Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Tyeler Davison wasn’t known as Tyeler Davison during his time at Fresno State. His teammates called him “Rhino.” And after watching some of his game tape from last season, the moniker is fitting. Davison was a consistent, disruptive force in ...

Like Tree3Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2015, 08:38 AM   #1
Threaded by papz
Problem?
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,942

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

Tyeler Davison wasn’t known as Tyeler Davison during his time at Fresno State.

His teammates called him “Rhino.” And after watching some of his game tape from last season, the moniker is fitting. Davison was a consistent, disruptive force in the middle of the Bulldogs defensive line, which is exactly what you expect from a guy with a nickname like that.

There might be some dispute in New Orleans over the proper owner of the nickname since Akiem Hicks has been dubbed “Rhino” by defensive coordinator Rob Ryan, but even if Davison has to simply go by “Tyeler” moving forward, the Saints will be happy to take the qualities that led to their fifth-round pick earning the nickname in college.

Davison was almost too much for the Mountain West Conference to deal with last season. One of the knocks in many predraft scouting profiles was that he would be unable to play in a three-man front, which could be a problem for a New Orleans defense that operates out of a 3-4 base defense. The good news is that this doesn’t appear to be true.

In almost comical fashion, on one of the early plays reviewed for this article, Davison, who was lined up as nose tackle, answered that call by grabbing onto a Boise State center, tossing him to the side and going in pursuit of the quarterback. Any doubts were alleviated.


Read more: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison | Saints | The Advocate — Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	logo4.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	10529  

Danno likes this.

Last edited by papz; 05-10-2015 at 03:27 PM..
Views: 1993
Old 05-10-2015, 04:53 PM   #2
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Colorado Springs Co
Posts: 2,723
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

All welcomed to make a difference
Ashley is offline  
Old 05-10-2015, 05:14 PM   #3
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,444
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

He might be the steal of our draft class

All his highlight tape is just him throwing people around or pushing them 5 yards backward off the line

Hope he can bring that same kind of play to us.
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 05-10-2015, 06:11 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 21,573
Blog Entries: 29
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

Originally Posted by dizzle88 View Post
He might be the steal of our draft class

All his highlight tape is just him throwing people around or pushing them 5 yards backward off the line

Hope he can bring that same kind of play to us.
Dare we say we have 7 steals in the draft?
dizzle88 likes this.
SmashMouth is offline  
Old 05-10-2015, 06:29 PM   #5
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,444
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

Originally Posted by SmashMouth View Post
Dare we say we have 7 steals in the draft?
I hope so!

I can't say I'm particularly disappointed with any of the picks we made

I especially like the Kikaha and Anthony picks, but all of them fill needs and at least 3 or 4 of them could be day 1 starters!
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 05-10-2015, 06:30 PM   #6
Problem?
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,942
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

I'm just drooling watching this man's highlight tape. He's just not quick, strong, and well built... what impresses me about him is the most was his ability to shed blockers once he's engaged. I can't see why he couldn't be an immediate contributor for us. I know it's just a highlight tape, but it's a damn good one that leaves you very encouraged about his future outlook on our team.
papz is offline  
Old 05-10-2015, 09:57 PM   #7
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bayou Bayfield CO
Posts: 3,451
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

What's better than having one rhino???
Seer1 is offline  
Old 05-11-2015, 04:28 AM   #8
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,838
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

Originally Posted by papz View Post
I can't see why he couldn't be an immediate contributor for us.
Coach did say before the draft that all the defensive players drafted - this year - will need to be immediate contributors. So apparently the front office feels the same way.
LordOfEntropy is offline  
Old 05-11-2015, 07:38 AM   #9
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,555
Blog Entries: 3
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

Originally Posted by papz View Post
I'm just drooling watching this man's highlight tape. He's just not quick, strong, and well built... what impresses me about him is the most was his ability to shed blockers once he's engaged. I can't see why he couldn't be an immediate contributor for us. I know it's just a highlight tape, but it's a damn good one that leaves you very encouraged about his future outlook on our team.
He looks a lot like Danny Shelton!
saintsfan1976 is offline  
Old 05-11-2015, 12:14 PM   #10
Hu Dat!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,398
Blog Entries: 5
Re: Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison

Nice. I like his tackling; it seems like if he gets an arm on you then it's over.
neugey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/72358-saints-rookie-film-review-new-orleans-gets-another-rhino-tyeler-davison.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Akiem Hicks News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 05-29-2015 02:03 AM 1
The Advocate Saints rookie film review: New Orl... | SportSpyder This thread Refback 05-10-2015 09:42 AM 1
Saints rookie film review: New Orleans gets another ‘Rhino’ in Tyeler Davison This thread Refback 05-10-2015 08:51 AM 8
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 05-10-2015 08:49 AM 10


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts