Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; New Orleans Saints Head Coach Sean Payton Post Practice Media Availability Thursday, August 6, 2015 Opening Statement: As we look ahead to tomorrow, it is a morning scrimmage. The tempo will be much like you are seeing right now at ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2015, 06:07 PM   #1
Threaded by papz
Problem?
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,942

Show Printable Version Email this Page
Rating: (0 votes - average)

New Orleans Saints Head Coach Sean Payton
Post Practice Media Availability
Thursday, August 6, 2015

Opening Statement: As we look ahead to tomorrow, it is a morning scrimmage. The tempo will be much like you are seeing right now at practice, the difference being obviously that we will have officials and well create more of a game like situation down and distance-wise where its not just scripted. Well have to deal with substitution, down and distance. That will be the big change. We will receive plenty of reps. We will put in the special teams throughout that like we have done before. My best guess it would be finishing up around 11:30 a.m., 11:15 a.m., somewhere in that range.

What was your review of the goal-line work today?

It was tight red zone so goal line will be here in a couple more days, but Im only saying that because the goal line will have a lot of big guys in there and a lot of handoffs. So today was a red zone install. Without looking at the tape obviously there are some good plays there on both sides of the ball but I think I want to take a peek at the tape and see. It was the first day it went in. We need work on it, I know that.

What are your thoughts on Benjamin Watson so far?

He is steady and he has been that way since the day we got him. He is steady. Those guys had to take a little bit more reps than we like in practice. Hes good shape (and) very consistent. You know exactly what you are getting and that is encouraging.

Andrus Peat got reps with the first team at left tackle today. Is that something he has earned or are you throwing him in the fire a little bit?

No, for us it made a lot of sense just with where we are at. We were sitting one more day with Terron (Armstead) and so we have some flexibility there and we said last night lets move him over to the left side right now. It is a position he is familiar with, obviously he played it in college.


Read more: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	logo15.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	10742  

Views: 1421
Old 08-06-2015, 06:54 PM   #2
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 5,473
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

Keep your eye on the kid from Indiana (Bobby Richardson).

Edit: Especially since they waived Foster today.
K Major is offline  
Old 08-06-2015, 10:24 PM   #3
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan by way of a little Mississippi River town in Louisiana
Posts: 4,244
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

Snead is lookig good.
halloween 65 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 12:35 AM   #4
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Haven Ct
Posts: 22,413
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

I'm looking for Coleman to setp up.
QBREES9 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 07:34 AM   #5
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,964
Blog Entries: 52
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

Questions like this drive me nuts,

Andrus Peat got reps with the first team at left tackle today. Is that something he has earned or are you throwing him in the fire a little bit?

I would love to hear SP thoughts before he answered this question?

Lets see a 1st round pick not getting reps with the 1st unit? slow day? or are you that dumb?
hagan714 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 07:36 AM   #6
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,964
Blog Entries: 52
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

Now this is what i want to hear

What have you seen from Khiry Robinson?

“A quite a bit, obviously he is going into his third season. I think the biggest area would be in pass protection and in the passing game. Those are two areas that he’s gotten more comfortable with and I think that pass protection element, not just in first or second down but on third down can be somewhat complex and I think that he is beginning to pick that up. Just like what we talked about Mark (Ingram) the other day, you get some versatility when they are able to do a number of things.”

"We may have lost the game, but you'll be hurting tomorrow." Doug Atkins
hagan714 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 08:00 AM   #7
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,446
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

I want to know why Brandon Coleman hasn't been at practice for 2 days?

He's really been stepping up so it would be a shame if he is injured.
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:38 AM   #8
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 5,473
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

I will be interested to hear how the Saints defense is looking and if there is anyone who stands out .. specifically Anthony, Richardson or Breaux (assuming he participated).
K Major is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:41 AM   #9
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,446
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

Originally Posted by K Major View Post
I will be interested to hear how the Saints defense is looking and if there is anyone who stands out .. specifically Anthony, Richardson or Breaux (assuming he participated).
Anthony and Breaux have been standouts all camp from reports whilst Richardson has been a nice surprise creating pressure.

Many reports said Anthony has been leading the defense and not afraid to be vocal as a rookie, that to me sounds like a true leader in the making.

Breaux has had quite a few pass breakups on plays, he got beat deep by RJ Harris but that was a great pass by Brees, Breaux had perfect coverage.
dizzle88 is offline  
Old 08-07-2015, 11:43 AM   #10
10000 POST CLUB
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alexandria, La
Posts: 10,107
Re: Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage

|Mitch| is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/73471-sean-payton-previews-fridays-saints-scrimmage.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 08-06-2015 06:52 PM 1
Sean Payton previews Friday's Saints scrimmage This thread Refback 08-06-2015 06:50 PM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts