison, who was lined up as nose tackle, answered that call by grabbing onto a Boise State center, tossing him to the side and going in pursuit of the quarterback. Any doubts were alleviated.


Read more: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison | Saints | The Advocate — Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Ashley 05-10-2015 03:53 PM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
All welcomed to make a difference

dizzle88 05-10-2015 04:14 PM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
He might be the steal of our draft class

All his highlight tape is just him throwing people around or pushing them 5 yards backward off the line

Hope he can bring that same kind of play to us.

SmashMouth 05-10-2015 05:11 PM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dizzle88 (Post 655125)
He might be the steal of our draft class

All his highlight tape is just him throwing people around or pushing them 5 yards backward off the line

Hope he can bring that same kind of play to us.

Dare we say we have 7 steals in the draft?:bng:

dizzle88 05-10-2015 05:29 PM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SmashMouth (Post 655136)
Dare we say we have 7 steals in the draft?:bng:

I hope so!

I can't say I'm particularly disappointed with any of the picks we made

I especially like the Kikaha and Anthony picks, but all of them fill needs and at least 3 or 4 of them could be day 1 starters!

papz 05-10-2015 05:30 PM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
I'm just drooling watching this man's highlight tape. He's just not quick, strong, and well built... what impresses me about him is the most was his ability to shed blockers once he's engaged. I can't see why he couldn't be an immediate contributor for us. I know it's just a highlight tape, but it's a damn good one that leaves you very encouraged about his future outlook on our team.

Seer1 05-10-2015 08:57 PM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
What's better than having one rhino???

LordOfEntropy 05-11-2015 03:28 AM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by papz (Post 655139)
I can't see why he couldn't be an immediate contributor for us.

Coach did say before the draft that all the defensive players drafted - this year - will need to be immediate contributors. So apparently the front office feels the same way.

saintsfan1976 05-11-2015 06:38 AM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by papz (Post 655139)
I'm just drooling watching this man's highlight tape. He's just not quick, strong, and well built... what impresses me about him is the most was his ability to shed blockers once he's engaged. I can't see why he couldn't be an immediate contributor for us. I know it's just a highlight tape, but it's a damn good one that leaves you very encouraged about his future outlook on our team.

He looks a lot like Danny Shelton!

neugey 05-11-2015 11:14 AM

Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison
 
Nice. I like his tackling; it seems like if he gets an arm on you then it's over.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2018 - BlackandGold.com