Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints

I want your opinions.

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; Realistically I think we can scale down our logical (logical?? saints?? what?) options if we stay at #10. Assuming we dont trade down who would you want? I made a list of guys I think could be available at #10 ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2008, 02:26 PM   #1
500th Post
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 807
I want your opinions.

Realistically I think we can scale down our logical (logical?? saints?? what?) options if we stay at #10. Assuming we dont trade down who would you want? I made a list of guys I think could be available at #10 and ones we're probably looking at. So whos your choice? For me Id have to go with Ellis. If I missed any feel free to add your thoughts.

Aquib Talib
Dan Connor
Sedrick Ellis
Keith Rivers
Ryan Clady
Kenny Phillips
Vernon Gholston
Mike Jenkins

Last edited by WVSaint; 01-18-2008 at 02:31 PM..
WVSaint is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 02:36 PM   #2
Problem?
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 11,060
Re: I want your opinions.

I'd be okay with any one of those guys. I prefer Ellis first if he's there.

1. Ellis
2. Clady
3. Jenkins
4. Gholston
5. Rivers
5a. Connor
6. Phillips

That's just from your list. However I'd add Talib, Jackson, and Groves on there... I'd also put them right behind Jenkins. I like both Rivers and Connor but I think by selecting them at 10 would be a bit of a reach. However the Bills reached for Whitner a year ago and he turned out to be a fine player.
papz is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 02:40 PM   #3
500th Post
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 807
Re: I want your opinions.

I had to go back and add Talib, I left him off by mistake.
WVSaint is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 05:06 PM   #4
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15,872
Blog Entries: 68
Re: I want your opinions.

with the jrs sitting out of the draft I say trade down. get some veteran players to help out. I am not sold on any of these guys at ten and the pay they would get at this position in the draft. No one has sold me on anyone of these guys at 10. At 15 yes.
hagan714 is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 06:02 PM   #5
500th Post
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 775
Re: I want your opinions.

From your list,
Mike Jenkins...
We NEED a CB... 10, 15, 225, whenever
frankeefrank is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:44 AM   #6
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15,872
Blog Entries: 68
Re: I want your opinions.

5. Rivers
5a. Connor

if i had to choice. It would be between these two.

Rivers would be a double benefit at WLB. Big, fast and he would free Smith up. SLB trapped in a WLB body. For now.

Conner is here because he is flexible. Inside or out he can plat either. So no matter how FA goes he can be plugged in anywhere.

Ok I am torn.

We all know Sean loves safeties so Phillips is not ruled out. But me I would pass on him. To many good CB that project out at FS for me to make this move.

Gholston if you do not want to keep either Smith or Grant around. Grant does have trade value, despite last years play. As does Smith.

Clady if we have no faith in our previous draft choices stepping up. But I am not buying into that one.

Ellis I still have to see the measuring tape on him. He is one of the few I am waiting on the pro and combine results on.

"We may have lost the game, but you'll be hurting tomorrow." Doug Atkins
hagan714 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:59 AM   #7
Problem?
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 11,060
Re: I want your opinions.

When I see Rivers, I automatically think of Briggs. But when I think of Briggs, I think of a good linebacker playing in a system that overhypes him.

When I think of Connor, I think of Paul P... a true football player that will be in the lineup everyday for the next ten years. Solid but nothing spectacular... gets the job done without any of the hype or flash. I also think about where he was selected and where we're selecting this year.

Ideally I'd like us to trade down if we don't take a defensive tackle or corner at 10. The gap in talent isn't by much after the first 5 picks in my opinion. I'd like to see us trade down and either acquire more picks, or move up in the second and third rounds.

Everyone is entitled to be stupid, but some abuse the privilege.

All little common sense goes a long way.
papz is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 10:04 AM   #8
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,920
Re: I want your opinions.

Originally Posted by papz View Post
When I think of Connor, I think of Paul P... a true football player that will be in the lineup everyday for the next ten years. Solid but nothing spectacular... gets the job done without any of the hype or flash. I also think about where he was selected and where we're selecting this year.

Ideally I'd like us to trade down if we don't take a defensive tackle or corner at 10. The gap in talent isn't by much after the first 5 picks in my opinion. I'd like to see us trade down and either acquire more picks, or move up in the second and third rounds.
I'm not sold on Conner. I think if we go linebacker, it has to be Rivers. No other linebacker in the draft has his combination of size and speed. Hell, whatever we can do to get Simoneau off the field is OK by me. I think we need to look for a CB in free agency, somebody who can step in right away. I don't want to gamble with another young corner.

Realistically I would like a trade down, but this FO is never big on it.
TheDeuce is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 10:24 AM   #9
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hattiesburger with Cheese
Posts: 146
Blog Entries: 1
Re: I want your opinions.

Are you kidding? One thing I love about Payton's draft philosophy is that he is constantly wheeling and dealing. The only trade up I can think of is the one for Antonio Pittman, otherwise he's always looking for value from his picks. A trade down is entirely possible and preferable considering our needs, but we'll just have to find a suitor to take the spot.

If we stay put, I think Rivers should be the pick, because no corners are worth it at that point. However, the more I read about Phillips the more I feel swayed that he'd be the BPA; safety is not necessarily our most glaring need, but he'd be a hell of a player to fill out the secondary and there will be plenty of good corners all through the draft.
NarwhalHunter is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 01:35 PM   #10
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,920
Re: I want your opinions.

[QUOTE=NarwhalHunter;152272]Are you kidding? One thing I love about Payton's draft philosophy is that he is constantly wheeling and dealing. QUOTE]

No I'm not kidding. Where did I say anything about not liking his wheeling and dealing? I said that this FO rarely trades down. The one that I can think of is with Usama Young in the third round. Other than that, I can't think of any other time where we've traded down on the first day, much less the first round. We traded up to get Jamaal brown, we traded up to get Sullivan, and we stayed put getting Will Smith, Bush, and Meachem. I would like to see a trade down if we can't get what we need at #10, but the Saints don't typically trade down.
TheDeuce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2018 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts