08-08-2012, 04:37 PM
|
#6
|
Site Donor 2019
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 3,521
|
Originally Posted by TXGSP
http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1278535/whammo.gif
I found a replay of the hit from another angle.
It may be considered legal, but Elder had his head down and doesn't appear to have been able to see where he was going.
Looks more like leading with the head and just happened to be legal - Player Safety my  
I think the rule is that if the receiver makes the catch and establishes himself as a runner (makes a "football move"), then it's OK to hit him helmet to helmet. Just like a running back.
|
|
|
|