Go Back   New Orleans Saints - blackandgold.com > Main > Saints
Shop Horizontal

FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

this is a discussion within the Saints Community Forum; What happened to beefing up the D??? We were ranked number 1 on offense, 25th on D. We can't count on as many INTs as we had last season. A lot of those happened in the first half of the ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2010, 11:11 PM   #1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA - Behind enemy lines. Someone throw me a grenade!!
Posts: 941
FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

What happened to beefing up the D??? We were ranked number 1 on offense, 25th on D. We can't count on as many INTs as we had last season. A lot of those happened in the first half of the season with Sharper being the guy who made them. He may not even be with the team at this point and if he is there is no promise he can repeat the 2009 season.

I could deal with Robinson the DB, but our OL is solid with or without Jamal. (I'd rather keep Jamal) Charles Brown won't be an impact player his first year, so why not wait and draft an OL in the later rounds, since it will take time to develop him anyway?

And a TE that has played only ONE year of Football, and had 17 catches? I mean we have Shockey, Thomas who was just as much a play-maker as Shockey, and Miller should be healthy this season.

I know some will say it's dumb to question a SB winning staff, but I think we missed a great opportunity in the first 3 rounds to really get some play makers on D.

As of now, we may have addressed the DE depth with the 2 we signed in FA...but what about getting gashed up the middle by power running teams? What about adding speed to our LB corps that's already a lil slow? Arnoux is ONE guy - who hasn't played a down and for all we know could be injury prone.

BY no means do I think we can't win the SOUTH or the ship is sinking, i'm just saying we lost out on a great chance to beef up our D with all the talent that was in the first 3 rounds. There is still talent left, but man we let some top guys at needed positions go. My response so far ..... o_0?

"May God have mercy on those who doubted his Saints."
Sir Psycho Sexy is offline  
Latest Blogs
The ArtiChoke Last Blog: 09-18-2014 By: Barry from MS


How to really handle Ray Rice and AP Last Blog: 09-17-2014 By: neugey


The Lost Art of the Trade Last Blog: 08-30-2014 By: jeanpierre


Old 04-23-2010, 11:14 PM   #2
100th Post
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 366
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Not quite sure yet, the FO may know something we don't. But if they don't have plans you are right.
hitta is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:22 PM   #3
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA - Behind enemy lines. Someone throw me a grenade!!
Posts: 941
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

I'm also curious what Gregg Williams thinks of the picks.
Sir Psycho Sexy is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:32 PM   #4
Site Donor 2014
Lucky Cat
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 8,411
Blog Entries: 5
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

The FO is preparing for being able to protect Brees.
We win with offense in the SP era.
foreverfan is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:41 PM   #5
100th Post
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Raised on the Bayou - living in DFW
Posts: 136
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Originally Posted by Sir Psycho Sexy View Post
...but what about getting gashed up the middle by power running teams?
I agree. Look at the division - ATL, CAR and TPA (to a lesser extent), and all have running backs who pretty much shredded us on the ground last season.

This year, we also play late-season away games in cold weather -- Cincinnati and Baltimore in December. Cinci won the AFC north last year. How? By playing old school Chuck Knox Steeler football -- RUNNING the ball. I Don't follow Balt much, but I remember seeing some of a playoff game, they had a horse in the backfield.

That's 8 games - half the season right there - against strong running teams.

SF drafted to improve their O line, and until they sort out a quarterback, all they HAVE is a running game, and still ended up 8-8.

Vikings had us figured out in the Championship game and are going to stuff the ball down our throats, as long as they can keep from fumbling it away.

Dallas has two backs that can run the ball too, Barber and the other guy.

I can swallow my tounge and see the point in drafting Robinson, but not Brown and Graham (not in the 2nd & 3rd rounds anyway). There are GAPING holes in the Defensive line (pun intended) that need to be addressed first, before we go picking up project players.

But that's just my $0.02.

I'm a pilgrim in an unholy land: I'm a SAINTS fan living in DFW and I HATE the Cryboys.
21Hilliard is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:49 PM   #6
Retired
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 10,546
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Originally Posted by Sir Psycho Sexy View Post
I'm also curious what Gregg Williams thinks of the picks.
I'm sure he had a say when it came to drafting Robinson for his defense. I also heard Williams mention somewhere that he's not a big fan of tweeners... so guys like Kindle wouldn't have been a good choice for his scheme.
I can swallow my tounge and see the point in drafting Robinson, but not Brown and Graham (not in the 2nd & 3rd rounds anyway). There are GAPING holes in the Defensive line (pun intended) that need to be addressed first, before we go picking up project players.
What are these gaping holes along the defensive line? Right now we have Brown and Smith at DE and our promising young Ellis at DT. If there is a gaping hole, it's next to him... and that still can be addressed with our other picks and/or free agency.

Last edited by papz; 04-23-2010 at 11:51 PM..
papz is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:51 PM   #7
LB Mentallity
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10,208
Blog Entries: 39
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

what the @#%^&*()(*&^%$#@@$%^&*()()__(*&^%$@@!!
hagan714 is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:52 PM   #8
Site Donor 2014
Lucky Cat
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 8,411
Blog Entries: 5
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

It's a good thing we don't need rooks to start.
foreverfan is offline  
Old 04-23-2010, 11:57 PM   #9
1000 Posts +
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,889
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

I'll agree that it can seem like we didn't address the issues, and perhaps we should have gone with a DT in the third.

However, when you look at Charles Brown, he was FAR too good to pass up at that position. Almost everybody had him graded as a first round player.

I also think it's important to note that taking an offensive tackle is almost always a good pick. Might not be sexy, but you have to have depth on the OL. Great pick in my opinion.
TheDeuce is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 12:04 AM   #10
100th Post
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 366
Re: FO Blew a Great Opportunity. (My Opinion Only)

Two positions I think need addressing more than anything is the DT spot next to Ellis and OLB. Besides that I think we are fine. I could see us trading to fill those spots. Alex Brown I think will be good at DE.
hitta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Copyright 1997 - 2013 - BlackandGold.com
no new posts