Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

NFL Challenge/Review

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; I like the challenge and review stuff. The officials usually get it right. Sometimes not. I'd rather the TV networks show us a few more "real time" replays mixed in with the slo-mo. I'm guessing the review refs see the ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2006, 01:33 PM   #1
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 1,367
NFL Challenge/Review

I like the challenge and review stuff. The officials usually get it right. Sometimes not.

I'd rather the TV networks show us a few more "real time" replays mixed in with the slo-mo. I'm guessing the review refs see the same replays us couch taters see? At the very least, they're reviewing shots from network angles. And I suspect the officiating up in the box hasn't advanced to the point where they are able to pick and choose their replays independent of what we see. Maybe so. But, if not, me thinks they'd be better served with more real time replays, as well.


8)

My Guardian Angel wears a hard hat.
TallySaint is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:23 AM   #2
500th Post
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Abingdon, Virginia
Posts: 507
RE: NFL Challenge/Review

I just don't like how the coaches upstairs get to see it again before the ydecide to reveiw it. I'd rather them going by gut than by rest.
zachsaints52 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:54 AM   #3
5000 POSTS! +
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 6,301
Blog Entries: 5
RE: NFL Challenge/Review

all I know is that this past year was one of the worse years I have ever seen as for as the refs go. HORRIBLE year. I am alsmost set on getting them off the field and let the review call the shots on every play.
Euphoria is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:56 AM   #4
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 2,949
Blog Entries: 26
RE: NFL Challenge/Review

The college system seems a bit more fair, where a replay official in the booth decides. I think it is faster and more efficient. That being said, they miss a lot, too. There should be both ongoing challenge and independent booth review to ensure. It would help if there were a few more camera angles, like permanent sideline and endzone line(s) set ups for those kind of calls. I'd like Pass Interference to be a reviewable call -seems like there's way too much judgment without perfect lines of sight in that area. Saints seem to get burned a lot on PI.


I'd also like to see the "illegal motion" rule redefined. Asking 6 half ton, anxiety stressed sumo wrestlers to stay perfectly still is rediculous. As long as their feet don't change position, they should be allowed to do what they want. The ball's on the ground and perfectly visible for the defense to see. The game should speed up. Otherwise, just call the play dead and not push the team back because the penalty is too severe for the infraction.
xan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts