Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

In my opinion week 2 will show our season

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Winston looks like a HoFer but somehow Saints find a way to win in the 4th...

Like Tree31Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2015, 05:33 PM   #21
Hou Saints Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 4,724
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Winston looks like a HoFer but somehow Saints find a way to win in the 4th
RaginCajun83 is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:36 PM   #22
Resident Swede
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Märsta, Sweden
Posts: 6,404
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Last game was a tough blow. But when you feel down about the Saints you can always find comfort in the fact that:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	falconsfail.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	10868  
pherein likes this.
Crusader is online now  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:47 PM   #23
failclownHunter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: N.O. and V.A.
Posts: 2,193
Blog Entries: 3
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by dizzle88 View Post
However, if we are going to be a team that; drops 4 interception opportunities a game, allows huge runs up the middle on 2nd and 12 or can't score a TD in 4 redzone trips then I'm afraid it'll be another long season.
Yeh the -4 Interceptions were pretty huge, and they were pretty much easy ones thrown right in the hands of the defense.
Just 1 or 2 of the 4 opportunities would have changed the game. You get field position, defensive confidence, and throw the QB of his game.
I saw interceptions all sunday from other teams that were not nearly as easy to catch than the 4 we missed.
It looks like our guys on D have no idea how to play the ball or where it is sometimes. They just play whos in front of them, and have no focus of where the ball is going. Most of the time they were genuinely surprised the ball hit them in the numbers, or they had it.
Plus the choke at the end if the game for a 7pt strike that allowed the Cards to put it out of reach was sssooooo usual for our D for the past 9 years it can be considered a Tradition.
Just shows they cant be counted on to hold any lead we might get in the 4th.

The average PPG for the NFL is 24, if you cant keep a team to 24pts then your below average I think. No excuses. Thats probably one of the worst OL we will face to.

The O struggled, but I blame that on bad play calling, and drops. 1-4 is horrible in the red, but so were the plays called, and people will say that we had 48 pass plays, but that is not true.
18 of thows pass plays were short pass dump off run plays, which I think is easier than handing off. So you really looking at 28-30 real passing plays.
We should have abandoned the run in the 2nd quarter and come out firing with a west coast or spread offense, and never did. Pick the run up later, it was not working against a run heavy defense. Thats 25 traditional run plays and 18 dump pass run plays = 42 plays wasted.
Not sure what payton was smoking this game trying to force it.

Saints proved that pigs could fly in 2009.
Now its time for another miracle SuperBowl and go where no pig has gone before.


Last edited by pherein; 09-15-2015 at 06:08 PM..
pherein is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 06:03 PM   #24
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,961
Blog Entries: 52
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Tampa at home? better have a revenge factor built into this one after last year.

NFC South on the road is a huge win.

NFC South is always a must win at home.
hagan714 is offline  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:03 PM   #25
Site Donor 2016
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,521
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

We lose this game and we are ****ed.

BTW have I told you lately how much I hate that other big Saints message board? I wish I was one of the Ashley Madison hackers.
RaginCajun83 and pherein like this.
The Dude is online now  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:57 PM   #26
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan by way of a little Mississippi River town in Louisiana
Posts: 4,243
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

I feel we lose this game. Bucs by 5. Our D coaches blow this one, again.
halloween 65 is online now  
Old 09-16-2015, 02:35 AM   #27
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,465
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

SP needs to call Jon Gruden and see if he will be our DC. Anyway, first pick in the draft next year from the looks of it.
Marlboro Man is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 04:26 AM   #28
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 12,242
Blog Entries: 5
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

I have to wonder how many of you REAlLY thought we would go in to Zona with all our injuries and rookies and new pieces on offense and actually beat that team.

Personally I was not ultimately surprised...it's why I'm not quite so ready to throw in the towel. I was hoping we'd make a good showing...better than we did...but I look at the turnover and the injuries and think, as a few others have said, that it's just going to take some time. I can tell y'all I have the same faith in management I've had since 2006. Give this time folks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
arsaint likes this.

"If there is no God, who pops up the next Kleenex?"
—Art Hoppe
saintfan is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 04:46 AM   #29
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Bay
Posts: 1,698
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by halloween 65 View Post
I feel we lose this game. Bucs by 5. Our D coaches blow this one, again.
Seriously? Already? LOL.
WHODATINCA is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 06:21 PM   #30
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,953
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by RaginCajun83 View Post
to early to determine how the season will go from here, just get the win and improve from last week.

This game WON'T be a blowout even if the offense can shake its redzone issues. Its a match up of division foes and evenly matched teams

IMO, Payton hasn't been the same since he came back from his suspension. There's a lack of aggression in his play calling and his attitude.
Could this be why?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	skylene.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	10872  
WillSaints81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/74112-my-opinion-week-2-will-show-our-season.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Brandon Coleman News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-15-2015 07:43 PM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-15-2015 09:50 AM 5
In my opinion week 2 will show our season This thread Refback 09-15-2015 08:30 AM 6


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts