Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Nice free agent preview

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; I\'ve heard more about CB this offseason than I did last season!! How about talk of LINEBACKER!?!? McKenzie and Brown are at least AVERAGE, especially with a solid front SEVEN... notice that number is SEVEN and not FOUR....

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2005, 10:09 PM   #11
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,631
Nice free agent preview

I\'ve heard more about CB this offseason than I did last season!! How about talk of LINEBACKER!?!? McKenzie and Brown are at least AVERAGE, especially with a solid front SEVEN... notice that number is SEVEN and not FOUR.
WhoDat is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:01 AM   #12
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,626
Nice free agent preview

I\'ve heard more about CB this offseason than I did last season!! How about talk of LINEBACKER!?!? McKenzie and Brown are at least AVERAGE, especially with a solid front SEVEN... notice that number is SEVEN and not FOUR.
Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner.

I\'ve also noticed more about OFFENSE this offseason than I have the last 3 combined. Our offense is at least AVERAGE. And everyone agrees they underachieved greatly to attain that average ranking.

Our defense worked their tails off (well all except one lazy Bulldog) and still finished dead last. There are signs of life, but without an infusion or 2 or 3 LB\'s they\'ll flatline by week 4.

I could even live with our current DT\'s if someone would guarantee me we\'d pick 2 or 3 stud LB\'s in FA/draft.

'Tolerance And Apathy Are The Last Virtues Of A Dying Society'
Danno is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:07 AM   #13
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Williamsburg, VA (aka Southern Canada)
Posts: 1,689
Nice free agent preview

Ok then boys, who at LB? Peterson is going to be tagged. Trotter works well only in Philidelphia, it seems. Hartwell I don\'t know anything about. Maybe he is just a product of playing beside Ray Lewis?

Those are the top 3 FA according to the article. I think we need one, maybe two, LBs brought in. I want Watson to continue to start in the middle and I\'d like to see Buckwoldt get a starting chance in camp.

Go ahead. You found it easy to criticize others for not mentioning LBs. So, mention some yourselves.
ScottyRo is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:43 AM   #14
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,417
Nice free agent preview

I just assumed that this thread was headed toward a discussion of CBs.

It is posted almost everywhere I can see that people think LB is more important than a DB (with the exception of maybe one or two guys). In fact, if you were so inclined, you can look at any of my postings on this matter and you will see that I think we need two LBs before we even look at DBs.

What is the problem with talking CBs? I don\'t get it.

\"I think MM is good and F. Brown and F. Thomas (when healthy) are serviceable scond corners. I think Dyson would be better than anyone one else on the roster. I also think it would be nice to get a Safety, but not until the LB position is solidified, with at least two FAs. Also, I\'d like to see us get one or two new OTs - that should probably also be done before the DBs are considered\"

Is that kind of statement more acceptable than \"I like Dyson, maybe we should think about a #2 CB\"? I don\'t think I can write something that long every time I want to say something that isn\'t about our LB situation.

WTF guys?

"... I was beating them with my eyes the whole game..." - Aaron Brooks :cool:
JKool is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 02:43 PM   #15
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 6,941
Nice free agent preview

My thoughts exactly. If you don\'t wanna discuss corner, don\'t. It\'s like people are under the impression the more we discuss a certain position, the more the team will ACTUALLY address that and not other more important areas. I am sure they don\'t care which position we discuss, why should anyone else? I am with Kool, what gives?
saintswhodi is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:35 PM   #16
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,626
Nice free agent preview

I didn\'t see anyone criticize talking of CB\'s?
What gives?
I think LB is more important, but a solid shut down CB wouldn\'t tick me off at all.
The reason you don\'t hear LB or defense in general is because the offensive players get all the publicity and limelight.

I want more LB/DT/CB/SS/FS discussions because of the very fact that I don\'t know much league-wide about them. But I do know there dammm sure gotta be more than 3 good LB\'s out there.
Danno is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:49 PM   #17
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Williamsburg, VA (aka Southern Canada)
Posts: 1,689
Nice free agent preview

I\'m just pulling your chain a bit Danno, but...
WhoDat said
I\'ve heard more about CB this offseason than I did last season!! How about talk of LINEBACKER!?!?
You seemd to heartily agree when you said:
Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner.
Seems like there was criticism, i.e., [paraphrasing] why are you talking about CB when you should be talking about LB. And then you agreed.

Anyway, the article mentioned a few other LBs one of whom was Mark Fields. So, I didn\'t pay much attention to the others since Fields was in their category and we already let him leave.
ScottyRo is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:56 PM   #18
Site Donor 2014
Truth Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Spanish Fort Alabama
Posts: 15,626
Nice free agent preview

I\'m just pulling your chain a bit Danno, but...
WhoDat said
I\'ve heard more about CB this offseason than I did last season!! How about talk of LINEBACKER!?!?
You seemd to heartily agree when you said:
Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner.
Seems like there was criticism, i.e., [paraphrasing] why are you talking about CB when you should be talking about LB. And then you agreed.

Anyway, the article mentioned a few other LBs one of whom was Mark Fields. So, I didn\'t pay much attention to the others since Fields was in their category and we already let him leave.
OK you nailed me on that one.
Speaking of Fields, he happens to be one of the players Haslett publicly stated he wished he hadn\'t let go, and it was definitely a mistake. The other was Glover.

I wouldn\'t be surprised to see us make a push to get Fields, even though most see him as a glorified Sedrick Hodge.

'Tolerance And Apathy Are The Last Virtues Of A Dying Society'
Danno is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:23 AM   #19
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 6,941
Nice free agent preview

Danno, why don\'t YOU bring up LBs and such more if YOU wanna discuss that more? Like Scotty said, there were LBs mentioned in there cause it discussed EVERY position. Instead of criticizing us for something you don\'t wanna discuss, you can start a thread discussing what you do or lead us to where you wanna go. I have NO problem with that at all, and would welcome it. But criticizing people for what they are discussing cause you don\'t agree is kinda counter-productive.

That being said, I wouldn\'t mind getting Mark back. I would have a fear of relapse with his cancer, but he OBVIOUSLY has the heart that we need on D. We don\'t have a lot of that on this TEAM outside of a few players and an injection here or there at ANY position would be nice. I don\'t think we will spend for the higer priced guys.
saintswhodi is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:28 PM   #20
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CRYSTAL BEACH TEXAS
Posts: 4,100
Nice free agent preview

saintswhodi,ck your PM\'s.
JOESAM2002 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts