Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

In my opinion week 2 will show our season

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Originally Posted by Marlboro Man SP needs to call Jon Gruden and see if he will be our DC. Anyway, first pick in the draft next year from the looks of it. He's an offensive coach that inherited great defensive ...

Like Tree31Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2015, 07:47 PM   #31
Site Donor 2016
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,761
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by Marlboro Man View Post
SP needs to call Jon Gruden and see if he will be our DC. Anyway, first pick in the draft next year from the looks of it.
He's an offensive coach that inherited great defensive personnel.
The Dude is online now  
Old 09-16-2015, 09:26 PM   #32
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,563
Blog Entries: 1
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by saintshrimp View Post
This game against Tampa is the only game I can see us winning in the first two months. God I hope I'm wrong believe me I do but I see a 1-7 start to our season
You could be correct. I don't see us matching up with any other teams on the schedule.
NOLA54 is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 09:29 PM   #33
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,563
Blog Entries: 1
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by RaginCajun83 View Post
Winston looks like a HoFer but somehow Saints find a way to win in the 4th
If we have to wait till the 4thQ to win then we really are in trouble.
NOLA54 is offline  
Old 09-16-2015, 11:55 PM   #34
The Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lithonia, GA
Posts: 2,029
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

Originally Posted by SaintsBro View Post
I agree, we can learn a lot about our team from this game. Tampa Bay is about on our level. It's not hard to imagine, that without Brees at the helm, the recent Saints roster of the last two years could easily have been a two-win trainwreck of a team, just like Tampa was last year. They certainly gave us quite a handful, both times we played last year.

The old days of Sean Payton kicking Tampa's can from one end of the stadium to the other, with those fantastic dominant 38-17 type blowout scores that we used to love and enjoy, both at home and at their place....those days are long behind us now. We will see a better yardstick of what we really have on our roster, come Sunday.
The old days are a myth. From 2006-2011 the Saints were 6-6 against the Bucs, including a loss the last game of the 2009 season (meaningless I know).

It's only been in the last 3 years that we have consistently beaten the Bucs.

I think it disingenuous to say the Bucs are just about at our level. Having a top-3, All pro caliber QB, makes all the difference.

The offense does need to do their job, which specifically is to score points.

Next week should be businesslike. Take care of TB and on to Carolina.

SFIAH

Super Bowl Championships: New Orleans Saints:1, Carolina:0, Atlanta Chokers: STILL ZERO

Only Atlanta choked in an unchokable situation... Life is definitely good.
SaintFanInATLHELL is offline  
Old 09-17-2015, 12:56 AM   #35
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Re: In my opinion week 2 will show our season

One of the positives from the Cardinals game was that Ingram really came alive in the passing game. He did struggle in the run game, but against that stout run D it was to be expected. Only 54 yards rushing though, so that has to improve. The good news is that Bucs defense is all around terrible, so I agree this game may not tell us much. Still Carolina is beatable, even on the road, and then we get the Cowboys, who will be without Dez Bryant. It will be fun to watch the Saints get revenge on Dallas, at least I hope that's what happens. By the time of the road trip to Philly we could easily be 3-1.

I am optimistic, but we definitely can't have a start like last season, and I don't think we will.
AdamCP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/74112-my-opinion-week-2-will-show-our-season.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest Brandon Coleman News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-15-2015 07:43 PM 1
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 09-15-2015 09:50 AM 5
In my opinion week 2 will show our season This thread Refback 09-15-2015 08:30 AM 6


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2018 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts