Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; As I see it, other than the Saints all the other teams in the NFC South have huge question marks. I see this as the finish: New Orleans 11 - 5 I would say 13 - 3, but their linebacking ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2007, 01:44 AM   #1
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 27
My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

As I see it, other than the Saints all the other teams in the NFC South have huge question marks. I see this as the finish:

New Orleans 11 - 5 I would say 13 - 3, but their linebacking corp still worries me a bit.
Carolina 8 - 8 NO running game and an old d.
Tampa Bay 7 - 9 Gruden is done.
Atlanta 6 - 8 and this is only if Joey Harrington works out better than I think he will.
AjunCajun is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 09:20 AM   #2
Boondock Saint
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: F***ing Atlanta
Posts: 302
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by AjunCajun View Post
As I see it, other than the Saints all the other teams in the NFC South have huge question marks. I see this as the finish:

New Orleans 11 - 5 I would say 13 - 3, but their linebacking corp still worries me a bit.
Carolina 8 - 8 NO running game and an old d.
Tampa Bay 7 - 9 Gruden is done.
Atlanta 6 - 8 and this is only if Joey Harrington works out better than I think he will.
===

Hmmm. Well I agree with the Saints.
Jey Harrington is a better QB than Michael Vick. Vck gave some teams problems, but as D's have gotten faster he is no longer. Look at their stats. Joey Harrington is one year shot of Vick in Playing time, but has more TD's, better completion percentage and more yards. Who has Harrington had to throw too? I believe I heard he has had one pro bowler on offense with him in the skill positions his entire career. Vick.... has had Crumpler, Dunn, Finneran(not a PB but great Possesion RCVR), Price. Probably some others I cannot think of.

Harrington will have more talent on offense with him this year than he has had in all of his previous years combined. I believe now that Harrington will get all the snaps he will do just fine. Look for a Delhomme type year, ie above average but not great. I believe the Saints win the division and Carolina barely edges both Atlanta and TB( I think Garcia is a good fit there). Worse record in the division will be 7-9, maybe as high as 8-8.
WhoDatQB is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 09:37 AM   #3
500th Post
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 980
Blog Entries: 1
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Tampa is definitly this years sleeper team. They made a few small changes that I think will make for big wins. I would keep an eye on them. I see Atlanta as being too distracted by all that is going on in the media with Vick, and Carolina is just an underacheiving team which if they catch a few breaks might slip into the playoffs but I doubt it.
mighty12 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 09:46 AM   #4
Problem?
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,942
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

I think it's going to be another year before Tampa start making some noise in our division. As of right now, I can only see a fully healthy Carolina squad competing with us for the division title. Looking at our schedule, it going to be very challenging. There aren't many "easy" wins on there. I can see us with anywhere from 8-11 wins. I definately see us entering the postseason and playing well in the playoffs. It's going to be an exciting year... lots of good games and I hope everything goes our way.
papz is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 11:36 AM   #5
Team Doctor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deep South
Posts: 856
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

The thing that worries me most is the timing of games. We open AT Indianapolis and then travel TO Tampa Bay before entertaining the Titans on Monday Night Football. It's going to be tough to get on a roll like we did last year and gain the confidence that carried us through the season. The test will be to see how we recover from early season adversity.
poydras is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 01:44 PM   #6
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Well as we all know, at the beginig of every season all teams have high hopes.
The one that takes it all is the true champion, we've already have won our Div.
quit a few times, It's time for us to look at winning the Super Bowl and I think that the Saints have the fire power to take it all. Winning the Div. does'nt mean JACK! if we lose
in the playoffs. It's time to look at our team to take it all!! no matter who were playing & where were Playing! YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
SAINTNHEAVEN is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 05:34 PM   #7
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,137
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

12-4 mark it down. You heard it here first. We are going to roll the rest of the division. 6-0.
stockman311 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 05:54 PM   #8
Hu Dat!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,406
Blog Entries: 5
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Originally Posted by AjunCajun View Post
Carolina 8 - 8 NO running game and an old d.
Actually I think their running game will be good w/ Foster and DeAngelo Williams. Their OL isn't great, but they have a good system in place.

The one nice thing about the NFC South - other than the Saints, all the other teams have a high chance of QB controversy/changes - which never bodes well for a team's outlook. Brees is the #1 QB in this division, no doubt about it.
neugey is online now  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:07 PM   #9
500th Post
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Moss Point, MS
Posts: 510
Blog Entries: 1
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

Seems like each season the NFL produces a new "Cinderella story". Don`t be surprised if that glass slipper lands on the foot of a NFC South team other than the Saints. All it takes is a spark; a coaching change, a new playbook, a couple of key players that get drafted or picked up, and you could see the nostradamus-sports-show-elite once again scratching their heads wondering where "this" team (that wasn`t on the radar) came from.

I love to kick predictions around as much as the next guy, but I`m well aware of the fact that adversity in this league is also a breeding ground for a come-back. All of our NFC South opponents have good coaches and good skill position players and frankly, I`m not ready to scratch any of them off the list.

But, I still hope Atl, TB, and Carolina all get at least 12 big fat L`s beside their name by the end of December.

Saint4
Saintsfan4ever is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 07:55 PM   #10
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CRYSTAL BEACH TEXAS
Posts: 4,100
Re: My personal opinion is the NFC South looks weak this season.

I too am a little concerned about TB. The others we SHOULD Be able to handle. The thing about TB is how good will Garcia be without that OL of Philly?
JOESAM2002 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2014 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts