Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > NOLA
Shop Horizontal

Cloverfield Movie Review

this is a discussion within the NOLA Community Forum; Cloverfield Movie Review The Myth continues………. The much-anticipated release of “Cloverfield” (supposedly named after some street near “Bad Robot” Productions) would appear to be a monetary hit for it’s producer and Production Company, but shouldn’t you give your audience something ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 5,056
Blog Entries: 1
Cloverfield Movie Review

Cloverfield Movie Review

The Myth continues……….

The much-anticipated release of “Cloverfield” (supposedly named after some street near “Bad Robot” Productions) would appear to be a monetary hit for it’s producer and Production Company, but shouldn’t you give your audience something for their money? Whatever happened to artistic integrity?

First, I’ll let you know that you don’t see “the Monster” until a few minutes left in the film (and you still don’t really see him). Oh, you see glimpses and erratic shots of it, but no real visible evidence of a monster in my opinion. Sort of like a UFO. This is why you see a lot of different interpretations (artists renderings) of “the Monster” on the Internet. My take is that it’s a man, with a tail, with eagle feet and hands, turtle head, shark teeth, fish gills and it looks to be Gray in color or that maybe because they were still trying to hide him with some dust or something. Whatever!!!

The movie itself was a cross between the “Blair Witch Project”, with a lot more of the camera laying on it’s side or just shooting nothing at all and “Scary Movie” (one of them but not scary either). Little monsters were falling off of the big monster and eating everyone (although you never really see this either) and they sort of looked like an elongated fish head with feet and shark teeth. One girl in the movie got bitten by one of the little monsters and was taken behind a white sheet by some army dudes in camo and some doctor’s in blue bubble suits (that effect must’ve cost, damn $9.99) and exploded I guess because someone threw red paint on the white sheet to make it look like she exploded.

Everyone filming the event in the movie as it happens in the movie dies! End of story and my end of by a ticket to another “Bad Robot” or J.J. Abrams film, YOU BOTH SUCK!

And if you want to know how many stars I would give it, I would give it the black hole award if you know what I mean.

Golf and sex are about the only things you can enjoy without being good at them.
Jimmy Demaret

http://freedomfightersofamerica.blogspot.com
CheramieIII is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:19 PM   #2
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arlington Tx
Posts: 157
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

I know its your review and I respect that, but maybe I can clear a few things up for you.

Not everyone in the movie dies

J.J. Abrams and Bad Robot spent months releasing bits of the story in various ways. All of the chracters in the movie have myspace pages that have been active for a while now. You get a little more insite to the chracters and a better understanding of the events leading up to that 6 hour span in the movie.

At the end of the movie you may or may not have seen a object falling from the sky as male and female led are at coney island.....this leads some people to belive the cloverfield monstar is from another planet but......scroll down for those who have seen the movie and Ill point out a few things that you learn from the back story















Ok Spoilers:

one chracter makes it out on a different chopper....and I dont know if you stayed through the credits, but you can hear the male lead shouting help us to the rescue crew *I assume its the rescue crew as someone found that camera

The object falling from the sky into the ocean is a satilight....this plays an important part in the movie as its what really leads to the whole thing starting. An oil company owns the satilight and needs information on it badly......while searching the ocean floor for it, they come across Cloverfield. The little monstars that are falling off are actually parasites feeding and living on Cloverfield.

It might be a little confusing to whats going on in the movie as thats the point. Your are seeing everything as the chracters saw it, and they were just as confused as the viewer as to whats taking place.

You say that were nuts for pulling for them, you call them sorry, you wonder why we deal with them year after year. Well New Orleans is like no other city in the world, and no fans are anything like saint fans.
SoulStar is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 02:49 AM   #3
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 11,235
Blog Entries: 43
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

Thanks for the review and spoilers etc...

I haven't seen and I'm not looking, I want to see it though...
Halo is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 06:20 PM   #4
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 5,056
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

Sorry guys didn't mean to spoil anything, I'll remember that next time. I just wanted to see more of the monster.
CheramieIII is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 06:26 PM   #5
Chuck Liddells Right Hand
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Prairieville, Louisiana
Posts: 1,227
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

Cherm,

You're the man, and I respect your opinion, but I must disagree. The movie, although definitely not for everyone, was very good in my opinion. The fact that the monster itself doesn't have to digitally dominate every frame of the movie is great storytelling in itself.

JJ Abrams is one of my favs, and LOST is the best show on TV.
dberce1 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 09:06 AM   #6
Pink Nightmare
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 2,867
Blog Entries: 7
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

Agree. LOST KICKS MAJOR BUTT!
SapperSaint is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:33 PM   #7
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 5,056
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

Thanks for the opinion DB and I respect your's too. I just wanted a good shot of the monster and I reqlly didn't see that.
CheramieIII is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 03:44 PM   #8
Site Donor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 2,888
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Cloverfield Movie Review

I left in the first 45 mins of the movie because of the shaky camera. I just couldnt take it anymore and left.
B_Dub_Saint is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts