Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Everything Else > Full Disclosure

Newly found asteroid to pass close to Earth on Sunday

this is a discussion within the Full Disclosure Community Forum; EVERYBODY DUCK!!!!! A newly discovered asteroid will pass "very close" to Earth on Sunday, NASA says. The space rock is estimated to be 60 feet (18 meters) long. It's expected to fly over New Zealand about 2:18 p.m. EDT (11:18 ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2014, 03:28 PM   #1
Site Donor 2016
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 15,251
Blog Entries: 45
Newly found asteroid to pass close to Earth on Sunday

EVERYBODY DUCK!!!!!


A newly discovered asteroid will pass "very close" to Earth on Sunday, NASA says.

The space rock is estimated to be 60 feet (18 meters) long. It's expected to fly over New Zealand about 2:18 p.m. EDT (11:18 a.m. PDT / 18:18 UTC.)

It won't hit Earth or any of the thousands of satellites orbiting the planet, NASA says. It will give astronomers and scientists a chance to study it.

The asteroid won't be visible the naked eye, but amateur astronomers should be able to see it with telescopes.

Called 2014 RC, the asteroid was discovered on August 31 by the Catalina Sky Survey near Tucson, Arizona.

Asteroid to pass close to Earth on Sunday - CNN.com
Halo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 08:14 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 21,573
Blog Entries: 29
Re: Newly found asteroid to pass close to Earth on Sunday

Did I miss anything?
SmashMouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asteroid

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts