Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; If his speed has anything to do with it he will be safty. CB's need to have "make-up" speed. I can't tell yet if he has speed or not. He's pretty quick as a gunner on kickoffs but that is ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 10:12 AM   #21
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hockley, Tx
Posts: 1,458
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

If his speed has anything to do with it he will be safty. CB's need to have "make-up" speed. I can't tell yet if he has speed or not. He's pretty quick as a gunner on kickoffs but that is different. Either way the saints benefit by having a talented player and will find where he fits in on the team the best. Honestly, being Sharpers understudy isn't a bad gig.
lynwood is offline  
Latest Blogs
The ArtiChoke Last Blog: 09-18-2014 By: Barry from MS


How to really handle Ray Rice and AP Last Blog: 09-17-2014 By: neugey


The Lost Art of the Trade Last Blog: 08-30-2014 By: jeanpierre


Old 02-22-2010, 02:01 PM   #22
Hu Dat!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,845
Blog Entries: 5
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Give him a full offseason and training camp, we'll see what year 2 brings.
neugey is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 03:47 PM   #23
xan
Professor Crab and
Site Donor 2014
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Princeton
Posts: 2,999
Blog Entries: 26
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

According to FO, Jenkins was one of the top 10 worst corners in 2009. That being said, he was one of only a handful of rookie corners with significant playing time and he got picked on a lot as the bulk of coverage favored the #1 and #2 receivers. He got islanded up a fair bit. Plus he was usually not in a position to make a tackle if his man got the ball, though his man only got 16 pass catches all season.

He'll only get better working with Greer/Sharper/Gay and against Brees.
xan is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:41 PM   #24
Mrs. Drew Brees
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Who Dat Nation (by way of South Dakota)
Posts: 2,283
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Jenkins is a talented kid. With the right guidance, he could become a key CB. I say give him a chance to make something of himself.
breesfan27 is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:16 PM   #25
Deuce
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,878
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Originally Posted by breesfan27 View Post
Jenkins is a talented kid. With the right guidance, he could become a key CB. I say give him a chance to make something of himself.
What's wrong with becoming the next Darren Sharper?
Saint_LB is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:26 PM   #26
Mrs. Drew Brees
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Who Dat Nation (by way of South Dakota)
Posts: 2,283
Blog Entries: 1
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Originally Posted by Saint_LB View Post
What's wrong with becoming the next Darren Sharper?
Maybe he will become the next DS. Maybe it will take next season for us to figure that out. Either way, he has a lot of potential.
breesfan27 is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:33 PM   #27
Deuce
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,878
Re: Reviewing Malcolm Jenkins....

Originally Posted by breesfan27 View Post
Maybe he will become the next DS. Maybe it will take next season for us to figure that out. Either way, he has a lot of potential.
Potential he does have...no doubt. It just seems to me that we already have our shut-down CB's, but more than that I believe he can become one of those safeties that people dread facing. I wouldn't mind him becoming a great CB and admit that he hasn't been around long enough for any one of us to know what will utimately happen...but I'm just fantasizing about having that Darren Sharper type safety that not only makes big plays on the ball, but also leaves an impression on RB's.
Saint_LB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://blackandgold.com/saints/25281-reviewing-malcolm-jenkins.html
Posted By For Type Date Hits
The Latest New Orleans Saints News | SportSpyder This thread Refback 02-21-2010 07:25 PM 1


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts